Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to use seriously; contains too many distractions
A collection of humorous quotations that has a strange effect: if anybody picks it up intending to find a particular quote by a particular someone, the chances are that half an hour later they will have forgotten the original intention and still be reading it, smiling and chuckling, and raising curious glances from uninformed onlookers.

Giles Brandreth...
Published 17 months ago by R. F. Stevens

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations
Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations disappointing - nothing more to add. bland and not particularly amusing - needs better research.
Published 12 months ago by Sara Jayne Stanes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent choice for a Christmas present, 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
I have dug into a few pages and am not disappointed. I hope someone buys me a copy or I shall have to order another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 16 Nov. 2013
By 
N. J. Cooper - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
be very useful for writing humerous pieces especially for my daughter no doubt she can use a lot of the quotes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book to loose your self in!, 3 Feb. 2014
By 
Stevetrumpet (Beds UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great book of humorous quotations listed by different categories. It is a good book for picking up and just dipping into to read a few quotes or a few pages. A source of quotations which can be added to presentations or included in written articles. The chances are that whatever it is you are looking for you will end up going off on a tangent and spending more time with this book than you planned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gules Brandreth, 7 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
A book you can pick up have a smile put it down again and then pick it up later and have another smile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good ole Gyles, 18 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
Ordered on someone else's behalf and the person was very pleased with it. I may get a copy for myself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
One of the very few books I have read that actually has made me laugh out loud! A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful Humorous Quotations, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
Whether for lectures or sermons or general speechmaking - good quotations are invaluable and this volume is crammed with a mass of useful quotations on pretty well every subject - a gold mine!.

Brian Anderson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Dictionary of humorous quotations, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
Great book, laid out with many headings.A 10 min. browse whilst you are waiting for her to finish her face. Excellent when looking for a really apposite quotation to slip into a talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laughter does make the world go round., 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
I couldn't have used my Amazon Gift token in a more useful way. I know that Christmas is a time for enjoyment, and this book is full of sayings that would make anyone smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quotations, 24 Jan. 2014
By 
Dido Wilson (Staines, Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present for a friend. I had a look through it first and liked it very much, and the recipient is delighted with it. I thought it made a good loo book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations
Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations by Gyles Brandreth (Hardcover - 17 Oct. 2013)
£16.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews