Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical TCP/IP, illustrated with LAN traces., 1 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: TCP/IP Illustrated: Protocols v. 1 (APC) (Hardcover)
An excellent introduction to the operation of the classic TCP/IP protocols. Taking a step-by-step approach accompanied by interpreted tcpdump traces of real-world examples this is a thorough grounding in the basics of TCP/IP. Sadly, because of the death of the author, it will not be updated but this volume and its companions in the series will remain worth buying and studying for some time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the investment, 30 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: TCP/IP Illustrated: Protocols v. 1 (APC) (Hardcover)
WR Stevens has compiled the essential desk drawer reference book on TCP/IP. IP has evolved since 1994 and this book doesn't have that later coverage. But for the basics, in an easy to read, superbly descriptive and insightful style with great real-world traces and tips from an obvious expert in his field, this text maybe all that you will need on TCP/IP protocols.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is it!, 20 Aug 2001
This review is from: TCP/IP Illustrated: Protocols v. 1 (APC) (Hardcover)
The definite IPv4 book! If you really want to understand what's going on those layers, this is the book you have to buy. A MUST for anywone serious about IP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately the bible on TCP/IP, 9 Aug 2003
This review is from: TCP/IP Illustrated: Protocols v. 1 (APC) (Hardcover)
TCP/IP Illustated is what I (and many other people) consider the bible on TCP/IP. Stevens explains every aspect of the TCP/IP protocol suite in words techies can comprehense. The book it self requires some basic tcp/ip and unix knowledge. A great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best..., 27 Sep 2003
This review is from: TCP/IP Illustrated: Protocols v. 1 (APC) (Hardcover)
This was such an interesting and well written book about tcp/ip that i have read it from start to the end 2 times when i bought it in mid 90's and i would welcome another reading for review.It is a must for someone who wants to learn tcp/ip in depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, consice, perfect..., 5 Nov 2002
By 
S. Papanastasiou "Stelios" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TCP/IP Illustrated: Protocols v. 1 (APC) (Hardcover)
I decided to give this book a go as it was all the rave in reviews. I must say that I did not regret my decision. It is well written and non-pretentious. Some of the more recent developments (such as IPv6 and NewReno TCP) are absent but still, this is the perfect introduction to TCP/IP and one of the most frequently cited texts in TCP analytical modeling papers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good TCP/IP book bit a little dated, 4 Feb 2011
By 
B. Middleton (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: TCP/IP Illustrated: Protocols v. 1 (APC) (Hardcover)
This is a very good book to learn TCP/IP bit it is now a little dated, no doubt in it's day it would be worthy of 5-stars but I would recommend Internetworking with TCP/IP: v. 1: Principles, Protocols and Architecture by Douglas E. Comer as my TCP/IP reference book of choice which I also found to be a more enjoyable read; the 5th Edition of that was released in 2005 and includes sections discussing NAT/VPN, MPLS and other technologies in use today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive & clear, 26 Nov 2000
This review is from: TCP/IP Illustrated: Protocols v. 1 (APC) (Hardcover)
Don't be fooled by other TCP/IP books. This book is meaty,clear and a joy to read. An absolute must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best book on the subject, 11 April 2008
This review is from: TCP/IP Illustrated: Protocols v. 1 (APC) (Hardcover)
This could be considered the bible of network protocol books. Although old it is still relevant. Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TCP/IP Illustrated: Protocols v. 1 (APC) (Hardcover)
was a good book a lot of relevant information, i used this as a backup and additional information to back up the official cisco material
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TCP/IP Illustrated: Protocols v. 1 (APC)
TCP/IP Illustrated: Protocols v. 1 (APC) by W. Richard Stevens (Hardcover - 31 Dec 1993)
Used & New from: £17.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews