Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant and concise
This is a great book.
After two years of searching for a decent book on XML, I was surprised to find what exactly I needed in such a small volume. It seems to say very little, but says everything you need to know. Other writers must grind their teeth in frustration, wishing that they could do what Castro has done here.
I agree with another reviewer here who says...
Published on 14 May 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok for an overview, but lacking in clarity
It's a fine line between keeping things concise and clear, and leaving things ambiguous and unclear. I think this book tends far more towards the latter, I'm afraid, despite the other reviews here.

If you want a book to give you an overview of what technologies are associated with XML, such as XPath and XSL, then this book will do it fine, and even give you a...
Published on 29 Dec 2008 by Nick O'Demite


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant and concise, 14 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: XML for the World Wide Web (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
This is a great book.
After two years of searching for a decent book on XML, I was surprised to find what exactly I needed in such a small volume. It seems to say very little, but says everything you need to know. Other writers must grind their teeth in frustration, wishing that they could do what Castro has done here.
I agree with another reviewer here who says that it maybe isn't for the absolute beginner to XML, but if you have read a good introductory article on XML somewhere, then it's perfect. Everyone else is providing either discursive introductions about the idea of XML, or over-detailed, confusing examples. This book hits the sweet spot in between. I'll keep it handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine as far as it goes., 27 Nov 2003
By 
Graham Phillips (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: XML for the World Wide Web (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
A good introduction to XML and some associated technologies such as DTDs, schemas, XSLT and CSS, and a pleasant change from all those books whose authors think they won't be taken seriously unless they fill at least 750 pages.
The publisher claims that this guide "uses pictures rather than lengthy explanations", but most of the pictures are simple screendumps of text in an editor. The pictures are more useful in the CSS layout section; however, there are better books on CSS than this, for example by Eric Meyer. (Most are based on HTML rather than XML, but the principles are the same.)
Nicely laid out and printed,and no significant errors or typos. Just a reminder: this book does not cover the DOM, SAX, SOAP or XML-RPC, so you will need to look elsewhere if that's what you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ok for an overview, but lacking in clarity, 29 Dec 2008
This review is from: XML for the World Wide Web (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
It's a fine line between keeping things concise and clear, and leaving things ambiguous and unclear. I think this book tends far more towards the latter, I'm afraid, despite the other reviews here.

If you want a book to give you an overview of what technologies are associated with XML, such as XPath and XSL, then this book will do it fine, and even give you a bit of an insight into how to actually cut some code. But if you want to come away from it with working code that you've either lifted or worked out for yourself in reasonable time then I think you'll be disappointed.

CSS is a complicated old technology, and this book covers it in relation to XML. Here's one quote on it: 'Type parent > child to apply the style to only those child elements that are contained directly with the parent element'. Nothing else is said about the '>' operator, nor any examples given. As I say, fine for an overview, but now go and buy the real book that has time to do what teachers should do - explain things in many ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Close but No Cigar, 12 Feb 2009
By 
S. B. Foley "Axel" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XML for the World Wide Web (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
I can honestly say that I am disappointed with this book.
If you are looking for a reference book on XML then this is not it, like me you could find yourself having to buy another book to fill all the gaps left by the Author ,,, and there are many gaps where there is a lack of detailed "explainations". This book has wasted too much of my time days in fact which is unacceptable. If you want a quick crash course this the book is perfect enough to get yourself started. If you want to actually implement XML and schema's you will need more reference material.

Simply not enough background explaination going on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 31 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: XML for the World Wide Web (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
An Excellent book with good resources and very easy to follow. The book contains links to the source code and other websites that have downloadable files. The book itself is easy to follow, and quick to be learned. the examples are well explained and easy to follow. With this book you can be writing XML within the hour.Belive me this is not rubbish it is true. Well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to XML. Clear and concise., 29 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: XML for the World Wide Web (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
The layout of the book makes it easy to follow, with very clear examples, tips and reminders. The explanations and descriptions are straight to the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Concise, but confusing for true beginners, 17 April 2001
This review is from: XML for the World Wide Web (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
If you purchase this book with the intention of writing XML within an hour or so, beware: Although all the information is there, it is difficult to follow a single thread that leads to a working example.
I am sure this will be a useful book, but it is not a quick start to xml. For the price, it is justified. Otherwise there are better step-by-step tutorials online.
The book's "real world" approach is quite good, balancing the various approaches to xml within just a few pages
This is a book that needs to be followed carefully to get the value it contains. Not everyone will be suited to its concise style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XML for the World Wide Web (Visual QuickStart Guides) (Paperback)
its alright haven't spend much time on it so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

XML for the World Wide Web (Visual QuickStart Guides)
XML for the World Wide Web (Visual QuickStart Guides) by Elizabeth Castro (Paperback - 23 Oct 2000)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews