Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but difficult
This is very good as an introduction to Islam but I did find the early chapters slightly confusing - not because it is badly written (it isn't) but simply because the early history of Islam is very confusing - the early doctrinal shifts. In other words, I suppose I would have preferred it to be even shorter and simpler. But that is a reflection of me. I certainly finished...
Published 17 months ago by abilone166

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing
I bought this book to give me a basic introduction to the faith, what was involved and why and what it said about salvation. In fact I found it more about current political issues in Islam. If that is what you are looking for that is fine but it did not do what I needed it to do for me.
Published 20 months ago by C Bewley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but difficult, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islam: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
This is very good as an introduction to Islam but I did find the early chapters slightly confusing - not because it is badly written (it isn't) but simply because the early history of Islam is very confusing - the early doctrinal shifts. In other words, I suppose I would have preferred it to be even shorter and simpler. But that is a reflection of me. I certainly finished the book with a clearer understanding of what is happening in the modern world - which is what I wanted - and I finished the book with an increased admiration for Islam - a much-misunderstood religion. The maps are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book because it is recommended for an OU course. I am not Moslem so I needed a fairly basic introduction. Some books I looked at are so basic that they would insult almost anyone's intelligence, while others are aimed at people who already have a sound knowledge. This book is pitched at exactly the right level for the intelligent beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basics of islam, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islam: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
The book is a taster to the basics of islam. Simple terms used with little mixing of theology. For those who want an overveiw if islam I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book to give me a basic introduction to the faith, what was involved and why and what it said about salvation. In fact I found it more about current political issues in Islam. If that is what you are looking for that is fine but it did not do what I needed it to do for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good overview, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islam: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Good little guide which gives all the information you need to understand Islam at a glance. Well written and informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, 15 Oct 2013
By 
N. J. Parker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I needed an overview of Islam that was relatively easy to digest and this book offers that. Only half way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very Short Introduction - Islam, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islam: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Not such a good rating as, compared with other books of a similar nature, this one was informative but very difficult to read and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islam: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
good for getting an overview of Islam - I bought this book as I am now teaching Hinduism and it is good to have a basic idea of the religion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... thorough introduction to a complex religion and can be recommended for that, 27 July 2014
By 
J. Holmes "Old Hobbs" (Ottawa Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islam: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
This is a thorough introduction to a complex religion and can be recommended for that. However if you are looking for a quick "reason" for Sunni wanting to kill Shia and vice versa, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the cover, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a spiritual guide to Islam. It is a fairly dense but brief introduction to the history of Islam as a religion and a political ideology. I downloaded it because I wanted to have a better understanding of its origins, the rise of Islamic sectarianism, it's teachings and impact in the world theatre today, without having to wade through any translated religious texts or spending an undue amount of time on the exercise. Although, I felt at the outset this text was probably aimed at someone with a better than passing acquaintance with the topic, I found it pretty easy to get through and do feel better informed. Not sure how much wiser I am though! The author gives a pretty unbiased account although he does offer his own conclusions at the very end. Good Kindle copy and recommend for people who want that brief overview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Islam: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions)
Islam: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) by Malise Ruthven (Paperback - 26 Jan 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews