Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book but with a deceptive title
An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory is an excellent book, I have read it once and I keep going back to it when I need something, and that happens very often. And I have never been disappointed so far: the book has got everything I need. However, the title is very deceptive: it is not a Quantum Field Theory primer, it is a book that one can read (and enjoy!) only after...
Published on 21 Feb 2006 by Dr. Carlo N. Colacino

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT FOR FIRST TIMERS!!!
If your taking your first course in quantum field theory and feeling excited like you want to buy a book about it...don't buy this one. There are plenty of good clear books and internet resources out there that will give much more clarity about Dirac field, K.G. field, quantisation, perturbation either by canonical form or path integrals right up to renormalisation and...
Published on 17 April 2007 by Mr. M. Mcgarrie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book but with a deceptive title, 21 Feb 2006
This review is from: An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory (Frontiers in Physics) (Hardcover)
An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory is an excellent book, I have read it once and I keep going back to it when I need something, and that happens very often. And I have never been disappointed so far: the book has got everything I need. However, the title is very deceptive: it is not a Quantum Field Theory primer, it is a book that one can read (and enjoy!) only after reading easier books, in this respect I find Michele Maggiore's "A Modern Introduction to Quantum Field Theory" (OUP 2004) and the classical "Field Theory: a Modern Primer" by Pierre Ramond (Perseus, 2nd edition 1999) more suitable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT FOR FIRST TIMERS!!!, 17 April 2007
By 
Mr. M. Mcgarrie (UK Durham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory (Frontiers in Physics) (Hardcover)
If your taking your first course in quantum field theory and feeling excited like you want to buy a book about it...don't buy this one. There are plenty of good clear books and internet resources out there that will give much more clarity about Dirac field, K.G. field, quantisation, perturbation either by canonical form or path integrals right up to renormalisation and regularisation. For example, the path integral approach in A.ZEE Intro to quantum field theory is a good place to get conceptual understanding.

After you have been studying the subject for a while and actually want a deeper mathematical and technical understand then this book is a keeper!! It is substantial and technical book, more for the researcher than the MSci or undergrad student. Also, this book looks good on the shelf; hardcover and thick. It is the kind of book that once you understand the subject you want a good book to refer to, but it isn't the kind of book to learn from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Feynman diagrams, 25 Mar 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory (Frontiers in Physics) (Hardcover)
I worked through the most of this book in explicit detail (the only way to get the full benefit, in my humble opinion), and, while it was very good at teaching the methods for deriving and computing Feynman diagrams, it often sacrifices pedagogy for explicit calculation. For instance, while there is a brief discussion of representations of the Lorentz group, the book gives no indication of how to construct and work with fields of higher spin. Also, I found their discussion of the LSZ reduction formulae rather impenetrable. (Their discussion of BRST symmetry, in contrast, is very readable and easily understood.) So, while I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn to do calculations in quantum field theory, it is imperative that they supplement this book with other sources that treat important topics, like the CPT theorem, general representation theory, and non-perturbative phenomena (which are barely mentioned here), in detail. (Also, there are a rather large number of unfortunate typos in the first edition...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tough for beginners, but indispensible, 16 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory (Frontiers in Physics) (Hardcover)
At the time I'm writing this, there are ten other reviews. The general consensus is that Peskin & Schroeder is a decent book, but tough for beginners. And I totally agree. The first time I tried to read it, I was intimidated and wanted to give up. Sometimes I re-read whole paragraphs over and over, unable to figure out what the authors were talking about.

Yet a year and a half later, I am becoming fond of Peskin & Schroeder. I have come to realize that it is indispensible for beginners and experts, for theorists and phenomenologists alike. Why? Because of the material that it covers. Peskin & Schroeder is the only book that covers ALL of the topics that I think everybody should know. It doesn't miss out anything essential. So whatever your favourite QFT textbook, you still have to turn to Peskin & Schroeder to fill in bits and pieces. (I'm talking about (i) deriving Feynman rules from time-dependent perturbation theory (ii) the Lehmann-Kahlen propagator, (iii) the LSZ formula (iv) the multiplicative approach to renormalization (v) the optical theorem, (vi) infra-red divergences in QED (vii) partons in QCD (viii) quantizing electroweak theory in the R-xi gauge.)

This is my advice to QFT students:
(1) If you are new to QFT, and you are studying a course based on Peskin & Schroeder but find it tough going, try either Maggiore or Mandl and Shaw. They are basically abridged versions of Peskin & Schroeder. Then go back to Peskin & Schroeder afterwards. You might like to omit the starred sections.
(2) If you are an intermediate student who has spent some time with Peskin & Schroeder but is puzzled by some of it and wants to see the same material explained in a different way, try Srednicki.
(3) If you are a theorist who already understands Peskin & Schroeder and wants more insight into why QFT is done the way it is rather than just how to calculate, read the three volumes by Weinberg.
Basically, there are plenty of other books around, targeted at different people, but whoever you are, you can't avoid Peskin & Schroeder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best modern text on quantum field theory, 27 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory (Frontiers in Physics) (Hardcover)
A balanced, comprehensive and pedagogical text on quantum field theory. I highly recommend it, especially to beginners, who may prefer it to Brown (highly technical and sometimes obscure if one doesn't know the subject already) and Weinberg (encyclopedic and masterful but very dense). It is divided into three parts. Part I deals with foundations and explores QED in a self-contained manner, and is very helpful in connecting the reader familiar with quantum mechanics to field theoretic ideas, including calculating with Feynman diagrams. Part II is an introduction to modern techniques, including the path integral formalism, renormalization group and connection to statistical mechanics. Part III discusses the Standard Model of particle physics, including QCD and asymptotic freedom, the Weinberg-Salam electroweak theory, and anomalies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern primer of QFT., 18 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory (Frontiers in Physics) (Hardcover)
Quantum Field Theory is a theory of modern physics which combines together quantum mechanics and special relativity and thus can be thought of as quantum mechanics in four space-time dimensions. Since its advent in the 1920's by the pioneering works of Dirac et al. the theory has grown to be a huge area encompassing both electrodynamics (QED) and the standard model of particle physics (QCD). The text by Schroeder and Peskin (first published in the U.S. by Westview Press, 1995) is a lucid, modern introduction and reference to this important subject which is nowadays highly indispensible for any serious student or researcher of modern physics.
The book is divided into three parts: In the first part, the authors introduce the Feynman diagrams as a prelude to QED and continue on by an elaboration of the Klein-Gordon equation, the Dirac field, perturbation theory and radiative corrections. In the second part which mainly deals with renormalization, discussion starts out with a survey of the functional methods, followed by the counting of ultraviolet divergences, the role of symmetry and the concept of effective action, the renormalization group (Wilson's approach and CS equation), and finally there is a foray into the condensed matter physics via the topic of critical exponents and nonlinear sigma models. In the third and final part, the focus shifts to the non-abelian gauge theories, their invariance, quantization, QCD, operator products, anomalies and spontaneous symmetry breaking (Higgs mechanism, G-W-S electroweak theory) culminating in a chapter on QFT at the frontier, outlining a brief on grand unified theories and supersymmetry, also pointing out some references for further study.
The senior author of the text has been an affiliate of the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC) who has learned field theory from three of its master's, S. Coleman, S. Weinberg, and K. Wilson. The authors' collective intent --following the example set by Bjorken and Drell-- has been to strike a perfect balance between abstract formalism, intuitive explanations, and practical calculations. There are also a large number of explicit calculations carried out in the text. Due to tactical considerations and space limitations however, the experimental developments of QFT, proof of some of the more advanced results, and an account of the history of the subject have been mostly left out to the other references. Having said all this, one other source which is surely worth taking up along with Schroeder and Peskin is a text by Michio Kaku, published by the Oxford University Press (1993) which contains short introductory chapters on several advanced topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book unless it's your first experience with QFT, 28 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory (Frontiers in Physics) (Hardcover)
This is a great reference, and I think it is a must for any student in the subject. It offers a unique perspective of the physics; however, some of the calculations are sloppy (typos, etc). There is also a relatively thorough appendix (lots of good stuff that is commonly refered to). I'd suggest this book to an intermediate level student, but I don't think that it is the best book to introduce a reader to the subject (try QFT by Brown).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory (Frontiers in Physics) (Hardcover)
Very pleased with this book the book is in excellent condition and i am finding it interesting and fascinating read thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book every Elementary Particle Scientist should have., 8 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory (Frontiers in Physics) (Hardcover)
From the Klein-Gordon equation, to the Unification Theories, trough renormalization and gauge symetry, Peskin's book covers deeply and formally each topic. Excellent writing style, almost every calculation is done. One thing I hate about this book is that it has phrases such 'it's straightforward that...' an then it writes a result that you need 4-5 pages of calculations where you need identities explained many chapters before. Nevertheless I recomend this book, it's the best one i've ever read on Quantum Field Theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars probably the best book for modern account, 15 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory (Frontiers in Physics) (Hardcover)
It is probably the best and most useful book for anyone working in Quantum Field Theory or any related subjects in High Energy Physics (including String Theory) and Condensed Matter Physics. It gives a self-contained account of almost every possible aspects that is possible in a single volume. Wilsonian approach for renormalisation is also covered which is not the case in most of the conventional text books in this area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory (Frontiers in Physics)
An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory (Frontiers in Physics) by Daniel V. Schroeder (Hardcover - 11 Sep 1995)
£45.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews