Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable David Crystal book.
I love David Crystal's enthusiasm & expertise & this book gave me access to both. I really enjoyed the idea of husband & wife touring Britain, searching for places of English Language significance & their mutual love of the subject shines through. Hilary Crystal's pictures add an extra dimension to the book & there are some great photographs of some pretty nerdy places...
Published 9 months ago by Mrs. Margaret R. Mumford

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Curate's Egg
I was a bit disappointed with this; I'd read other works by David Crystal and found them fascinating, and as I worked through this volume I kept feeling that with his background and erudition, he could have achieved so much more with it. I would be happy to think of myself as an "English Lanuage Tourist", but an armchair tourist. I didn't really value descriptions...
Published 5 months ago by Don Davis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A good dipper, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is more of a guide book than anything else.It isn't a book you read from cover to cover. You need to dip into it for some interesting places to visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars be informed, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wordsmiths and Warriors: The English-Language Tourist's Guide to Britain (Hardcover)
Instead of just visiting a place of historic interest have an immediate goal. The linguistic connections are fascinating. Take the book with you on hols!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and informative, 23 Nov 2013
By 
M. V. Clarke (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wordsmiths and Warriors: The English-Language Tourist's Guide to Britain (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very interesting book for anyone with an interest in the history and development of the English language. David and Hilary Crystal travel around Britain visiting locations that have some significance in the development of the language. It's an easy-to-read mix of travel writing, linguistic and phonetic history and observations on current usage. They also include photographs of the places they visit and instructions on how to find them. This is a quirky and enjoyable book that can either be read straight through or dipped in and out of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Linguistic jaunts around the country, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Book fiend "Enthusiast" (Petersfield, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wordsmiths and Warriors: The English-Language Tourist's Guide to Britain (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is absolutely the most perfect Christmas present for all those relatives - and friends - who always pounce on an unusual place name, or word, and want to find out its roots and what the name means. We've all got uncles who will tell you that Tonbridge means "town" bridge but this book takes you much, much further and delves into the history of our language by travelling around the country and pinning a bit of linguistic history to individual places. The authors have placed this in chronological order, beginning with the very earliest runes near the coast of Suffolk and finishing in the Phonetics department in University College, London by way of shorthand, speechcraft, dialects,dictionaries,the Bible and grammar. Each chapter is linked to a particular place and/or person and a lot of churches are visited and described as well as other buildings and institutions and their occupants. Each chapter is concise and entertaining and provides a perfect hook to hang a visit on - I doubt that anyone would attempt to follow the authors' every footstep but if you are going somewhere within reach of any one of these places this book will enhance your visit without a doubt. Definitely different and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sounded good - was better, 14 Nov 2013
By 
P. M. Fernandez "exilefromgroggs" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wordsmiths and Warriors: The English-Language Tourist's Guide to Britain (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Well, I love language books. While I'm here, can I recommend ... no, I can't, sorry. And I rate David Crystal very highly. Maybe it's a misapprehension, but I got the impression over the course of studying English language that he's one of the key communicators in this area. The Stories of English is an outstanding book on the development of the English language, as long as you can deal with the tiny writing. The Story of English in 100 Words covered similar ground in a format recognisable to the Radio 4 audience who made the "100 Objects" series into a classic. So that was enough to get me interested.

What David and Hilary have done in this book is explore some of the same ground in a different way. They have travelled the country, exploring the locations that were associated for many reasons with the development of the language - thus tying together English, history and geography. I'm engaged by any interdisciplinary approaches to things, so another catch for me. And, rather than this being an isolated and abstract book, readers are given directions to the places. You can find out about Isaac Pitman's Bath - the Peterborough of the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle, Shakespeare's London ....

The historical notes are accompanied by travelogue type entries and photographs, and the writing is fluid and easygoing. This is an outstanding book - an ideal present for anybody who is interested in exploring and in the English language, very easy to dip into, but also very informative to read as a whole. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What a great language!, 7 Nov 2013
By 
C. J. Tyler "cjtbrocco" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wordsmiths and Warriors: The English-Language Tourist's Guide to Britain (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A beautifully presented book which would make a marvellous present for a foreign visitor. I found much to enjoy in here - a good balance of information and entertainment. David Crystal's quirky sense of humour works well here.

My only criticism is that many of the photos are very dark. Perhaps that just my copy. Nevertheless I will enjoy many happy hours enjoying the great English language and the places that have made it what it is. Fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOve language: love this book, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wordsmiths and Warriors: The English-Language Tourist's Guide to Britain (Hardcover)
This is a very interesting read. Divided into chapters, that are actually about places, the history of the English language is revealed. It is a good read: not at all boring and, for anyone who loves language and history, would make a really good Christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Making places speak, 26 Oct 2013
By 
Hilary French - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I hadn't come across David Crystal before. My loss! He is very readable - this book is full of fascinating fact presented in an immediately interesting and enjoyable manner. The photos are just right. They illustrate the text beautifully, and encourage you to dip in further. They are also engaging in showing the places and objects as they would be most times you visit. You are lucky if you get a bright sunny day! They do give a great feeling of the place.

You can read it cover to cover to trace the development of the language, or you can dip into it as you wish. But be warned, each time, you will find your visit took much longer than you intended, as you allow yourself to be beguiled into turning over one more page and reading on... The ribbon is a lovely touch for when you get called away. Also very useful are two indexes, one General and one for Places. I have a feeling the Sources and Acknowledgements will be very handy too.

Whether you are interested in history or language or places, this book will be a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Pen is Mightier, 27 Nov 2013
By 
L. A. Hardy (Newcastle Upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wordsmiths and Warriors: The English-Language Tourist's Guide to Britain (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The development of language is a fascinating thing, and the English language has a rich and varied cultural history, thanks largely to the numerous invasions these islands have seen. I also like to be able to visit interesting and obscure places, so "Wordsmiths and Warriors" seemed like an ideal book, both from a theoretical and practical point of view.

Written by David Crystal, with photographs by his wife Hilary, the book takes us on a tour of the English language, including trips to Scotland and Wales. Many of the early chapters are incredibly brief because time has not always been kind to the fathers of our mother tongue, and I often found myself thinking "But I want to know more about that, please". Given the scale of the task Crystal has set himself, brevity is understandable for other reasons, too, making the book as much a springboard for further reading as a definitive guide.

It was also good to see two entries for my home region, Northumbria, and recognition for Bede, Durham and Lindisfarne, particularly in the year that the Lindisfarne Gospels were briefly allowed back home. A word of caution here, though - the directions to St. Paul's at Jarrow are utterly wrong, and would have been so even at the time this book was purportedly written (2012), so it might be wise to treat any other "How to Get There" instructions with great caution.

This is a fascinating journey through our language and the way it has changed over the centuries, underlining that speech and spelling are almost living things in the way that they adapt to the users' needs. And although several very famous locations are included, there are plenty of odd and unusual destinations to tempt the jaded traveller off the beaten track and back into our grammatical history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 17 Nov 2013
By 
Terry Joyes (Gillingham, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wordsmiths and Warriors: The English-Language Tourist's Guide to Britain (Hardcover)
I repeat my pleasure in all that David Crystal writes. A cummunicator par excellence. The very sight of his name as 'asuthur' excites my wish to purchase and devour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wordsmiths and Warriors: The English-Language Tourist's Guide to Britain
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews