Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely entertaining
Although the author himself says he is no writer, he is patently wrong - this book is full of wonderful descriptive, poetic passages, which underline this charming man's love of nature and dedication to the truth of scientific study, as opposed to the accepted 'truths' of the day.
An interesting insight into the groundwork that helped to develop the Theory of...
Published on 15 July 2001 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of printing errors
This book has been produced by scanning an original version, running the scan through some (not very good) text recognition software, and then printing it - the text frequently turns to gobbledegook, there are many errors on the first 3 pages - when I gave up and sent it back to amazon. I cannot imagine a way in which anyone would be satisfied by purchasing this book.
Published 20 months ago by CharlieF


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely entertaining, 15 July 2001
By 
Amazon Customer "Bones" (Newcastle-on-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Although the author himself says he is no writer, he is patently wrong - this book is full of wonderful descriptive, poetic passages, which underline this charming man's love of nature and dedication to the truth of scientific study, as opposed to the accepted 'truths' of the day.
An interesting insight into the groundwork that helped to develop the Theory of Evolution by Natural Selection, it also compares the British and the Dutch methods of colonisation, and controversially comes out on the side of the Dutch - against all current (and our received) perceptions of the Dutch as ruthless, money-grubbing opportunists.
Wallace was also unusual in using geographic and geological features combined with population spreads (human & biological) to support the new theories of continental drift and a world older than the Biblical model.
I'm lost in adsmiration for the way he managed to survive depravation, lack of company, housing, support, money and produce the finest collection of birds and insects that the world had ever seen; make comparative studies of the linguistic traits of all the major tribes; keep a detailed diary of all his travels ... all this in a known area of cannibals and head-hunters with only 3 or 4 assistants and he the only white person for hundreds of miles. Compare this to other explorers like Richard Burton who needed an entourage of several hundred for all their 'essentials'.
This book is a very readable profile of an enignatic Victorian naturalist at a crucial period in scintific history - would that I could have met him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of printing errors, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Malay Archipelago (Paperback)
This book has been produced by scanning an original version, running the scan through some (not very good) text recognition software, and then printing it - the text frequently turns to gobbledegook, there are many errors on the first 3 pages - when I gave up and sent it back to amazon. I cannot imagine a way in which anyone would be satisfied by purchasing this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Malay Archipelago (Stanford Travel Classics), 30 Dec. 2010
A chronicle of the travels of an under-rated Scientist/Explorer, Alfred Russel Wallace who did much to make the origin of species from his viewpoint and with discussions with Darwin, the great 'discovery' of the our time. A must read for all who have an interest in great travel exploits and all those who have an interest in natural history and evolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really beautiful book, and a fantastic edition, 30 Sept. 2010
By 
This is the most gorgeous and incredible book. Wallace is becoming more and more famous as the man who shares credit with Darwin for the theory of natural selection, although that might be a bit strong. Certainly, Darwin's ideas were more developed, and he seems to have appreciated the idea of natural selection and evolution a bit more than Wallace, who was something of a spiritualist. But never mind that.

Wallace should be more famous, but so should this entire part of the world. Wallace travelled through island South-East Asian, excepting a number of islands including the whole of the Philippines, in several trips in an effort to find new species of bird and animal. He stayed in Maluku. He stayed on the west of New Guinea. He spent a great deal of time in Java, Sumatra, Borneo, Sulawesi, and Timor. He collected innumerable specimens, and saw innumerable wonders. And in this book, with an illustrator, he logged and wrote about them all. Birds of paradise, Papuan tobacco pipes, the cuscus, Dayak rope bridges, Javanese mountains - it's all here.

That alone should be enough to entice any reader. What you will find is a compassionate, knowledgeable man, talking about beautiful islands, different groups of people, and colonialism, as well as flora and fauna, and hopefully your appreciation for the diversity and beauty of these islands should increase. I actually don't know how to sum up the book, not really. It's rather large, and brilliantly written. It's wonderful to sit and read with a cup of tea. And it has the capacity to make you want to book a ticket to Jakarta, so you can travel about just as he did.

Anyway, a note on this edition: the paper is of fantastic quality, and the bindings are great. The type and images are perfect. Like most Periplus books, it is an excellent production. The book also bears the original dedication - to Darwin, of course, his friend.

I'd recommend it to literally anyone who can read English and has an interest in people, places, and animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a milestone, 13 Oct. 2009
By 
Roiko (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
After reading this book, this is definitely my favorite book about insular South-East Asia. A.R. Wallace traveled the Malay archipelago and the Malay peninsula in his naturalist quest of finding, hunting, catching and describing all species of mammals, birds, insects, seashells etc. Along the way he describes as well the ecology, geology, ethnology, sociology, (colonial) administration and the persons he meets. All these subjects are accounted for in minute detail. The best thing is that it's all written down clearly and it is very accessible. However, this book is celebrated most for the impulse it gave to the theory of evolution by means of natural selection, which is made famous by Wallace's time companion and fellow scientist Charles Darwin. There is debate about who had the main idea of the theory of evolution first, nonetheless, we can say that Wallace clearly contributed a great deal in synthesizing this paradigm. Above all, he already noted the distinction between the biogeographic realms of SE Asia and Australia. Let's not forget that this man was already thinking about something like plate tectonics, something only scientifically accepted in the 1960's. Next to his contributions to the evolutionary theory and biogeography, and put aside the little amount of Victorian 'zeitgeist', Wallace's views on ethnology and colonial administration gives a clear idea how it must have been to live and travel in this corner of the world from 1854 to 1862. Some (many) of his ideas still stand, others are strengthened by current science. One should really think about his words on the last pages. I think this book is a milestone in science but a very exciting and amusing travel book at the same time. It is great for understanding evolutionary theory and it's perfect to carry it along when traveling through Indonesia, especially when you get to the places where Wallace has been as well.

Roiko
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book but so many typos and poor formatting of pages (Kindle edition), 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm 11% through the Kindle edition of this book and enjoying the narrative enormously, Wallace's prose is still highly enjoyable today (even with the odd wince at the descriptions of "natives" and other "races" ) but the enjoyment is marred but the sheer number of typos. If this was a print edition it would have been rejected. The other annoyance is some of the formatting, which puts footnotes in the middle of pages and in others pages are half blank for no discernable reason. The illustrations come out well and the ability to download PDFs of the oversize maps from the website is welcome. Overall I cannot give this book more than an "it's okay", which is mainly credit to Wallace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Missprinted book, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Malay Archipelago (Paperback)
I'm sure the content that Wallace wrote in his travel book is excellent, but the copy I received was unreadable. It had incomplete sentences, chapters started half way through a sentence, printers' notes were within the text, captions stuck in the middle of sentences - and no images - and the dedication plate by Wallace was missing. The book was riddled with this the whole way through. I wonder if I was just unlucky and this was a one off complete missprint? I returned this copy via Amazon's returns policy (very easy) and have ordered another version of this excellent travel book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good book, awful quality, 10 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Malay Archipelago (Paperback)
I ordered the paperback so I cannot speak for the other versions. It is a very good book if you are interested in the subject, however the quality of print was shameful. There were sections divided by text, there was a university library possession note at the front and an unfathomable amount of spelling mistakes. I believe the copy I received is a text recognition software scanned version from a library being sold online which would account for all the formatting errors and spelling mistakes which means they haven't even proof read.

Buy a different version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poorly forged copy of the book DO NOT BUY, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Malay Archipelago (Paperback)
This book from this seller is a poorly foraged copy of the book - I guess the price should have been the tip-off. It has missing words, incorrect characters, the formatting is incorrect and it says it is property of the Princeton University Library. I would have guessed this is in violation of some copyright laws but do not buy this book. Its such a bad copy that large portions of the text are unreadable or illegible. By looking at the other reviews, they all seem to be written by the seller. DO NOT BUY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Had to return this copy, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Malay Archipelago (Paperback)
I received this a few days ago and I had to return it and hopefully, it will be picked up tomorrow. There are typesetting errors where sentences just run into each other or just ends in mid-sentence. There are spelling mistakes and one of the pages has a whole missing bit. So I am disappointed as judging by the few paragraphs I read through and before deciding that it was best to return it, it would have been a great book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Malay Archipelago
The Malay Archipelago by Alfred Russel Wallace (Paperback - 8 Aug. 2009)
£8.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews