Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful, readable and well-researched.
This book is an extremely readable but still scholarly examination of the myths and truths around differences in mental health in men and women. In tackling these it also poses and offers answers on many issues around mental health as a whole.

The book starts with a rigorous and in-depth examination of the statistics around the prevalence of mental health...
Published 10 months ago by A. I. McCulloch

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit dry but interesting
I was interested to read this as a topic which has interested me for a while. Some of what is stated seems quite obvious to the layman, however it was good to see the research which backs this up. I would have liked the book to be a bit more user friendly, the front doesn't present this as an academic text, however inside it is quite dry. I would have loved to have seen...
Published 10 months ago by Dinah85


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit dry but interesting, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Dinah85 "Dinah93" (Cleveland,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Stressed Sex: Uncovering the Truth About Men, Women, and Mental Health (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was interested to read this as a topic which has interested me for a while. Some of what is stated seems quite obvious to the layman, however it was good to see the research which backs this up. I would have liked the book to be a bit more user friendly, the front doesn't present this as an academic text, however inside it is quite dry. I would have loved to have seen more case studies, or real life examples of the studies shown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stress: Men v Women, 17 Oct 2013
By 
G. J. Oxley "Gaz" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Stressed Sex: Uncovering the Truth About Men, Women, and Mental Health (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Stress has become one of the most prevalent of modern day illnesses - replacing backache as the number one excuse for non-attendance at work. A little short-term stress or anxiety is often beneficial - for exam performance, escape from a dangerous situation, etc. However, it's when the individual is chronically stressed and unable to escape from it, that it becomes a serious issue.

In a world that seems designed to raise our anxiety levels, this book takes a look at the factors that cause stress in the two sexes, and which is better equipped to cope with it. An event or an imminent situation that can stress one sex out tremendously is merely a challenge to the other; it's all to do with our perception and our concomitant response to it. It goes without saying that women tend to be much more emotional than men, and this is a considerable factor.

Before I read this book, I'd always assumed women coped better with stress - because it seemed they're still expected to look after the family, in addition to holding down a full-time job.

However, the traditional demarcation of duties - women doing the housework, men making a mess of the DIY and gardening, has changed over the last few years and role-reversal has become much more the modern way of doing things. So now we get men making a pig's ear of housekeeping duties, while women take care of the more 'masculine' tasks!

The book is interesting and the outcome of some of the research is surprising, but as with everything involving psychology, the reader finds him/herself at odds with some of the conclusions reached.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful, readable and well-researched., 15 Oct 2013
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stressed Sex: Uncovering the Truth About Men, Women, and Mental Health (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is an extremely readable but still scholarly examination of the myths and truths around differences in mental health in men and women. In tackling these it also poses and offers answers on many issues around mental health as a whole.

The book starts with a rigorous and in-depth examination of the statistics around the prevalence of mental health disorders in men and women; having drawn the conclusion that women are more likely in general to experience a mental health disorder it then goes on to examine why.

Emotional disorders, substance abuse and less common problems are dealt with in separate chapters. One of the 'less common problems' is anorexia nervosa - this is sufficiently familiar to perhaps not be 'less common' but it is dealt with, including an interesting examination of biological factors.
Conclusions are drawn at the end of the book and there is an extensive bibliography. This is a book of value to anyone with an interest in mental health, layman or professional, highly accessible and very readable. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally worth reading, 27 May 2013
This review is from: The Stressed Sex: Uncovering the Truth About Men, Women, and Mental Health (Hardcover)
I approached the Stressed Sex with interest but also mindful that this is a book about women's mental health written by two men. I remember research coming out a few years ago about higher rates of mental health issues amongst ethnic minority groups in the UK and there was a lot of criticism about labelling oppressed groups etc. However, my view is that unless you point out the phenomenon then nothing can be done. Which is how I feel about this book. This is important work. There are higher rates of mental health issues reported by women and this book isn't afraid to say this (where clearly others have been) and then to wonder why. It's thorough work and also very engagingly written. I would highly recommend this to women everywhere! If you're stressed then you are one of many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A disturbing read, 27 Mar 2014
By 
T. Burkard (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stressed Sex: Uncovering the Truth About Men, Women, and Mental Health (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It is hardly surprising that so few young people marry, and so many older ones divorce. Women are beyond doubt far more stressed than men, and this book has the statistics to prove it. Although the feminist revolution has changed roles for both men and women, it is the latter who have experienced the most drastic changes. And the worst of it is that the feminist have splintered into so many factions that women no longer have any clear idea as to how they fit into society. And to make it even worse, the younger generation of women have largely abandoned feminism and become obsessed with glamour and celebrity.

No, I'm glad I'm not a woman. Although women have more freedom and more power than they ever have before in our culture, no matter what they do other women will criticise them. The old role models may have been formally restrictive, but I wonder if they weren't more empowering in other ways. Formal roles give us clear guidelines for outward behaviour. This book clearly demonstrates the price we pay for living in a society where they are lacking. Having just finished "Lark Rise to Candleford", I felt an incredible sense of peace. Flora Thompson was, in a way, far more liberated than a modern woman. She understood and valued tradition, and she understood what we were losing as they faded away in the 20th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Depressing but essential reading, 8 July 2013
By 
Four Violets (Hertford UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Stressed Sex: Uncovering the Truth About Men, Women, and Mental Health (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Two sexes on earth: Biology dictates that hormones and upbringing will make them different; however to maintain the species they must co-exist.

Sex A is programmed to ruminate (that is ponder endlessly over events), to experience more chronic strain, have greater affiliative need, experience a lower sense of mastery over their own lives and experience a sense of entrapment. Control over their happiness is entrusted to others' hands because that sex is trained to regard relationships as their life's priority.

Sex A is judged on how they look rather than how they behave, self-esteem being bound up with body image.

Sex A is expected to act as carer, homemaker and breadwinner while being perfectly shaped (ie thin) and impeccably dressed.

Sex B is given licence to put their own interests first, progresses from being cared for by a mother to a partner, is not judged on looks, scores higher on callous-unemotional traits, is less adept at empathy,

The emotional cost of this strain and this divide is huge. Psychological disorders account for nearly half of all ill health in the under-65's and depression is the number 1 cause of disability in the world.

Understanding why something occurs helps prevent it happening repeatedly; but on the evidence of this book it will be uphill all the way.

An excellent book marred by repetition and a constant banging on about the need for more research, although I'm sure it's true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read, 19 July 2013
This review is from: The Stressed Sex: Uncovering the Truth About Men, Women, and Mental Health (Hardcover)
I read this book as an interested amateur. Overall I found the book very readable. Although you could have predicted which sex was more likely to suffer with a certain condition, it was very interesting to find out the biological and socialogical reasons why these things might be so. I intitially struggled with the opening chapters full of statistics but I can see that they are necessary to set up the discussion in the rest of the book, which is very absorbing.
Although I prefer the more practical books that have been written by these authors, this book is still definately worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but no surprises..., 4 Oct 2013
By 
Margaret Gallagher (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stressed Sex: Uncovering the Truth About Men, Women, and Mental Health (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a well-conducted review of the research in this area and it covers a lot of comparative ground in the process. They do a really good job of trying to consider all the pro and con views, in looking at the development and interpretation of the research.

My issue with it really is that it's all about the research - which is not the real world. And the research is created around the ideas and hypotheses in the minds of the researchers, based on their view of the universe. Many of these folks have only ever been in academia, with no direct or indirect experience of any of the 'mental health' issues under review. Apart from the lofty location of 'clinical expert'. Which, in my view [as a (qualified) former front-line worker, and carer], is only half the story. Science does not know everything - and neither to people with no lived experience.

Interesting book though, and definitely worth reading. But don't make it your bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read based on research available to date, 20 Sep 2013
By 
K. L. Wren "K L Wren" (Herefordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stressed Sex: Uncovering the Truth About Men, Women, and Mental Health (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a Psychology graduate with an interest in both Clinical Psychology and gender differences, I read this book with great interest.

It covers a lot of ground and issues from biology and behaviour to emotional disorders, alcohol and drug problems, but sometimes I felt it was a little patronising towards women and it might have benefited from some input from a female author. Other times it became thought provoking. However, I found some of it to be quite generalist in its coverage.

Although it looks specifically at the gender differences between men and women eg in terms of emotional orders such as anxiety, depression and other disorders such as anorexia and bulimia, I often wondered whether there was some author bias. Women were always stated to be the main sufferers of such problems yet in the real world this may well not be the case. It is generally more socially acceptable and expected for women to suffer from psychological disorders and it can be much more difficult for men to admit this. Therefore I suspect there is potentially much under-reporting of psychological conditions in men which, in the longer-term, may be prove to a flaw in the basis for this book. However, as things stand at the moment with more women admitting to their psychological problems, it's all the evidence the researchers have to use, and the book is an interesting read for an inquiring mind with a specific interest in this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, 19 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stressed Sex: Uncovering the Truth About Men, Women, and Mental Health (Hardcover)
I was unsure about what to expect from this book but it absolutely held my attention. It's extremely well written and the depth of the research is clear to see too. It raises some really interesting questions about mental health and the gender differences in such. Yes, it doesn't come to many conclusions but it's evident that this is because it's a scientific look at a really interesting issue, rather than a polemic as could so easily have been the case. It left me wanting to know more and to read more about this issue. Why isn't this gender difference addressed more? I would like to read more on this and would happily buy the next book by them, if there is one, which I hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stressed Sex: Uncovering the Truth About Men, Women, and Mental Health
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews