Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portable, handy, detailed.
This is the first dictionary I reach for if I want to find a definition of a word. It's also the first book I reach for if I want information on a famous person, or need to know where a particular place is.

In short, it's a dictionary and encyclopedia in one very handy size.

Plus points:
> it's easy to find any of the 120,00 definitions: the...
Published on 8 Oct 2007 by R. Garner

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too abridged
Disappointed in the many words not covered in this version. Next to useless for crosswords. Not even to be recommended for kids.
Published 15 months ago by preciouspress


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portable, handy, detailed., 8 Oct 2007
By 
R. Garner "Bookworm" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first dictionary I reach for if I want to find a definition of a word. It's also the first book I reach for if I want information on a famous person, or need to know where a particular place is.

In short, it's a dictionary and encyclopedia in one very handy size.

Plus points:
> it's easy to find any of the 120,00 definitions: the letter markers are visible from the outside.
> includes a thorough mid-section on famous people and places
> plentiful grammar and usage boxes (e.g. between diffuse and defuse).

Oh yes, it's also less than £8. A literal bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OED, 17 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was surprised that the OED contained more information that just words. The additional info has already proved useful - world, famous people, measurements etc. An excellent buy at a reasonable cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Irritation, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paperback Oxford English Dictionary (Paperback)
It's a dictionary! However, positioned between the "h" and the "i" reference letters is a 146 page section titled "Factfinder". I find this a seriously irritating impediment to looking up words. What could possibly be the logic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dictionary, 20 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paperback Oxford English Dictionary (Paperback)
I have bought 3 of these dictionaries now; one for me and 2 for my parents. They love this dictionary for doing crosswords, especially the factfinder pages in the middle. I bought them a second one as the first got used so much it eventually fell apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too abridged, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paperback Oxford English Dictionary (Paperback)
Disappointed in the many words not covered in this version. Next to useless for crosswords. Not even to be recommended for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inexpensive dictionary for regular use, 14 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a bit disappointed because I was looking for a dictionary to look up phonetic and meaning while reading books in English.
This dictionary is comprehensive, but it clusters several related terms with the main word and sometimes you can be confused. I don't like the "figurative" phonetic nomenclature nor the fact not all words have phonetic description (A word phonetic might be trivial for a native but not for a foreigner!). All in all, it is a good dictionary if you don't want to spend much money and you need a light and comprehensive dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK up to a point, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paperback Oxford English Dictionary (Paperback)
Nothing wrong with this item but should have bought something with a lot more definitions...did not help very much at all for doing the DT crossword, lol.

That said ideal for pre GCSE level students, perhaps, but limited for A level and beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price., 13 Aug 2011
This product is just as described and great for value although not every word I use is in this dictionary, but can be found in a more expensive version. So I guess you get what you pay for, but still perfect for A-Level students due to price and simpleness of use.
On the other hand the product came before it's expected date. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford English Dictionary, 10 Mar 2012
Really compact dictionary, and easy-to-read text print. Handy section in the middle also features, with encyclopaedic snippets of information for certain proper noun & factual references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good value, 22 Feb 2012
We did need a dictionary as my daughter progresses through the school years and i hope she will reffer to the spelling herself. Happy with the quality just the font is a bit small for me:-) need to put my reading glasses lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paperback Oxford English Dictionary
Paperback Oxford English Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries (Paperback - 10 May 2012)
£3.00
Usually dispatched within 10 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews