Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely entertaining
Although the author himself says he is no writer, he is patently wrong - this book is full of wonderful descriptive, poetic passages, which underline this charming man's love of nature and dedication to the truth of scientific study, as opposed to the accepted 'truths' of the day.
An interesting insight into the groundwork that helped to develop the Theory of...
Published on 15 July 2001 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book but so many typos and poor formatting of pages (Kindle edition)
I'm 11% through the Kindle edition of this book and enjoying the narrative enormously, Wallace's prose is still highly enjoyable today (even with the odd wince at the descriptions of "natives" and other "races" ) but the enjoyment is marred but the sheer number of typos. If this was a print edition it would have been rejected. The other annoyance is some...
Published 22 months ago by Lee Barker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor. Buy elsewhere., 30 May 2013
This review is from: The Malay Archipelago (Paperback)
After the programme on T.V with Bill Bailey, I eagerly ordered this book. I suppose you get what you pay for, and in that respect I was not disappointed....
The chapters are all over the place, with huge gaps with type missing, spelling errors, words missing, making the book unreadable. I would send it back, but the cost of package makes it a pointless exercise. Do not buy from this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly poor page layout making it 90% unreadable., 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Malay Archipelago (Paperback)
There are paragraph separations mid-sentence and random numbers and symbols dispersed throughout the text. If I knew now what I knew when I ordered, then I wouldn't waste my money on it.

Spend the extra few quid. It's got to be worth it to be able to actually read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly Woeful, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awful print quality which has clearly been copied so cheaply that even the margins have comments and ticks from the original copy.
Don't buy this if you want readable print and quality copies of the engravings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Awful recreation of original book, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Malay Archipelago (Paperback)
This book has been produced using computer software that is meant to recognise and recreate the contents of the original book. It did a pretty rubbish job at it. Spelling errors are constant and parts just make no sense at all. I could forgive a few slight spelling mistakes, but basically this recreation should never have been printed at all. I'd be embarrassed to publish something this bad, it's pretty much an insult to the original. One small positive is that you can download a free copy of the original book through the producers website... but i'm pretty sure you could find it elsewhere without having to buy the recreation first. Wasted money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this version....!, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Malay Archipelago (Paperback)
The book does not contain the ilustrations and the layout is shocking...really does spoil a wonderfully written book, what a shame, what a waste of money, what a rip-off :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of printing errors, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Malay Archipelago (Paperback)
This book has been produced by scanning an original version, running the scan through some (not very good) text recognition software, and then printing it - the text frequently turns to gobbledegook, there are many errors on the first 3 pages - when I gave up and sent it back to amazon. I cannot imagine a way in which anyone would be satisfied by purchasing this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon does a poor job telling about this book, 2 Oct. 2013
By 
Dr. N. B. Firoozye "Nick" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Malay Archipelago (Hardcover)
It seems as though every edition is the same, according to amazon. It directs one willy nilly to periplus to stanford edition etc. I have no idea which one has illustrations, which has appendices!

Amazon, clean up your act! Tell us which is illustrated, which has appendices! Make sure you don't direct me from one edition to another. They are NOT the same!

You don't have Periplus Classics Paperback in stock. Why? Even Waterstones has it. And there's no way to tell whether Cosimo Classics or any of the other editions has illustrations. Meanwhile, the Look Inside only refers to Periplus. I have no way of seeing any of the other editions! They could all be bad. I already returned one when I saw it didn't have illustrations and only now realize that none of the books you sell may be the illustrated version.

Makes it seem like you don't actually CARE about books at all, right? This is where you seem to fall flat while actual book stores offer something.

I'm going to Waterstones! Or to the Natural History Museum! They have the book I'm looking for and I get the information I need to decide whether to buy it. Basically I thought you were good but in this one instance, you suck.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do NOT buy this book, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Malay Archipelago (Paperback)
This edition is riddled with typos and mis-prints (I frequently mis-printed as 1 etc). I found it completely impossible to read. Buy a different edition of this work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to read, 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The print format of this book is tiring to read, it may be taken from the original copy but it is very wearisome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poorly forged copy of the book DO NOT BUY, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Malay Archipelago (Paperback)
This book from this seller is a poorly foraged copy of the book - I guess the price should have been the tip-off. It has missing words, incorrect characters, the formatting is incorrect and it says it is property of the Princeton University Library. I would have guessed this is in violation of some copyright laws but do not buy this book. Its such a bad copy that large portions of the text are unreadable or illegible. By looking at the other reviews, they all seem to be written by the seller. DO NOT BUY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Malay Archipelago
The Malay Archipelago by Alfred Russel Wallace (Paperback - 8 Aug. 2009)
£8.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews