Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read for a taste of something different!
I read the three books in the series (as the authors so enthustiastically and repeatedly recommended - I wonder why!) I have to say, I found their writing style exceptionally clear and enthusiastic. Very much a "Hey, let's get real here". Very refreshing in a world gone berzerk for processes! The recommendations in this book do leave a number of questions...
Published on 29 May 2001 by Mr. Stephen Holmes

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars slim and low tech
There isn't very much in this book. it contains advice to approach software project management with a particular mindset, and its own redundant jargon. intellectual content is low, usefulness lower.
Published on 11 Mar. 2001 by andy@websiteanalyzer.com


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read for a taste of something different!, 29 May 2001
By 
Mr. Stephen Holmes (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Extreme Programming Installed (XP) (Paperback)
I read the three books in the series (as the authors so enthustiastically and repeatedly recommended - I wonder why!) I have to say, I found their writing style exceptionally clear and enthusiastic. Very much a "Hey, let's get real here". Very refreshing in a world gone berzerk for processes! The recommendations in this book do leave a number of questions unanswered but I suspect that the target audience is that of seasoned development complexities (i.e., have knowledge of UML or other methodologies under their belts as a support mechanism). The book alludes to these finer points more in passing than any great detail. The book does however mention the use of UML during design and constant refactoring during the iterative process.
For a clearer picture on how to implement, I'd recommend reading Planning Extreme Programing and Extreme Programming Installed and then get onto the XP web sites... to get the low down and connect with folks using the techniques for real! Great Stuff...
I'd strongly recommend the set of 3 books in the series - they won't solve world peace but will give you some VERY "doable" techniques and a lot to think about. For that alone they're worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical advice for how to adopt XP practices, 10 Dec. 2000
This review is from: Extreme Programming Installed (XP) (Paperback)
If you've caught the buzz surrounding the XP movement and would like to know how XP might work in your organisation, this book is probably the quickest way to get an understanding of what it takes to make XP work. It's a book for techies, maybe, where Beck/Fowler's ~Planning XP" is aimed at a larger audience, but as a technie I like "XP Installed".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read - well recommended, 13 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr. A. Kell (Ruthin, North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Extreme Programming Installed (XP) (Paperback)
I read this book when I was signed up to Safari Books Online alongside a number of other books related to the extreme programming practices. This book stood out as the one that I would most recommend to my work colleagues who are also interested in the topic. As such, we purchased a copy of the book from Amazon and it is now making its way round the office.

A very easy and enjoyable read that gets the principles across in a light way with good examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on XP, 1 July 2008
By 
Michael Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extreme Programming Installed (XP) (Paperback)
This isn't a programming manual. What it does do is explain XP very well.
The authors do this simply, and should be applauded for this fact.

I think the person who gave the poor review was misunderstanding the point of this book, It not a Dostoyevsky novel. They do explain XP simply and effectively.

Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars slim and low tech, 11 Mar. 2001
This review is from: Extreme Programming Installed (XP) (Paperback)
There isn't very much in this book. it contains advice to approach software project management with a particular mindset, and its own redundant jargon. intellectual content is low, usefulness lower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extreme Programming Installed (XP)
Extreme Programming Installed (XP) by Chet Hendrickson (Paperback - 16 Oct. 2000)
£33.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews