Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Hart's Rules + Oxford Dictionary for Writers and Editors
New Hart's Rules + Oxford Dictionary for Writers and Editors = New Oxford Style Manual!

This is a great reference book which is recommended to students and writers. In addition, a chapter discusses Science, Mathematics and Computing.

I bought this so I could polish my writing skills and to use as my children's reference.

This is not...
Published 14 months ago by Jacqueline Caparas

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars nothing new
two old books put together.
very ugly type and fonts.
i was extremely
disappointed.
poor paper quality.
do not buy it
Published 2 months ago by kostas tegopoulos


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Hart's Rules + Oxford Dictionary for Writers and Editors, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Oxford Style Manual (Reference) (Hardcover)
New Hart's Rules + Oxford Dictionary for Writers and Editors = New Oxford Style Manual!

This is a great reference book which is recommended to students and writers. In addition, a chapter discusses Science, Mathematics and Computing.

I bought this so I could polish my writing skills and to use as my children's reference.

This is not recommended if you are looking for a comprehensive dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference guide, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Oxford Style Manual (Reference) (Hardcover)
I'm completing a Masters degree in Translation and one of my tutors recommended this book. It is brilliant. Very clear and informative reference book. I would thoroughly recommend it for academic purposes and for professional writing and translation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Oxford Style Manual (Reference) (Hardcover)
The British equivalent of the Chicago Manual of Style.
If you need to know how to use a colon, or how to format bibliographic references, then this book is for you. formally known as Hart's Rules, this volume also contains a surprisingly comprehensive dictionary of commonly misused or misspelt words.

Indispensable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Oxford Style Manual (Reference) (Hardcover)
At last I understand the Oxford comma. I have been writing for many years and been published in a variety of professional journals, having a copy of this years ago would have been useful to say the least. If you write buy it, if you are thinking about writing especially for journals then buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars nothing new, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Oxford Style Manual (Reference) (Hardcover)
two old books put together.
very ugly type and fonts.
i was extremely
disappointed.
poor paper quality.
do not buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Oxford Style Manual (Reference)
New Oxford Style Manual (Reference) by Oxford University Press (Hardcover - 16 Aug 2012)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews