Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Austerity convincingly trashed, but diagnostic and remedy incomplete
Mark Blyth delivers a masterful, blistering, devastating, and totally convincing critique of austerity. It's impossible to read this book and still believe that austerity is the right policy. Blyth writes engaging, powerful economic history of economies applying austerity, including the US, UK, Sweden, Germany, Japan and France in the 1920s and 1930s, Denmark and Ireland...
Published 23 months ago by Geoff Crocker

versus
10 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Timely topic but too much jargon
This is a book by a British economist lecturing at a university in the US who opposes current Western government austerity policies root and branch. It is published in the US but actually contains more material of interest to the European than to the American reader. In particular, its damning verdict on the euro is worth studying, because it comes from an author who...
Published 23 months ago by Sanderling2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's convinced me, 29 Aug. 2013
By 
Pardo (Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Austerity: The History of a Dangerous Idea (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First off, I have to admit that I haven't studied economics since I was 15, back in 1981, so I'm not informed enough to know whether Blyth is right. Indeed I have a very good friend with a Masters from LSE who swears he's wrong - but Blyth's convinced me. The transfer of the nation's wealth from the poorest to the richest has been going on for thirty years. Now it is starting to affect middle earners as well. And yet somehow politicians from all parties seem to believe that the solution to the financial crisis of 2008 is to transfer even more money from the poor to the rich by bailing out banks and cutting government spending and services. No one denies that debt, public and private, needs to be paid down, but austerity is clearly not the way to do it. Blyth is an engaging writer and carries his argument well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Jan. 2015
By 
Mrs. S. Davies (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Austerity: The History of a Dangerous Idea (Hardcover)
ought to be much more widely known !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be compulsory reading, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mark Blyth sets out the history of austerity and its impact on millions of people in clear, readable language. Where technical terms have to be used they are fully explained. This should be compulsory reading for every citizen, civil servant and politician. Read this and see throught he lies and spin we are being feed daily by a compliant and complacent media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth, 12 Jun. 2013
By 
Nigel J. Tucker (Bristol, South Glos United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a tough read. I'm not an economist, but this book lays out how we were duped by the banks. Read it, and get angry. They lied to us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 675m Irish Bailout????, 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Austerity: The History of a Dangerous Idea (Hardcover)
Good book, but page 72 the author eludes to a 675bn Bailout for Ireland. It was in fact 67.5bn. Have not finished book yet so will update review soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 Mar. 2015
By 
Amazon Customer "parfen" (Benelux (temporary) - Eastern Europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Austerity: The History of a Dangerous Idea (Hardcover)
Clear and good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Analysis, 1 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Austerity: The History of a Dangerous Idea (Hardcover)
This book shows how our economic policy makers are getting so many things wrong - how is it we have completely forgotten the advice of our finest economic mind, Keynes?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 12 Aug. 2013
By 
Ms. C. R. Stillman-lowe "Cathy SL" (Reading Berks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Austerity: The History of a Dangerous Idea (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
MB is a Professor of International Political Economy at Brown University. He has written a very timely and lucid book on the choice facing politicians between cutting public spending and spending their way out of recession:the Keynesian approach.He provides a useful although familiar account of the financial crisis of 2008 and then a history of the austerity solution which is the basis of the IMF conditions to EU contries asking for a bailout,and of Osbourne's approach for the UK. He is firmly against austerity which he and other leading economists believe has made matters worse. Essential reading for all especially the Germans.
Rating 5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Austerity: The History of a Dangerous Idea
Austerity: The History of a Dangerous Idea by Mark Blyth (Hardcover - 23 May 2013)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews