Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The employment law reference book
Selwyn's Law of Employment is the place to turn for anyone involved with employment law. It's highly respected and more importantly it is accurate and regularly updated. Even though this latest edition does not have Norman Selwyn behind it, the new author has continued in the same vein and has produced a new version which is certainly worthy of the Selwyn name.
Published on 14 Sep 2012 by A Smile and a Wave

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars more detail required.
All law textbooks are supposed to provide an overview of a topic whilst expanding on important areas and highlighting key legal principles.

This textbook barely manages to do so and in some areas more detail can be found in revision guides.

As an example the section on Fair/Unfair dismissal flies through various topics providing hardly any...
Published 21 months ago by matj16


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars more detail required., 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All law textbooks are supposed to provide an overview of a topic whilst expanding on important areas and highlighting key legal principles.

This textbook barely manages to do so and in some areas more detail can be found in revision guides.

As an example the section on Fair/Unfair dismissal flies through various topics providing hardly any information. Take the range of reasonable responses test for example...it is hardly even explained. I gained more information from employment law law express than I did this textbook.

It is shocking that such a textbook is held in such high regard as it really is useless if it cannot manage to provide an in depth analysis of the law rather than sign posting everything; It is hardly be enough for an A level student let alone a degree.

I realise that the concentration should be on statutes/cases and independent reading of them; so lets consider this textbook in this context also.

In order to fully read a chapter of this textbook you would need a spare month. Cases are frequently name dropped with hardly any reference of what the case actually relates to unless you do the research yourself. Admittedly some may argue this is fine; but is reading a case for 20 minutes really worth it when you come to realise it has no relevance to the situation or topic your researching?

As a third year law student using this textbook is an insult. Instead i use other textbooks in my universities library; those ones even contain information about the law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The employment law reference book, 14 Sep 2012
By 
A Smile and a Wave (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Selwyn's Law of Employment (Paperback)
Selwyn's Law of Employment is the place to turn for anyone involved with employment law. It's highly respected and more importantly it is accurate and regularly updated. Even though this latest edition does not have Norman Selwyn behind it, the new author has continued in the same vein and has produced a new version which is certainly worthy of the Selwyn name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Student's Best Friend!, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selwyn's Law of Employment (Paperback)
Since commencing my law degree studies back in September, I have bought many set texts and they are invariably books that appear to weigh at least half a ton. Well, I can't give you the glad tidings that Selwyn's is any easier to lug about in your backpack but, my word, it does the job and with bells on. Every aspect of employment law clarified and explained to the point where, even at 9am lectures, you are able to answer your lecturer's questions and not just wish you'd got to bed before 3am. Buy it. You won't be disappointed, and there's always the possibility of a few valuable brownie points from your tutor for actually appearing to have read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book will reccomend it to my friends, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selwyn's Law of Employment (Paperback)
This is very much full of current leglislation and events, i found it ot be usefull very good book, i will definately reccommend it to my friends and coleagues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selwyn's Law of Employment (Paperback)
I have read the previous feedback about this book and how useful it is and you will not be disappointed easy to understand and is like a tin of ronseal does what says on the tin great its a credit to late great Selwyn himself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars does what is says on the cover, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selwyn's Law of Employment (Paperback)
Sent promptly, exceptable quaility, cheaper than a new copy, gets rid of ugly Staines, goes down well at parties, finds lost change in the settee, great shines to cars and bikes alike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book - format bad, 31 Oct 2013
An excellent book clearly written and informative would recommend to anyone studying employment law. The only downside is te format of the kindle edition it is not compatible with phone apps. Seems oy really readable with tablets in portrait orientation basically it's like an electronic exact copy of the book. The table of contents is static so if you see a chapter sub heading in there you want to go to you have to scroll through to it there are no hyperlinks to get you there quickly. A real niggle in a book over 700 pages long! That said it is still invaluable to my current study. My ozone ask is please please hyperlink the table of contents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good point of information., 29 Oct 2013
This review is from: Selwyn's Law of Employment (Paperback)
I have been using Selwyns' Law of employment, it is invaluable , as i am now studdying employment law. it has a lot of uptodate information , good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 21 Sep 2013
This review is from: Selwyn's Law of Employment (Paperback)
Good condition althought stated as "used". Delivery was quick and reasonable. Great book for students studying employment law (im a 3rd year student)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and readable, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selwyn's Law of Employment (Paperback)
Probably the best employment law book I've come across with clear information that the lay man can follow. Useful for any trade union representative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Selwyn's Law of Employment
Selwyn's Law of Employment by Astra Emir (Paperback - 5 July 2012)
£34.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews