Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift for Christmas & other occasions
'Little' means less then 7 inches high and 3 inches wide for the double boxed set. What a lot of information is packed into these excellent small packages! I love them. I have been building a reference library recently as I am deep into researching family history and the context in which my ancestors lived their daily lives is proving fascinating. These two hard-backed...
Published 14 months ago by S2b an OAP

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice little set but spoiled by the slipcase
This is a pretty little set, but it's annoying that it says 'Gift Box' in big letters on the back of the slipcase. It would have been better for this to have been printed on the packaging, so that when it was removed the slipcase was just patterned. It makes the set look a bit cheap - and the recipient may not want it sitting there, constantly advertising the fact that it...
Published 13 months ago by M. Harrison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice little set but spoiled by the slipcase, 4 Nov 2013
By 
M. Harrison - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Oxford Gift Box: Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations; Little Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a pretty little set, but it's annoying that it says 'Gift Box' in big letters on the back of the slipcase. It would have been better for this to have been printed on the packaging, so that when it was removed the slipcase was just patterned. It makes the set look a bit cheap - and the recipient may not want it sitting there, constantly advertising the fact that it was a present.

Still, the OED is so far ahead of other dictionaries in terms of quality that for casual use (ie not for a job or a degree) I'd have this little pair over most of the competition. Pleasingly up-to-date, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift for Christmas & other occasions, 27 Oct 2013
By 
S2b an OAP "worzelrummage" (East Anglia, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Little Oxford Gift Box: Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations; Little Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
'Little' means less then 7 inches high and 3 inches wide for the double boxed set. What a lot of information is packed into these excellent small packages! I love them. I have been building a reference library recently as I am deep into researching family history and the context in which my ancestors lived their daily lives is proving fascinating. These two hard-backed gems have already proved invaluable as well as making me chuckle and say 'well I never knew that' along the way.

To aid the reader the Dictionary of Quotations is split under a number of headings for example 'Festivals' 'Fishing' 'Management' and so on. They range from the sublime to the hilarious (a matter of opinion, of course).

In the words of the great Scottish bard Billy Connolly (perhaps better described as Actor and Comedian)"I love fishing. It's like transcendental meditation with a punch-line."

The Dictionary of Proverbs is similarly arranged under headings which makes it even more accessible and one particular favourite is an African proverb "Equality is difficult, but superiority is painful."

A recommended investment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable., 6 Dec 2013
By 
Stuart Burns (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Oxford Gift Box: Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations; Little Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Looks like a gift boxed set, feels like a gift boxed set but just as academically interesting, carefully researched and clearly presented as Oxford's other texts, with voluminous indexes that means you can go straight to the relevant quote or proverb extremely quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully produced, plus a Bon Mot for every occasion, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Polly Potter (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Little Oxford Gift Box: Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations; Little Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
OK, you can find most of this stuff on the web, but the books are themselves a pleasure! These two little books are beautifully produced and come in a slip cover. The quotes are listed under a series of hundreds of headings ... everything you can ever imagine needing to say something about. The quotations range from antiquity to the modern day and are pithy, witty or wise, or sometimes all three! The proverbs are a fascinating wander through just about every topic area ... in short these are fascinating little collections and it's difficult to put them down once you have started to browse through them. A well edited, with helpful indexing, the production values are as lofty as you'd expect from the Oxford range. A pleasure to handle and a great gift for anyone who has an eye for literature and language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely books that would appeal to many readers and make a marvellous gift., 25 Nov 2013
By 
L. H. Healy "Books are life, beauty and truth." (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Oxford Gift Box: Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations; Little Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This little set is beautifully designed and would make a gorgeous gift for a lover of words and language to dip in and out of. The strong outer box case, attractively patterned in lilac/blue and white, holds the two volumes - the Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (fifth edition) and the Little Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs. The two books each have their own attractive dust jacket and page marker ribbon too.

The dictionary of quotations offers `4,000 of the most famous and most useful sayings in the English language', and the quotations are divided into subjects, and within those they are listed in alphabetical order by the author's name, alongside which a short identifying description of the author is given, such as `English poet' or `British politician.' Being a very keen reader, I found myself turning to the quotations about Books, amongst which I was particularly drawn to the words of Franz Kafka: `A book must be the axe for the frozen sea within us.'

The dictionary of proverbs contains 2,000 proverbs taken from many different cultures, and they are all arrange here by subject, with an alphabetical index of subjects listed at the start of the book. Again, I turned to Books, and two that appealed to me are `A book is like a garden carried in the pocket', and `A library is a repository of medicine for the mind.'

These are both lovely books that would appeal to many readers and make a marvellous gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars everything you need, 9 Nov 2013
This review is from: Little Oxford Gift Box: Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations; Little Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
From Shakespeare and Oscar Wilde to Fidel Castro and Dolly Parton, the Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations features 4,000 of the best quotations of past and present. Packed with quotable quotes on over 300 themes from 'Parties' to 'Punctuality', and from 'Apology' to 'Toasts', this is the ideal tool for finding exactly the right words to express yourself in any situation. Its perfect complement is the Little Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs, which includes fascinating information on 2,000 proverbs and sayings from around the world and across 250 subjects - from 'Cats' and 'Dogs' to 'Achievement' and 'Extravagance'. Here are classic quotations from writers like Robert Louis Stevenson ('Wine is bottled poetry'), sharp remarks of today 'Winning isn't everything. It's the money you make doing it that's everything.' (Lee Trevino), and proverbs old and new, from the traditional 'Let sleeping dogs lie' to the Chinese saying 'Once bitten by a snake, a man will be afraid of a piece of rope for three years'. Between them, these two charming little books will have the perfect words for whatever you want to say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A little beauty!, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. V. Bradley "bookaholic" (Kidderminster, Worcs., England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Oxford Gift Box: Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations; Little Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a superb little boxed set, and well worth the money. I have had a Little Oxford Dictionary for many years and refer to it time and time again. The two books in the set are a handy size and whilst full of extremely useful and interesting information won't take up much room on the bookshelf or even on the desk. I particularly like the way both books are set out under alphabetical themes - something which many larger tomes omit. Plus the fact that there are many contemporary quotations and proverbs. I own the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations but this is so large and cumbersome that I rarely take it off the shelf. The small size of the books in this set make it ideal for dipping into, and with the way the various parts are categorised makes it easy to find an appropriate quote or proverb for almost any occasion. The only minor quibble I have is that the price is actually printed on the base of the box rather than being on a easy peel label. A shame if this is being given as a gift. That apart this is for me an excellent collection and one I would recommend without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Proverbs and Quotations, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Little Oxford Gift Box: Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations; Little Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a nicely produced gift set of two books - Little Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs and the Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. The two books come in an attractive blue and white slip case and both books have integral ribbon bookmarks.

The Dictionary of Quotations contains a short forward, a list of subjects and an index of authors as well as the quotations themselves arranged under subject headings. The quotations are a good mixture of ancient and modern - ranging from the Bible to modern quotations about computers. This is a useful book for writers and for the general reader. It is one of those books which you pick up to check a quotation and find yourself still browsing half an hour later.

The Dictionary of Proverbs contains a short forward, a list of subjects and the proverbs themselves arranged under subject headings and a keyword index. Each entry includes an explanation of the proverb and where available the origins of the proverb. There are plenty of familiar proverbs and plenty of unfamiliar ones for those who love snapping up unconsidered trifles.

This is an ideal gift for the writer in your life or for anyone who is interested in language and literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small is beautiful, 31 Oct 2013
By 
B. Innes "Mtoto" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Little Oxford Gift Box: Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations; Little Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This dinky package carries a heavy punch.

My current dictionary of quotations seems curiously old fashioned and heavy duty.

This one is somehow much brighter, lighter and more fun. Well anything that references Castro and Shakespeare has a lot going for it.

The quotations are nicely themed and there is a proverb for every occasion.

The books come in a presentation box, it is worth pointing out that the packaging is a little girly.

Great as a reference point for yourself or as a useful Christmas gift to someone at, school, a student or starting out in their first flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Set, 14 Dec 2013
By 
Carl Spencer "Carl" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Oxford Gift Box: Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations; Little Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For those studying English, or who are just interested in English language and literature, this is a great little set from Oxford Dictionary. The set is presentable and just about pocket sized (if you have big pockets) without making the text impossible to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Oxford Gift Box: Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations; Little Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs
Used & New from: £21.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews