Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars92
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 September 2014
This is a slim volume but it says with clarity nearly all you need to know.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
Good used in conjunction with other language ref materials (such as online grammars/ learning and teaching resources/ the Oxford Concise Dictionary). It wouldn't use it as a stand alone definitive grammar, it's more for use as a quick alphabetically arranged grammar-check.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
An absolute lifesaver! As a trainee teacher, I used to really struggle to tell my subordinate clauses from my contractions but no more! Very handy if a child has a question - you can model using a dictionary/alphabetised text to look up an answer!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I was disappointed to find this book is only A6 size, which means the font is tiny. There was nothing in the product description or scale in the photo to indicate the book was 'pocket-size.'

The contents are excellent, though, you do need to have a reasonable understanding of grammar to know what you are looking for and get the most out of the book. I like how shading has been used to highlight tables, lists and diagrams. The use of word hierarchy helps with the explanation and understanding of the topic.

The book will be a helpful accompaniment to the textbooks I am using to improve my grammar. It is more of a reference manual than a book to learn about grammar and punctuation, though.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
I really like this book. As English is not my first language, I found both the grammar and punctuation very useful. I had received lot of books delivered by this company and my experience with them has always be wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
Crisp, concise yet comprehensive coverage of all key grammatical concepts. A handy pocket-size for good measure. No hesitation in recommending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
If you need to work on your grammar and punctuation then it is the book for you, clear and concise and highly readable, would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
Writing well is a skill that takes time to acquire. This and any other Oxford publication is a good purchase toward self-improvement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
good little product although, as a budding copywriter, i would like to see more examples. still, for £3.99, is definitely worth it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Concise, pocketable style guide. Not everything is there, but a lot is. Good for checking style issues on-the-fly. Good to have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)