Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely NOT for beginners
A number of people who have submitted reviews on this book seem to be missing the point. This is NOT a 'Teach Yourself' book, it's a reference work. If you need a book that covers every aspect of C++ in detail, this is the one to go for. It is written by the man who created C++ after all. If you don't know C++ and want a book to learn from, try elsewhere!
Published on 15 Feb. 2001

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars High on technical definition, low on real-life examples
An adequate reference book if you already know C++, but totally unsuited to a beginner or a C programmer. It has plenty of in-depth descriptions of obtuse syntax and implementation-dependent details, but it doesn't tell you, for example, how to typedef an array (although it asks you to in one of the exercises).
While we're on the subject of exercises, no answers...
Published on 12 May 2000


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely NOT for beginners, 15 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The C++ Programming Language: Third Edition (Paperback)
A number of people who have submitted reviews on this book seem to be missing the point. This is NOT a 'Teach Yourself' book, it's a reference work. If you need a book that covers every aspect of C++ in detail, this is the one to go for. It is written by the man who created C++ after all. If you don't know C++ and want a book to learn from, try elsewhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best source of knowledge on C++, 27 Feb. 2003
By 
G. Avvinti (Sicily, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've learned C++ from this book first, a few years ago, so my experience is the that of a novice.
On the writing style, I agree with those who say that it could have been written in a clearer way. The reading sometime had to proceed slowly, and sometime turn back a few pages and restart.
On the content, instead, I think that no other book brings the same knowledge in both quantity and quality.
It comes as no surprise that being Stroustrup the first inventor of C++, few people knows it better than him. Through this thousand of pages it is possible to learn plenty and plenty of details about the language. But should is stop here, it would be just another Kernigan & Ritchie. Indeed, the book brings much more. The language is explained through the use of a lot of examples that in reality are true insights on programming techniques. Perhaps you'll follow the classic path of buying this or some other big reference on C++, and then some other lighter book on tecniques and/or coding strategies. I did it, passing through exceptional books (Coplien, Koeing, Meyers). Now, looking back, I realize that much of the stuff I've learned through these latter books, could have been learned through Stroustrup's as well. All this stuff is there. The problem is that you learn them together with the language and the OO notions, so if you are a novice they could not receive the deserved attention (and perhaps they don't have the deserved space in the book. But, after all, I find they are "add-in"s, not the main subject).
And there's still something more. Through the chapter Stroustrup exposes his view on the OO subject. It's a personal view (that lead to the language development as a support), but it's a good one, on my opinion. One that, among the many, deserves respect and that can get a direct match on the most widely used language, together with C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not a tutorial..., 22 Aug. 2005
This review is from: The C++ Programming Language: Third Edition (Paperback)
I don't know where Amazon got their title for this book from: It's simply "The C++ Programming Language." Nothing about "tutorial" which seems to have been the impression a lot of other reviewers have got.
As such it's not a tutorial - don't buy this as a first taste of C++ or even of programming as a whole. Perhaps have a gawp at Koenig and Moo's "Accelerated C++" instead.
This is the book to use if you want to know how the language and standard library behaves without having a dig around in the language standard itself. While there are more complete references to the standard library, this book is the best I've seen on the language itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says on the tin, 19 Jun. 2001
This review is from: The C++ Programming Language: Third Edition (Paperback)
It's not a tutorial book. It's not going to teach you to program in C++. It's not going to tell you how to step-up from another language to C++. But that's because it's a reference book. And as a reference work, it's very, very good. Well, you'd expect it to be, really - it's written by the guy who created C++.
It covers the whole of the language and the standard libraries pretty exhaustively. Pretty well every concept is explained with the assistance of code examples and diagrams where appropriate. As well as raw technical information, every chapter concludes with a set of hints on how to best make use of the features of C++ presented in the chapter - useful, as it's easy to abuse C++ and end up with messy code - and a set of exercise questions to work through.
On the minus side, the typesetting of the book isn't wonderful - a few of the diagrams have lines that don't join up, and the text isn't particularly easy on the eye. However, it's a reference work, not a coffee table book - if you want something that looks nice, buy a book with "21 days" in the title, or something.
This is a serious book for serious programmers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete reference, 22 July 2001
By 
Mr. Shane Porter "shaneporter66" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The C++ Programming Language: Third Edition (Paperback)
Without doubt, the most comprehensive explanation and critique of C++ as a language that is available.
Not for beginners, and not an easy read, but this text, above all others, will answer your C++ questions.
The style of writing is particularly good, and if you understand the contents of this book, you understand C++.
It is as 'simple' as that.
THE book for anyone serious about C++, but not necessarily the only one. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The standard c++ reference, 8 Sept. 2002
This review is from: The C++ Programming Language: Third Edition (Paperback)
Probably the most useful book on c++ ever written, by the creator of c++. However it is not intended for people new to programming - a familiarity with c and the basic programming concepts is neccesary. It is very thorough, more a computer science text-book than a handbook or tutorial. The book explores the architecture of c++ and how it is implemented as well as how to use it (which other books usually concentrate on). Many good tips on style and how you should structure programs as well as broader concerns useful to large scale projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 7 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The C++ Programming Language: Third Edition (Paperback)
This book gives you the ins and outs of what appears to be every aspect of C++. Anything and everything you can think of that is part of C++ is well explained and often also includes a nice little piece of example code to help you out.

DO NOT buy this if you're just starting out in C++, as well written as it is, I do not think it is intended for newbies and I can recognise how beginners may get lost in this book - I believe you're looking for something like "C++ for beginners" instead.

DO buy this book if you think you're past the "beginner stage" and are now looking to improve your game with C++. (Really DO, there's tones to learn in this book).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Mar. 2010
By 
Having read a number of introductory texts on C++ I wanted a book that would count as a one stop fits all repository of information on the C++ language as a whole without having to trawl through reams of example code and explanatory text to get to the actual info. This book does that in spades being, in some places, so terse that it is necessary to closely examine some statements to fully comprehend their full implications, providing further useful learning. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best C++ guide and reference book available., 13 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The C++ Programming Language: Third Edition (Paperback)
The C++ Programming Language is without a doubt the most comprehensive and well presented C++ book I have read.
While not really suited to the novice programmer, anyone with a background in structured or object oriented programming (particularly C) will find this an effective learning guide. It is also a useful reference book and rarely (if ever) sees the bookshelf!
Whether you're an experienced C++ programmer or new to the language, Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Reference and Introduction to C++ for Software Pro's, 13 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The C++ Programming Language: Third Edition (Paperback)
This book is a great improvement on the old 1st addition, which everyone was buying, when all the OOPSla started in the late(ish) 80's. Having read a copy from the Uni library, I found myself deciding I'd have to buy this 3rd edition.
It's much clearer than the old Stroustroup, has good examples, and the index solved a problem that had bugged me, switching between Borland and GNU compilers.
Stroustroup includes reasons behind the design decisions, which I find fascinating, and this book is up to date enough to let you write or prepare for ANSI C++, if you have an out of date compiler.
Recently I've read many C++ books, this is one of the best for general coverage. The Meyer's books are also good, and another author's one on C++ style is a must read, explaining correct use of inheritance, and C++ style examples, by disecting a number of published example programs, but is far *too* thin to buy. I also like Inside the C++ Object Model, for the technicalitites, and indepth explanation of space/time/abstraction tradeoffs.
Stroustroup's book is not thin!!! It's Tolkeinesque in size, about as thick as the Bat book (you long suffering UNIX admins know which one I mean), and is far too heavy to read in anything but either, small chunks chapter by chapter, in fast superficial skim mode, or browsing when you have a problem. This is a result of it's completeness, reference quality and technical discussion.
A book for Pro's, if you're used to 24 hour How To's, or other crap glossies, then forget it, you won't be happy, there's no bad jokes or naff pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The C++ Programming Language: Third Edition
The C++ Programming Language: Third Edition by Bjarne Stroustrup (Paperback - 20 Jun. 1997)
£51.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews