Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking
This book gets you thinking about typography rather than teaching you the art - although there are a few practical tips you will pick up along the way. Written in a witty and entertaining style it is a worthwhile introductory read for those just getting into typography.
Published on 10 Aug 2005 by C Knights

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great enthusiasm builder, but not enough meat
This is a great read for someone who has never considered type before. Those graphic design graduates who were never taught type in ground-up way, self-tought pros wanting to learn some theory or for editors, subs or marketing people who are now doubling-up as designers. It really makes you share the authors' total enthusiasm for type, although there are other equally...
Published on 15 Aug 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great enthusiasm builder, but not enough meat, 15 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Stop Stealing Sheep and Find Out How Type Works (Paperback)
This is a great read for someone who has never considered type before. Those graphic design graduates who were never taught type in ground-up way, self-tought pros wanting to learn some theory or for editors, subs or marketing people who are now doubling-up as designers. It really makes you share the authors' total enthusiasm for type, although there are other equally clear introductions that are either cheaper or offer more. If you want hard knowledge rather than enjoyable prose check out The Mac is Not a Typewriter, Rauari McClean's pre-DTP Manual of Typography, or About Face by Rotovision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Covers lots of basics in an accessible manner, 26 July 2004
By 
Stacy Munn "multimedia designer" (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stop Stealing Sheep and Find Out How Type Works (Paperback)
I'm a typography novice. Before reading this book, I thought the font Gaudi was named after the architect of La Sagrada Familia.
The book is written in a down-to-earth tone of voice that held my interest. It gives a good introduction to the use of grids in layout and why they are so important. Basics such as x-height, linespacing, letterspacing and ligatures are covered. Some intriguing typographical history is worked in to give explanation to the current state of type. Most pages give samples of popular fonts.
You'll probably have to do a lot more reading and practicing before becoming a typographic expert, but this little book covers a lot of relevant information for the novice in an accessible manner. Several times, the author makes mention of today's cheap paperback novels that are produced without any thought to good design. This book isn't one of those. Each page has been painstakingly well designed, and the price tag shows it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the dinner but the candle lit table, 28 Feb 2004
This review is from: Stop Stealing Sheep and Find Out How Type Works (Paperback)
This book is beautifully presented and easily read but the content maybe a little too thin. However I suppose it's an introductory text that tries to get the reader to get a feel for what is a highly specialised art form. Half the pages are illustrations while the text is allowed a generous amount of space. Some of the more important or factually based information is set in smaller type and acts as a prompt for the reader to investigate further. Effectively it's a book that creates a mood that once you've grasped can lead you on to more hardcore texts such as Elements in Typographic Style or The New Typography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 10 Aug 2005
By 
C Knights (Luton, Beds United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stop Stealing Sheep and Find Out How Type Works (Paperback)
This book gets you thinking about typography rather than teaching you the art - although there are a few practical tips you will pick up along the way. Written in a witty and entertaining style it is a worthwhile introductory read for those just getting into typography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good intro to types - Very pleasant to read, 6 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Stop Stealing Sheep and Find Out How Type Works (Paperback)
I will start a graphic design MA this September and was advised to read this book from the course coordinator. I have not finished reading it yet but so far, it is very good... The layout and grid of the book are easy to follow. This makes the book pleasant to read. There are loads of illustrations/pictures and this helps to understand the points detailed on each page. In terms of the contents, this book makes you think about type and its use. The examples shown in the book dont really come from artwork but they are more day-to-day stuff that surround us. I've learnt a lot of interesting stuff/tips so far.

I had read the Basic Design: Typography by Gavin/Ambrose Basics Design: Typography and thought it was very interesting with loads of superb examples of artwork but there weren't enough contents compared to "Stop stealing sheep".

I'd recommend this book to anyone who, like me, is a beginner in the graphic design world and wants to learn basics about typography. It's a good intro!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick read, little info, 22 April 2004
By 
This review is from: Stop Stealing Sheep and Find Out How Type Works (Paperback)
'Find Out How Type Works'? Not by reading this. It's Ok if you know nothing about typography, as it quickly skims over some obvious points that you should know about this broad subject area. However, it's very overated, and with a basic understanding of type you'll feel you've been let down by this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book every designer should own, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop Stealing Sheep and Find Out How Type Works (Paperback)
This book is the best introduction to typography I have ever read. A must for all designers, especially students and recommended reading for anyone interested in type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop Stealing Sheep and Find Out How Type Works (Paperback)
another great read, speedy postage, great for help and information for uni work. Definitely a great all round book for students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book on typography, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop Stealing Sheep and Find Out How Type Works (Paperback)
This was bought for my son who is doing graphic design at university. He was reccommended this bok and was not disappointed. Very good for the subject of typography.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended Reading, 13 July 2011
By 
E. Hancock (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stop Stealing Sheep and Find Out How Type Works (Paperback)
Brilliant little book on typography. I read this before starting my design degree, three years on and I'm still using the lessons it taught me. Full of helpful examples, plenty of full colour images, and in-depth information for an extra level of understanding. My only complaint is that it's not long enough for me, finished it in five hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stop Stealing Sheep and Find Out How Type Works
Stop Stealing Sheep and Find Out How Type Works by E.M Ginger (Paperback - 2003)
£23.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews