Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book on color management
6 months ago I used photoshop but never really bothered much about
color management, now I'm getting serious about my photography I was looking why my images lacked the pop of many pro photos, why did I get strange colour casts on my prints, how come sharp slides
came out flat and what can I do about it.
This book is a pleasure to read,(you may need to read...
Published on 20 July 2003 by MR STEPHEN OROBEC

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book, but no more
This is a big book on the topic, a reference book. A bit difficult to use when you need a quick answer to your question.
Published on 22 Nov 2009 by Cooreman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book on color management, 20 July 2003
By 
MR STEPHEN OROBEC (FELIXSTOWE, SUFFOLK United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Real World Color Management (Paperback)
6 months ago I used photoshop but never really bothered much about
color management, now I'm getting serious about my photography I was looking why my images lacked the pop of many pro photos, why did I get strange colour casts on my prints, how come sharp slides
came out flat and what can I do about it.
This book is a pleasure to read,(you may need to read it several times) from a well respected authors, it puts into perspective all the arguments from the rabid colour management gurus to experts who
don't see a need for colour management, but lets you work out your own opinion. It is also a goldmine of information on the subject showing how you can be more methodical about your approach to workflows. It is equally good for RGB and CMYK processes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In-depth, thorough, technical, highly recommended, 1 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This book contains invaluable in-depth information about the principles and practice of colour management.
The initial chapters are worth reading on their own as an introduction to how colour works, how it is measured and encoded digitally, and the basics of colour management.
If you're making your own profiles with high-end tools from GretagMacbeth, Monaco etc then this is a must-have. If you're not working at this level it is still a valuable source of information to help you understand the issues involved.
For an introductory, less theoretical, book then Andrew Rodney's 'Color Management for Photographers' is probably easier to digest, but the two books should be considered as complementary. Start with Andrew's book & then progress to Bruce's if you need more info.
The theory and practice of colour management are both difficult subjects, and you need to arm yourself with sound advice if you are to make any progress. Both of these books are valuable tools to help you to make progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but needs an update, 28 May 2010
By 
This books explains to you very well how colours between various devices do not match up and how you can match them up. Unfortunately, some of the practical advice now feels outdated. Spyder and Spyder2 colori meters? GretachMacBeth? Monaco? Many of the companies mentioned in the book no longer exist as they have been acquired by either X-rite or Datacolor and many of their products are now two generations further down the line. Also, the book discusses CRT monitors (the old bulky ones), while by now the majority of people own an LCD or even a LED screen. Old CRT screens are no longer to be had anywhere. And how do you color manage your cell phone, ipod and ipad?!? The flow of images is changing. People no longer do camera-computer/laptop-printer alone. It goes more like, camera-iphone-tv or iphone-computer-ipad

Nonetheless, if you want to find out about colour management, this is a very good place to start. It gives you the right amount of theory to start with. And although the products and flows discussed are now outdated/incomplete, the methodologies very much still apply. Also, other books and many of the technologies simply do not support these new flows yet either. This book opens your eyes to what is going wrong and in many ways helps you to see what needs to be done to correct it. It gives you the knowledge to go beyond just what is discussed in the book because it teaches you not just what button to push but WHY. Recommended for its insight, completeness and readability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate book on Colour managment, 24 Nov 2009
By 
D. Vanhoof (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I ordered this book in the hope that it would tell me more in depth about light and colour, i wasn't disappointed. The first 30 pages are about how light is composed and more important how we, humans, see colour, what follows is an in depth study of how our eyes work, before going over into colour management itself. The writers then provide workflow for most current applications, even CorelDraw is included.

I can heartedly recommend this book for anyone who is really interested in how light works and Digital workflow.
Real World Color Management: Industrial-Strength Production Techniques
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only book you'll need on the subject., 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real World Color Management (Paperback)
If you want to understand the subject then this is the definitive book. Prepare to devote some time to it as it's not an easy read. I still find myself picking up and dipping into it for reference years after buying it. Bruce Fraser really knew his subject well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars satisfied customer, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fast service, well packed just what I needed. Well pleased, a difficult book to get at a reasonable price. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Want to understand printing., 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want to understand printing and the different parts that are involved in it and why it sometimes goes wrong then you need this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Color Management, 8 Oct 2011
By 
Derek Watkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Real World Color Management (Paperback)
This is by far the best book I've read on colour management. Detailed, knowledgeable and practical. If you want to know about CM, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book, but no more, 22 Nov 2009
By 
Cooreman "DCO" (Brussels) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a big book on the topic, a reference book. A bit difficult to use when you need a quick answer to your question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Real World Color Management
Real World Color Management by Chris Murphy (Paperback - 13 Jan 2003)
Used & New from: £4.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews