Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read
As I'm interested in decision making I was intrigued by the opportunity to learn more about the neuroscience underpinning this important part of the brain's cognitive functioning. Whilst the use of drugs to enhance decision making has never formed part of my interest in the subject I certainly found this aspect of the book to be wholly fascinating. Should we be concerned...
Published 13 months ago by D. P. Mankin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very limited coverage of smart drugs, limited coverage of ethics, and generally tries to cover too much in too little space
The problem that I've got with this book is really that it's too short to cover the range of subjects it aims to cover. It discusses bad decision-making in moderate detail, including looking at a number of studies on where this goes wrong and its impact, but my impression is that 'Thinking Fast and Slow' covered this side better. The comprises the bulk of the book...
Published 5 months ago by David Burton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking..., 16 May 2014
By 
John "John75222" (Leeds, Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bad Moves: How decision making goes wrong, and the ethics of smart drugs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are a number of books out there that look at the efficacy of drugs to treat psychiatric disorders. This book initially looks at the difference between normal and abnormal decision making and the neuroscience that defines the two. The truth is that we have a psychiatric establishment and powerful pharmaceutical lobby whose vested interest is to constantly redefine normal and bring out drugs that allegedly target chemical imbalances to ensure that "normal" is achieved using their product. As other reviewers have said there are assumptions within the book that all consciousness is just chemical in nature and as a result, the implication is that decision making is also wholly affected by the brain's chemistry at any one given moment in time. There are other questions that need to be asked: What do we mean by bad decisions? Why are those decisions bad? What makes a decision good? Whose perception is it that a decision is good or bad? What is the difference between concious and unconcious decision making? Whether this research can be used to effectively target specific neurochemistry to alter cognitive functioning with only positive benefit is a question I thought wasn't fully answered. It is an interesting, thoughtful and accessible work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bad Moves, 30 April 2014
By 
Clem Fandango (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bad Moves: How decision making goes wrong, and the ethics of smart drugs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Author's, Barbara J Sahakian, a researcher in the fields of neurology and psychiatry and Jamie Nicole LaBuzetta,currently in residency training at the Harvard-affiliated hospitals in Boston, USA, have produced a fascinating study of the effects of taking narcotics on decision making and offer empirical neuroscience data to highlight their findings. Written in a straightforward and accessible style, Bad Moves will be of interest to both professionals within the field and those who are just interested in the area of research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bad Moves, 15 April 2014
By 
-EFox- (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bad Moves: How decision making goes wrong, and the ethics of smart drugs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Some interesting points made, though it feels heavily biased, as though an opinion is being forced upon me in regards to the information about prescription drugs and their manufacture. I felt when reading it that it wasn't an opportunity for me to make my own conclusions.

For this reason, I found it hard to deal with as it makes the reader naturally objective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Involving Account of Mental Health Issues, 17 Oct 2013
By 
G. J. Oxley "Gaz" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bad Moves: How decision making goes wrong, and the ethics of smart drugs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Most people will have noticed that when they're on a high, ideas come faster as mental alertness is enhanced. When an individual is suffering from anxiety or is in a manic state, then 'pressure of thought' comes into play, and creates competing thoughts in an individual's head leading to aloss of clarity.

This important and extremely interesting book describes how a 'normal' individual or mind state functions and how decisions are reached and implemented, then takes a look at how thought processes can become fragmented, disjointed or sluggish when individuals suffers from one of a wide range of mental health issues.

The impact of modern 'smart' drugs on these conditions are examined and explained, leading the way for hopefully even more focussed and efficatious, even 'smarter' drugs in the future.

Strongly recommended not only to the layman, but also to anyone involved in the mental health industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bad moves: Excellent book, 30 Aug 2013
By 
Albert Michael (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Moves: How decision making goes wrong, and the ethics of smart drugs (Hardcover)
Bad Moves: How decision making goes wrong, and the ethics of smart drugs

I found it very reader friendly. Topics are built up seamlessly from day-to-day issues to complex problems and every single technical term is very clearly explained.

The examples given are very natural and human, like those used by popular novelists rather than by scientists.

I found the statement `The Internet essentially acts as an external hard drive for the brain' most amusing.

At the same time, even though neuroscientists and medics are supposed to know the issues discussed in the book, in fact they don't and the contents of this book fall into their 'unknown unknowns'."

This is an excellent read for the intelligent public as well as the busy clinicians and neuro-scientists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Limitless?, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Don Panik (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bad Moves: How decision making goes wrong, and the ethics of smart drugs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
More by accident than design I have read a couple of neuroscience books recently (having not read any for many years previously), and I find that I am becoming more and more convinced that is a very important area of development for society. This book very much reinforces that idea - being written by neuro-scientists, but primarily concerned to promote debate on the wider ethical, moral and social issues that occur as the science to maintain, restore and very possibly enhance brain function is with us. Starting with a broad scan of decision making theory, the book comes into its own as a lay guide to current science. Very interesting read, and well written and edited too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm not really comfortable with this section given that I work in this ..., 22 Oct 2014
By 
Lilly Penhaligon (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bad Moves: How decision making goes wrong, and the ethics of smart drugs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is ok for the interested person with no specialist background or qualification in this area but I think some health professionals and academics might take issue with some of the points in this book. The first half is really a 'York Notes' précis of the neuroscience behind decision-making processes which is followed by examples of conditions which lead to 'bad' decision-making. I'm not really comfortable with this section given that I work in this field and disagree that people with dementia have bad decision-making skills rather they have impaired function as a result of neurodegeneration. In addition, the inclusion of phobias in this section is something I disagree with as i believe this area to belong to conditioning rather than impaired or bad thinking. The second half of the book focuses on the use of so called smart drugs but I didn't see much in this section on ethics in the way that I would have expected. If you've got a general interest in this area and want something reasonably easy to digest and short (130 pages) then this might an option for you but in my opinion if you're an academic or health professional you might want to refer to the research literature and established texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 21 Nov 2013
By 
S. Hammond "Steve" (Frinton-On-Sea, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Moves: How decision making goes wrong, and the ethics of smart drugs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
So far, I am finding this book very interesting, I have been making daft rash decisions recently, and I am ploughing my way through this book to see if my medication is to answer for it. No conclusions drawn as yet, but this book is written well.

recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up to date and concise summary, 13 July 2013
By 
Ms. C. R. Stillman-lowe "Cathy SL" (Reading Berks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Moves: How decision making goes wrong, and the ethics of smart drugs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The two authors are neurologists and the book is an up to date and concise summary on the reurological basis of decision making, mainly of bad decisions, but in the case of smart drugs, good or enhansed ones. The opening chapter also looks briefly at cognitive biases which are not neurologicaly based such as loss aversion. Various drugs are considered as well as the effect of emotion.
Rating 4 ex 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for the medical professional or with an interest, 6 Aug 2014
By 
G. Cook "jillcook27a" (Essex england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Moves: How decision making goes wrong, and the ethics of smart drugs (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Great book for any medical person or even an interested one. Well written and full of useful information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Moves: How decision making goes wrong, and the ethics of smart drugs
Bad Moves: How decision making goes wrong, and the ethics of smart drugs by Jamie Nicole LaBuzetta (Hardcover - 25 April 2013)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews