Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for situations and understanding the SJT but not for explanations
I got a copy of this book as soon as it was published and sat my SJT in December. I have broken my review down into a number of sections:

- Information about the SJT: Very good. This book is comprehensive in explaining how the SJT works, useful preparation tactics, other useful resources, the types of questions, different types of thinking etc etc Overall...
Published 11 months ago by FutureDoc

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Panic buying for SJT
So i sat the SJT in December. This book is useful in that it provides an overview of what the SJT consists of. Now the marking are allocated and the different types of principles the exam will test you on. The questions are similar to the ones in the SJT however the answers are quite controversial. Some answers aren't explained properly and as they wants to get a second...
Published 12 months ago by Nyan_Cat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for situations and understanding the SJT but not for explanations, 1 Jan 2014
This review is from: Oxford Assess and Progress: Situational Judgement Test (Paperback)
I got a copy of this book as soon as it was published and sat my SJT in December. I have broken my review down into a number of sections:

- Information about the SJT: Very good. This book is comprehensive in explaining how the SJT works, useful preparation tactics, other useful resources, the types of questions, different types of thinking etc etc Overall useful for getting an understanding of the exam

- Questions & Scenarios: There are a decent number of scenarios in this book (as the 250 alludes to). I found these were all fairly realistic and likely scenarios that could come up. The options for each answer were generally good and forced you to make a decision. There were some annoyances that some answers were unrealistic and stupid so you would be trying to rank which answer is more wrong which I didn't think was the spirit of the SJT. The overall scenarios were similar to the type of questions that came up but not as good as the official UKFPO sample exam

-Explanations - This is the only section which lets the book down. Many of the explanations given were confusing and often not on the same lines as the explanations given by the UKFPO on their sample paper. I would therefore be careful about learning what is written in the answers.

-Presentation & Size - This book is handy pocket sized and can be easily carried on the wards to fill a quiet moment in clinic or in between patients.

For me, having now completed the SJT (with the benefit of hindsight), the best way to prepare is to do sample questions. The answers and explanations don't actually matter. What matters is that you are forced to sit down and think about a scenario and how you would respond. Because of this, I think this book is actually quite good as it contains lots of scenariois which could feasibly come up in the actual SJT. By the end I wasn't even reading the explanations as it is just the authors opinion but I did find the process of going through each scenario useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but always take it with a pinch of salt, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Assess and Progress: Situational Judgement Test (Paperback)
It's difficult to find a good SJT book. This book is probably one of the best out there so far. BUT, I felt that some of the answers and explanations contradict themselves. I would recommend working through the official UKFPO mock paper. However, more practice is better than no practice at all. You'll see a pattern in the questions/scenarios once you've worked through 100-ish questions.
Conclusion: this book is worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Panic buying for SJT, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Assess and Progress: Situational Judgement Test (Paperback)
So i sat the SJT in December. This book is useful in that it provides an overview of what the SJT consists of. Now the marking are allocated and the different types of principles the exam will test you on. The questions are similar to the ones in the SJT however the answers are quite controversial. Some answers aren't explained properly and as they wants to get a second edition ASAP to get money before this years SJT there is a lot of typos and errors in the book.
However the book is very small and easy to carry around with on firms to do questions when your bored.

Personally I don't think this book is that useful, I prefer the "get ahead" book or the book with the cartoons on the front cover as the question length of those are similar to the official SJT questions and because they give better explanations to their answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful introduction and plenty of practice questions, 4 Dec 2014
This review is from: Oxford Assess and Progress: Situational Judgement Test (Paperback)
Pros: Gives a good foundation to start. Familiarises you easier with legal and ethical concepts necessary to get through the SJT. Purely reading the GMC guidelines is a bit dry. Good amount of questions to try and get through.

Cons: In the book a few questions and answers in the practice sections seem to contradict the ones in the practice exam section. Hence do not take this book's advice or answer rationale as the final say; only the SJT practice paper provided by the Foundation Programme and MSC should be the gold standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the lot, 26 Jan 2014
This review is from: Oxford Assess and Progress: Situational Judgement Test (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Small and convenient to carry and handle, this books provides a solid grounding in the SJT.
which is the entry test for the UK Foundation School programme. It is mapped to the Foundation curriculum, references GMC guidance, and has over 250 practice questions.
There are not a lot of books in this area and this seems to be a good starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best on the market, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Assess and Progress: Situational Judgement Test (Paperback)
I love the small convenient size!
having taken the test, with the SJT it seems to me to be a test of 'can you guess the reason for it being in the order we have put it' and reasoning changes question to question (even with some of the official FPAS questions). Human decision making is subjective and so getting a book to teach you to do that in exactly the way FPAS want you to is probably an unrealistic expectation. A handful of the questions in this book are dodgy for sure but I think it is one of the more consistent ones on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is a good book, quite extensive, 25 Aug 2014
By 
F. Ruiz García (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Assess and Progress: Situational Judgement Test (Paperback)
It is a good book, quite extensive. Not good for the EPSO preparation, although it is an interesting point of view for Situational Judgement Test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A necessary evil, 18 Feb 2014
This review is from: Oxford Assess and Progress: Situational Judgement Test (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
ThIs is in indispensable book. Whether or not you believe the test is a good selection tool for either foundation or training, you are going to have to doit. In fact the psychometrics are pretty good, which doesn't mean it measures whether you will be a good F1, but at least it consistently gives the same results however many times you might (theoretically) take it. The first if these I tried I got wrong, and struggled to work out what was correct about the "correct" answer. But my problems should'nt concern you, dear reader. The point is that it's THE hurdle for selection for these jobs, and you have to play the game. Despite what people may say about the "objectivity" of these and pretty much every other sort of exam, there is a significant practice effect, and whatever else this book does it gives youthe opportunity for practice. So curse it, but get it and use it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should not be taken as the gospel!, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Assess and Progress: Situational Judgement Test (Paperback)
I bought this book hoping to get some practice questions on the SJT to help gauge how I was doing. There are a decent bunch of questions in there, but some of the reasoning for the answers are very dubious.

An example of one was a situation which considered the appropriateness of mittens to restrain patients from pulling out essential tubes. Two patients had similar clinical situations (no capacity, at risk of pulling out essential tubes), but one had relatives who were 'fiercely' opposed to the use of mittens. For some reason, this made it more appropriate to use mittens that the other patient who didn't have concerned relatives?! And there was no reasoning for this answer! So if a few questions are clearly doubtful, how trustworthy is this book?? Be careful!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Assess and Progress: Situational Judgement Test (Paperback)
Better then the websites. A good explanation the answers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Assess and Progress: Situational Judgement Test
Oxford Assess and Progress: Situational Judgement Test by Harveer Dev (Paperback - 10 Oct 2013)
£17.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews