Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary acheivement
Godden's other book, Encyclopedia Of British Pottery And Porcelain Marks, is a 'blunt object' of a volume, heavy enough to make your arms ache. How then, did he manage to compress so much information into this pocket handbook? Obviously, not every pottery and not every mark could possibly be included - yet an extraordinary number are fitted in, together with brief notes...
Published on 9 May 2012 by Peasant

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars The Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain marks
like this very much really informative good condition and value for money would recommend this item have a nice day
Published 9 months ago by muppet


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary acheivement, 9 May 2012
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
Godden's other book, Encyclopedia Of British Pottery And Porcelain Marks, is a 'blunt object' of a volume, heavy enough to make your arms ache. How then, did he manage to compress so much information into this pocket handbook? Obviously, not every pottery and not every mark could possibly be included - yet an extraordinary number are fitted in, together with brief notes on the potteries. At the back, an index of initials quickly takes you to the relevant pottery, though not all the potteries keyed appear in the main text. Dates are given for potteries, and where a factory used a set of dating symbols (eg Minton) tables of these are supplied.

Many of the factories listed are early and obscure; it's fairly easy to memorise the marks for Sylvac, Royal Lancastrian and so on, it's these rare Staffordshire potters, these Bow, Chelsea and Yarmouth factories of the 18th century, who are going to yield bootfair gold; the pretty, unassuming little thing that costs you 50p and is worth hundreds, so it's important to have these here even if you may never stumble across an example. I've other pocket guides to ceramics marks, but this is the one I take with me. It's a treasure.

At the front of the book is a series of illustrations (black and white, I'm afraid) showing the different types of ceramics - slipware, stoneware, lustre and so on - which is handy if you're starting out. However I would point the keen beginner to a superb book English Pottery (Fitzwilliam Museum Handbooks), with unbeatable quality photographs of a wide range of ceramics which will painlessly and enjoyably teach you a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pottery and Porcelain Marks, 17 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An ideal book to start an education in understanding the marks on pottery. Handy size book for carrying around boot sales!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book and fast shipping, 24 April 2014
By 
Stormday (Darlington, North East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
I will defo buy again from here. This book is great love it! Plus nicely wrapped and fast deleivery. This book is even better than what I thought maybe ill become an expert in no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
This book covers all porcelain marks in detail.For collectors or car boot people it is ideal to identify finds.Recommended.Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing amazon !!, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
all you ever needed to know about pottery marks, good for collecters of antique porcelain and pottery in the united kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain marks, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
like this very much really informative good condition and value for money would recommend this item have a nice day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
The book arrived on time and in good condition. It has already become invaluable to me in my research into British pottery, clear and concise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Met the Requirement, 30 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks (Paperback)
Part of some research i was conducting helped in some ways but not to give me the clearest way forward the book is comprehensive and for its publication dates meets with my approval Delivery Fine Transaction Fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks
The Handbook of British Pottery and Porcelain Marks by Geoffrey A. Godden (Paperback - 31 Oct 1975)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews