Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable tool for all poets and song-writers
Why would you want a rhyming dictionary? After all, much of today's poetry is free-form or blank verse where rhymes have been discarded in favour of the enigmatic, meaningful lines that stop you in your tracks. Rhymed poetry seems to draw you on relentlessly from one line to the next - great for narrative verse but not necessarily for the reflective, soul-baring poetry...
Published on 25 Sep 2012 by A Common Reader

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather baffled, to be honest
The New Oxford Rhyming Dictionary is nowhere near as comprehensive as I expected, and the index reads like a list of words that are unusual in English. The last five entries under 'L', for instance, are 'Lysander, Lysenko, Lysippus, Lysol, Lytton', and then 'M' begins with 'Malaga, mesalliance, ma'am, ma, Maas'. I could go on, and this is just a random selection. Such...
Published 21 days ago by claire


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable tool for all poets and song-writers, 25 Sep 2012
By 
A Common Reader "Committed to reading" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: New Oxford Rhyming Dictionary (Hardcover)
Why would you want a rhyming dictionary? After all, much of today's poetry is free-form or blank verse where rhymes have been discarded in favour of the enigmatic, meaningful lines that stop you in your tracks. Rhymed poetry seems to draw you on relentlessly from one line to the next - great for narrative verse but not necessarily for the reflective, soul-baring poetry of today. After all, an attempt to rhyme leads you away from the stream of thoughts into a more technical quest linked to your command of vocabulary. Trying to find a rhyme can even seem to be a distraction, an straight-jacket confining your thoughts as though in tram-tracks, something which militates against pure art.

But even the most radical poets may wish to prove their ability at more traditional forms of verse. It doesn't take much exposure to poets like William Wordsworth to discover that rhymed verse can be as moving and emotional as any freer form

"And trust that spiritual Creatures round us move,
Griefs to allay which Reason cannot heal;
Yea, veriest reptiles have sufficed to prove
To fettered wretchedness, that no Bastille
Is deep enough to exclude the light of love,
Though man for brother man has ceased to feel".

In fact there are still many poets who still struggle with rhyming verse. Apart from those who love trying to write rhyming poems for the sheer love of it, there are rappers, song-writers, comedians, performance poets and many others who all need to find the perfect rhyme to make their verses flow - anyone who is interested in how their poetry sounds will soon find that rhyme is a technique they need to master.

I write songs and while I think I have a good memory for rhyming words, there are times when a rhyming dictionary is the only way out of a dilemma, and apart from those times when the lack of a decent rhyme holds me up, there's nothing like looking up a word and finding all the possible rhymes in one place. Often consulting the rhyming dictionary will improve your verse by giving you better options to the one you started with.

For many years now I have relied on Walkers Rhyming Dictionary which was published in 1926 - a useful find in a second-hand bookshop. But it is definitely dated and in any case it does not use the best possible structure for letting you find an appropriate rhyme. I was therefore delighted to acquire the New Oxford Rhyming Dictionary which brings the idea of a rhyming dictionary right up to date not only in its inclusion of newer words, but also in a far more sensible arrangement.

The book is arranged around 35 sections which correspond to word endings. There are 13 sections of vowel-sound endings and 22 sections of consonant-sound endings. For example,

Section 1: -ar
Section 2: -air
Section 3: -ay
and so on.

In addition to this, an index at the back contains over 45,000 words and the number of the page on which the list of rhymes for that word can be found.

Notes among the section help you make additional rhymes of your own. For example, in the "-ee" section, a note says, "create extra rhymes for words like moggie by adding -gy to smog etc". Another note says, "create extra rhymes by changing words like needy to neediness or to needier and neediest".

Other notes in the book provide additional idea for rhymes such as the introduction of the the concept of a rhyming pattern based on a poem by John Donne, or the a short description of rhymes which emphasise opposite concepts like breath and death. These short notes can open up a new idea to enliven your verse.

A short introduction by John Lennard provides a very useful primer in rhyme. We read about the history of rhyme and the types of rhyme, and also includes many examples of rhymes as used in poems through the ages. The section "How to use this book" is brief but there is no need for anything longer as the book is easy to use.

As you would expect from Oxford, the book is very well presented, being nicely bound and printed on high quality paper. The font size is big enough that you won't strain your eyes by looking at it.

I would recommend this book to anyone who writes poetry, whether the occasional dabbler or the professional poet. All would find it a useful addition to their shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Rather baffled, to be honest, 3 Dec 2014
By 
claire (Barneveld, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New Oxford Rhyming Dictionary (Hardcover)
The New Oxford Rhyming Dictionary is nowhere near as comprehensive as I expected, and the index reads like a list of words that are unusual in English. The last five entries under 'L', for instance, are 'Lysander, Lysenko, Lysippus, Lysol, Lytton', and then 'M' begins with 'Malaga, mesalliance, ma'am, ma, Maas'. I could go on, and this is just a random selection. Such everyday words as 'gently' aren't listed (nor could I find it in the main body, though 'Bentley' is there), nor its alternative 'softly', though for some reason 'softish' and 'softly-softly' are. I'm giving it two stars instead of one because I can't rule out the possibility that I've somehow misunderstood the purpose of this book or the correct way of using it, and also because I'm used to Oxford reference books being top-notch, but it really hasn't been useful to me so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Oxford Rhyming Dictionary (Hardcover)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Oxford Rhyming Dictionary (Hardcover)
As a writer this Rhyming Dictionary is top of the class
A writer's and poet's friend that works so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds boring, but..., 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Oxford Rhyming Dictionary (Hardcover)
An extremely well put-together dictionary. So easy to find your way around. Anyone could use it. Well worth the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awkward presentation of words, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Oxford Rhyming Dictionary (Hardcover)
My fault . I used to have a ryming dictionary many years ago thought this would be the same
This is complicated and uninspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Oxford Rhyming Dictionary
New Oxford Rhyming Dictionary by Oxford (Hardcover - 19 July 2012)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews