Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to use seriously; contains too many distractions
A collection of humorous quotations that has a strange effect: if anybody picks it up intending to find a particular quote by a particular someone, the chances are that half an hour later they will have forgotten the original intention and still be reading it, smiling and chuckling, and raising curious glances from uninformed onlookers.

Giles Brandreth...
Published 6 months ago by R. F. Stevens

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations
Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations disappointing - nothing more to add. bland and not particularly amusing - needs better research.
Published 1 month ago by Sara Jayne Stanes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to use seriously; contains too many distractions, 29 Dec 2013
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A collection of humorous quotations that has a strange effect: if anybody picks it up intending to find a particular quote by a particular someone, the chances are that half an hour later they will have forgotten the original intention and still be reading it, smiling and chuckling, and raising curious glances from uninformed onlookers.

Giles Brandreth introduces us to the dictionary and the underlying rules for how the contents were selected, and also explains how his lifetime passion with collecting the 'strange and entertaining things people have said' qualified him to be chosen to edit this fifth edition.

There is a lot in here, and like all good things it is best taken in small doses, maybe ten minutes at a time for the best effect. This might be difficult, but some stern self-discipline in exercising abstinence will prove beneficial in ensuring it remains fresher for longer.

In addition to the 338 pages of quotations there is a `How to Use the Dictionary', a `List of Themes', a 33 page `Author Index', and a 91 page `Keyword Index'.

I found that at least ten percent of the quotes made me laugh, and the majority raised a smile. Quite a few of the remainder were simply no longer funny because the context of modern life had passed them by, but I think that their inclusion was still useful as an illustration of past times and mores.

Some random samples.

"The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it."
- Terry Pratchett

"My misdeeds are accidental happenings and merely the result of having been in the wrong bar or bed at the wrong time, say most days between midday and midnight."
- Jeffery Bernard

"From birth to 18 a girl needs good parents. From 18 to 35, she needs good looks. From 35 to 55, good personality. From 55 on, she needs good cash."
- Sophie Tucker.

"Beneath this slab
John Brown is stowed.
He watched the ads
And not the road."
- Ogden Nash
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars oxford dictionary of humorous quotations, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
Still reading this book which I am enjoying page by page. It is something one cannot read in one go but which one will return to on a regular basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
My boyfriend was so very happy when he got this dictionary from me - he started to read some quotations and it is really good. Also I take this book from time to time when I have more time to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
One of the very few books I have read that actually has made me laugh out loud! A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quote for all seasons, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Perfectbub "Fiona" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I like a good quote, nothing like it to win an argument or to appear smart when you have no idea what people are going on about.

This rather witty book is a gem, the quotes are thoughtful, funny and sometimes poignant.

It has to be said that the book is rather a weighty tome, but the editor Giles Brandreth has kindly provided sections to break up the quotes. Making them easier to find.

Want to appear smarter than you are? Devastate an opponent in an argument? Grab the book and astound your friends and foes alike.

Quotes ahoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations, 26 Dec 2013
By 
G. Archer (Bangor, NI) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
While paper books appear to becoming obsolete with ebooks etc I still like to keep an "old fashioned library" of reference books in my bookcase. The latest addition is Gyles Brandreth's Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations. This is, quite simply, the ultimate collection of wisecracks,quotations and one-liners to fit any subject you care to mention. Presented alphabetically from "Academic Life" through to "Youth" each offering is meticulously indexed and referenced. Perfect for dipping in and out of, the contents are both clever and very, very funny - a quotation for every occasion. Gyles Brandreth has produced a superb fifth edition of this title which I wholeheartedly recommend - not only is it a delight to read, it is also a beautiful book worthy of 5*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent choice for a Christmas present, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
I have dug into a few pages and am not disappointed. I hope someone buys me a copy or I shall have to order another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gules Brandreth, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
A book you can pick up have a smile put it down again and then pick it up later and have another smile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Gift, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
we have found this to be an excellent choice, full of interesting quotes and very useful/entertaining for those not brought up in the UK too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read!, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations (Hardcover)
Gosh arrived 2 days later! Ideal as was a pressie for my lovely hubby.
One of those books you'll read a few a day, then keep going back to. Lots of new quotes I've never heard before. Overall would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations
Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations by Gyles Brandreth (Hardcover - 17 Oct 2013)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews