Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1st Class web DESIGN book
This book ranks as one of my all-time best technical books! Its wonderfully well presented - plenty of illustrations and photos, and is written in a jargon free manner (infact its almost like a novel!)
The book covers all the DESIGN aspects of creating web sites and gives plenty of insight into HOW to build them. If you are a techie-head and want to know all the...
Published on 23 Oct. 2002 by William Smith

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little out of date now...
This is a very good book, but some of the techniques are now out of date. Not really for anyone who has been designing for any period of time. If you're just starting out and want to learn all the basics, then you will find this useful. It covers all aspects of web design.

The book would get 4-5 stars, but like I said, a little dated now.
Published on 20 Nov. 2007 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1st Class web DESIGN book, 23 Oct. 2002
By 
William Smith (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robin Williams Web Design Workshop (Robin Williams Design Workshop) (Paperback)
This book ranks as one of my all-time best technical books! Its wonderfully well presented - plenty of illustrations and photos, and is written in a jargon free manner (infact its almost like a novel!)
The book covers all the DESIGN aspects of creating web sites and gives plenty of insight into HOW to build them. If you are a techie-head and want to know all the coding tricks, then forget it - this ISNT the book for you. If you have any kind of flair for design or even just an appreciation of what makes a GOOD web site AND you can handle technological explanations (not heavy code!!), then this IS the book for you.
Its glossy, its easy to read and packed with examples. If you want to know what makes a GOOD web site then you MUST buy this book.
PS. Another good choice is "Web Design, Tools and Techniques" by Peter Kentie. It however is a bit more 'application' oriented and less 'design-y'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Buy it!, 2 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Williams Web Design Workshop (Robin Williams Design Workshop) (Paperback)
Robin's book must rank as one of the best I have ever read on web site design. It is beautifully presented and written with humour. I have been designing web sites for the last four years, entirely self taught and thought I was doing pretty well until I read this book! I have learnt more from reading this book cover to cover in the last 48 hours (I couldn't put it down), than through my previous laborious and amateurish efforts!

One of the best sections for me personally, were the Chapters on dealing with clients and using freelance services to assist with some of the more techie stuff. I have been attempting to do all this myself, mistakenly assuming that as an aspiring web site designer, I should be able to write all the various programming languages!

My one and only critisism is the last chapter, which is a virtual chapter and put on the web. The purpose of this is to enable the reader to actually view all the animated effects, flash, etc. Only having a 56K modem with no immediate hope of broadband for a while yet, I would have preferred this to have been included on CD with the book. However, this is a minor gripe and I fully appreciate the reasoning behind the author's decision.

Overall the book, has given me the confidence and know how to design and produce web sites with more professionalism, both aesthetically and from a business perpective. I have now purchased a second copy to give to my daughter who is just beginning a Dreamweaver course......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, lots of helpful hints and tips..., 27 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Robin Williams Web Design Workshop (Robin Williams Design Workshop) (Paperback)
I'd never heard of Robin Williams before being given this book as a gift. I now want to read ALL her books! It's very down to earth and though there is quite a bit of technical stuff in there, it never talks down to you. There are lots of illustrations and is written with a sense of humour. I would recommend this book as a good place to start for anyone wishing to know more about web design! The book is good value and there is also an accompanying website with LOTS more information... Excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little out of date now..., 20 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Robin Williams Web Design Workshop (Robin Williams Design Workshop) (Paperback)
This is a very good book, but some of the techniques are now out of date. Not really for anyone who has been designing for any period of time. If you're just starting out and want to learn all the basics, then you will find this useful. It covers all aspects of web design.

The book would get 4-5 stars, but like I said, a little dated now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another good one!, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Williams Web Design Workshop (Robin Williams Design Workshop) (Paperback)
i have two of robin williams' other books in design as i wanted to build my skills from the ground up and this was a good addition. i have made several changes to our websites and am reaping the benefits now. she makes you think about the little things in design which helps a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully informative, 1 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. C. F. Burton "Chris Burton" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robin Williams Web Design Workshop (Robin Williams Design Workshop) (Paperback)
Have just picked up a second hand copy for £10 and enjoying it immensely. Although it seriously needs updating to reflect current computing and software, there is still so much relevant knowledge to be gleaned from this excellently written and presented tome. Would be five stars if up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing was bought 2012, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Williams Web Design Workshop (Robin Williams Design Workshop) (Paperback)
Given how fast technology progresses,this book was published 2002. I bought it hoping to provide a creative graphic designer with technical knowledge of website design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robin Williams Web Design Workshop (Robin Williams Design Workshop)
£25.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews