Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT & UTTERLY INDISPENSABLE
An absolutely indispensable guide through the complexities of jurisprudence. The author has established himself as the best textbook writer in this subject. The new edition is even better than the previous one. Professor Wacks has produced a textbook that is wonderfully clear, incredibly helpful - and even amusing!

Having taught legal philosophy for 30 years he...
Published on 18 May 2012 by atalanta88

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The content of the book is great, however the book was somewhat deformed...
The contents of the book is great and highly recommended. However one of the pages was deformed (looks very bizarre) and therefore hard to read, not what you expect from a book of this price.
Published 4 months ago by Rosie Hemming


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT & UTTERLY INDISPENSABLE, 18 May 2012
This review is from: Understanding Jurisprudence: An Introduction to Legal Theory (Paperback)
An absolutely indispensable guide through the complexities of jurisprudence. The author has established himself as the best textbook writer in this subject. The new edition is even better than the previous one. Professor Wacks has produced a textbook that is wonderfully clear, incredibly helpful - and even amusing!

Having taught legal philosophy for 30 years he really understands where students need help and advice. I find the many questions at the end of each chapter extremely useful and the comprehensive reading lists are also excellent.

You will not regret buying this book. It is also moderately priced. As another reviewer put it: "Thank Heavens for Professor Wacks!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent book flawed kindle implementation, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Understanding Jurisprudence is an absolute gem of a book. Very informative and presents the information in an understanable format.

However I purchased the Kindle edition from the Amazon website and thre three real Kindle readers I have all refuse to download it as it is not compatible with these devices.

What is even stranger is that I have three devices running Kindle Apps and all three cater for this publication without a problem.

On attempting to force a new download via the 'manage my kindle' the system recognises the incompatible devices and places the kindle names in italics in the dropdown list and thereby render them unavailable for managing.

Three Kindle Apps in the list are not in italics and can be re-dowloaded if required.

I have read nothing in the advert for this book that mentions limited usage on Kindle devices, so I am struggling to understand just what is going on here.

I have resorted to using this review to raise the problem after failing to find a route to email customer services.

The system is becoming so big now navigation is not as straight forward as it used to be.

Has anyone else come across this problem?

If I had no Kindle Apps I would not have been able to download the device on the Kindles I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 14 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Jurisprudence: An Introduction to Legal Theory (Paperback)
Very helpful especially for students who just start study jurisprudence. I can recomend this to law studenst at all study levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If it doesn't cover something in enough detail it gives you a good basis to do some searches from, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Jurisprudence: An Introduction to Legal Theory (Paperback)
Really helpful for essays on the area, covers a little bit of everything. Explains stuff well. If it doesn't cover something in enough detail it gives you a good basis to do some searches from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The content of the book is great, however the book was somewhat deformed..., 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Jurisprudence: An Introduction to Legal Theory (Paperback)
The contents of the book is great and highly recommended. However one of the pages was deformed (looks very bizarre) and therefore hard to read, not what you expect from a book of this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected but it's okay, 12 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Jurisprudence: An Introduction to Legal Theory (Paperback)
Not really what I expected as it is more a guide than an actual textbook but it still has good content and a wide range of knowledge included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive and challenging..., 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a fabulous undergraduate text; comprehensive and challenging...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars First Generation Kindle not supported, 5 Mar. 2014
I wanted to buy this for my first generation kindle - but it seems that it is not available for this. I bought a Kindle because I find reading on a backlit screen very difficult indeed for any length of time. Now Amazon seem to be forcing us to use tablets and other backlit technology (not even the Paper White is supported it seems).

This is not a good omen for those of us who like e-paper. Amazon seems to be trying to force us to buy different technology if we want to use its services.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IF THE LAW IS AN ASS, 3 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Understanding Jurisprudence: An Introduction to Legal Theory (Paperback)
IF THE LAW IS AN ASS WHAT DOES THAT MAKE THOSE INDIVIDUALS THAT ENFORCE IT? YOU WILL NEED ACTING SKILLS AND A SENSE OF THEATRE FOR THIS CAREER AND I WOULD RECOMMEND AN ACTING COURSE WHILE U ARE ON UR LAW COURSE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Understanding Jurisprudence: An Introduction to Legal Theory
Understanding Jurisprudence: An Introduction to Legal Theory by Raymond Wacks (Paperback - 2 Feb. 2012)
£27.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews