Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent mid-range dictionary
Filling the gap between the easily portable but restricted content pocket dictionary and comprehensive hardbacks strictly confined to shelves, this balances a modicum of portability (in a backpack or large handbag/shoulder bag) with a decent amount of content.

I have a minor complaint about the text being a little on the small side compared to what you see in...
Published 20 months ago by E. L. Wisty

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thin end of the wedge
This proved very popular at post-beginner to early intermediate Spanish classes. Both students and tutor tried out a few of the more obscure Spanish and English words and the Dictionary coped admirably. It is aimed at the Spanish/American English market as much as the Spanish/English market.

The book is described as 'Compact' but this can be misleading. I would...
Published 22 months ago by Officer Dibble


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent mid-range dictionary, 26 Sept. 2013
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Filling the gap between the easily portable but restricted content pocket dictionary and comprehensive hardbacks strictly confined to shelves, this balances a modicum of portability (in a backpack or large handbag/shoulder bag) with a decent amount of content.

I have a minor complaint about the text being a little on the small side compared to what you see in the larger hardback dictionaries (or in the Collins brand at least which I have always used for language dictionaries), which makes it difficult to read sometimes without my reading glasses, but this is a bit of a sacrifice for compactness. Also it does not lie open flat, so if you are primarily want a dictionary at home for finding lots of words in one go, it might be worth you considering splashing out full whack for the bigger hardback if you have the shelf space.

Extras include pronunciation and grammar sections, cultural information (which seems a bit randomly selected and not sure it really belongs in a dictionary - and can I be a bit pedantic and point out that 'Flower of Scotland' is not the national anthem of that country, and why is there a very large paragraph on Sinn Féin but none on Ulster Unionists for political balance?) and letter writing which also includes email and texts. There is also one year's free access to the online version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable Tool for Linguists, 15 July 2013
By 
Lovely Treez (Belfast, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a former teacher of modern languages, I have mixed feelings about dictionary use/misuse. In the right hands, they can be invaluable tools which help progress enthusiastic learners. On the other hand, if one is not at an adequate level of grammatical knowledge or familiar with dictionary layout and/or abbreviations, they can be a potential minefield with many students falling into the hands of the usual enemies such as false friends, multiple meanings or archaic vocabulary.

This "compact" dictionary from Oxford is probably best suited for those at the higher end of GCSE upwards and would also suit those following more advanced courses. It's a reasonably priced volume with the added benefit of free internet access to the OUP dictionary site for one year - this will save you carrying the sizeable volume around with you. In the printed text there are the usual sections on basic grammar including comprehensive verb tables which are invaluable for exam revision/reinforcement. The sections on Spanish and British/American Culture are very informative and up-to-date as are the examples of e-mail communications/booking forms/letters and SMS text message vocabulary.

Overall, a handy reference tool for the more advanced/enthusiastic learner and, even better, at a very affordable price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, if non-compact, 10 Sept. 2013
By 
Laura T (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I recently completed a course equivalent to A Level Spanish and have also travelled in Ecuador, Peru and Bolivia. For both these activities I found that my old Penguin pocket Spanish dictionary was not adequate - it often did not contain the words I needed and was particularly hopeless when I needed vocabulary for Latin American rather than Castilian Spanish. This dictionary is the antidote. I'm sure I will find it extremely helpful, both for future language learning and for travelling. It is not a compact dictionary, despite the description, and would be hefty to carry around, but for me, its comprehensive coverage is more important - it's no good having a pocket dictionary if it doesn't contain what you're looking for. I was also impressed with the fact that online access to a full dictionary was included with this purchase - something I would have found invaluable when studying for my A Level equivalent. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Compact Dictionary, not a mini or pocket Dictionary, 25 Aug. 2013
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a good dictionary for English to Spanish and Spanish to English. However, as other as others commented this is a `compact' dictionary and not a mini or pocket version. The book is rather `hefty' and something you would want nearby and at hand, rather than portable and carry about. The dictionary layout is good and intuitive and navigating should be relatively easy. There are additional useful tools contained within such as grammar, pronunciation and culture, these are just a couple of examples.
With the proliferation of iPhones, windows, android and smart devices people will probably say well a dictionary App will be all we need; I would disagree as search can be complex, at times, and need further investigation. Therefore, the tactile nature of dictionary is the better choice.
For me this dictionary is very good for study and beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid study dictionary, 19 July 2013
By 
Peter Piper (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I obtained this dictionary for studying Spanish to GCSE level and beyond. The book is clearly printed and is extremely easy to use, with a wealth of detail.

Each translation gives direct translations and additionally the use of words in related terms and phrases. Where words have different meanings, they are clearly numbered, which appears to me to be a very useful feature and helps reduce confusion about context.

In addition to the usual dictionary pages there are sections on:

- Structure and pronunciation
- Summary of Spanish Grammar
- Glossary of grammatical terms
- Spanish verb tables
- Spanish grammar
- Numbers

- Traditions, Festivals and Holidays in the Hispanic world
- A-Z of Hispanic life and culture (illustrated)

- Communications
- Letter writing
- Resume/CV
- Email
- Online booking
- SMS (translations of texting abbreviations)
- Glossary of internet terminology

The verb tables are especially good, giving full conjugations for regular and irregular verbs.

The purchase price also includes 12 months' access to Oxford Language Dictionaries Online.

The only possible downside of this edition is that, although it is the 'compact' version, it should not be confused with a being a pocket version, its dimensions are 7.5" x 5" and it is 2" (5 cm) thick, weighing 2lbs (almost a kilo). The pages are thin but strong to incorporate the impressive word count of over 90,000 words and phrases. Being paperback, it is suitable for home or office use; carrying it in a back-pack or bag would soon ruin it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compact means comprehensive, 27 Aug. 2013
By 
Angela - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a step above a pocket dictionary and is quite a hefty tome, best suited in my opinion, as a teacher of languages, to a learner at intermediate level of learning Spanish, either an adult who has been learning for a year or two or a sixth form student or more able GCSE student. There is a lot of handy information in this dictionary which a beginner may find confusing.

The type in this dictionary is clear, and the paper used is of good quality. There is no use of colour but the starting letter is printed down the side of each page making it a quick matter to navigate around the Spanish and English sections. I particularly like the cultural information in the middle of the dictionary which are a fascinating read - the Spanish part includes references to Latin America as does the main body of the dictionary itself. The verb tables and grammar section are also comprehensive, although I would have liked to see the English translation next to each verb and the type is a little small.

I've found this dictionary ideal for translation work and essay writing, it's too big to take out and about particularly but ideal for my needs and I would recommend it to anyone serious about learning Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelencia, 14 Sept. 2013
By 
A Smile and a Wave (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Compact Oxford Spanish dictionary covers Spanish/English and English/Spanish with well laid out pages which are easy to read. I was very impressed that my 2013 edition has additional information such as tips on pronunciation, abbreviations, grammar etc but when I saw that it also has guides on letter writing, compiling a CV, Spanish culture, emails, filling in online forms, and even a glossary of Spanish SMS abbreviations I was bowled over. As if that's not enough there's also 12 months' access to Oxford Language Dictionaries Online at oxfordlanguagedictionaries.com

Despite proclaiming itself `compact' this dictionary is still going to feel pretty hefty if you're thinking of carrying it around with you. It's around the size of a normal paperback book but roughly three times as thick and heavy. I think the size makes it best suited for reference use, or study at home rather than taking on travels abroad. However it is still very good and easy to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thin end of the wedge, 28 July 2013
By 
Officer Dibble (Zummerzet) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This proved very popular at post-beginner to early intermediate Spanish classes. Both students and tutor tried out a few of the more obscure Spanish and English words and the Dictionary coped admirably. It is aimed at the Spanish/American English market as much as the Spanish/English market.

The book is described as 'Compact' but this can be misleading. I would not want to be lugging this around on my holidays. It is more for proper reference and study use and recommended as such. There is a quasi-travel guide "Culture" section; it is interesting but modest in scope. The 'Culture' includes Gettysburg Address next to Geordie and Oxbridge next to the Oscars.

The only irritant is the discovery that, inter alia, 'color' and labor' are now deemed normal usage and that 'colour' and 'labour' are now designated as a curious thing called 'British English'. Surely this should be reversed and 'color' should be designated as 'American English'? It is disappointing that a UK institution such as the Oxford Dictionaries should sanction this approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact but comprehensive, 25 Sept. 2013
By 
ziggy_fan (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It might be described as compact, but not to be mistaken with a pocket dictionary, this book is comprehensive and more than you need for fluent speaking vocabulary. I really like it and it's very competitively priced, The access to online dictionaries online is also a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great dictionary, 30 July 2013
This review is from: Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I ordered this Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary, thinking that it would be a nice change to have a smaller one instead of the heavy, hard-back Collins Spanish dictionary which I usually use. This dictionary is still fairly large; I was expecting it to be smaller. If you are looking for the really compact one, I suggest looking for a pocket dictionary. You wouldn't really want to carry this around with you.

It is a very useful dictionary and even relatively obscure words are included. I like the added section on culture and traditions in Spain. It is a helpful way to learn keywords. I would recommend this for anyone who is learning Spanish, whether you are a beginner or an experienced speaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary
Compact Oxford Spanish Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries (Paperback - 9 May 2013)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews