Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£22.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2015
Excellent second or third book on QM, essentially QM "done right", meaning the subject - basic introductory QM - is presented with terse precision using the Hilbert space formalism. Not much waves or differential equations in this book, the author sticks to the concise elegance of bras and kets. I'm glad I bought it. But I'm also glad it wasn't my first book, the elegant proofs and theorems can't really be appreciated unless thicker, more verbose and noob-friendly texts that build more of a visual intuition have been studied first.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
High undergrad level textbook on quantum physics. Essential companion to his excellent QM course on iTunesU (or YouTube: [...]
There are easier QM books eg Griffiths but the use of Dirac matrices and no punches approach give an excellent grounding in a fascinating subject.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
Binney and Skinner is an excellent book, approaching the subject in a way quite different from the traditional approach. Why spend hours going through a not particularly enlightening series solution to partial differential equations when Binney can show you how to solve it in a few lines (I kid you not, it only takes two tiny pages with some commutators!)?

Binney's approach is reminiscent of how Feynmann always said Quantum Mechanics should be taught; learning Quantum for the first time using Dirac Notation is so much better than having to unlearn wavefunctions at a later date. Sure, it can seem a little confusing at first, but don't give up, stick with it, and you will learn more from this gem of a book about the foundations of the subject than just about anywhere else.

Note that this is NOT a first edition, prior to this publisher there were 3 editions over a number of years, so this is a polished book. You won't have to worry about the frequent mistakes that can be found in genuine first editions.

This book signals a new revolution in the teaching of Quantum Mechanics, I for one am honoured to have learned from it.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
This book complements the lectures by prof Binney on itunesU. It is full of observations on what is really happening in quantum mechanics. A must for anyone who has downloaded the lectures.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
Just like his lectures; or rather, his lectures are just like the book. There is a fault with the book, to minor to have me give it less than five stars: for nearly any derivation, he will refer to previous and following chapters, and then you follow the reference, and then again he refers to some other chapter. In the end, for whatever you want to learn, you've got to read the whole thing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
Excellent book, clear and rigorous. Works well in tandem with the online lectures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2015
I am still reading the book, but what i have read so far is interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2015
I wanted a fundamental text. The book did not lay proper emphasis on the elementary principles.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
Just a great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)