Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book is My Bible
This book is my best buy of my first year in medicine.

As it is the "Oxford Handbook" it contains essentially the whole syllabus for the first years of the Oxford Medicine Course. However i'm sure all medical schools will cover similar stuff in the first year, so this will definitely be helpful for any medical student.

It is clear, and helps you to...
Published on 24 Jun. 2012 by Zyphlon

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too superficial for enthusiasts but may help for revision
I was really looking forward to this second edition. However, its clearly impossible to cramm the scope of information suggested by its title into a few hundred small pages. Also its devoid of colour figures, pictures etc - these handbooks are therefore easy to churn out cheaply from the publishers point of view, trading on the brand name and can be a bit boring...
Published on 9 Oct. 2011 by bigflat


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book is My Bible, 24 Jun. 2012
By 
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
This book is my best buy of my first year in medicine.

As it is the "Oxford Handbook" it contains essentially the whole syllabus for the first years of the Oxford Medicine Course. However i'm sure all medical schools will cover similar stuff in the first year, so this will definitely be helpful for any medical student.

It is clear, and helps you to understand the whole subject. It is not detailed enough for major study, but for some topics the basics is all that is required. And in the rest, having this along with a large meaty textbook is a great combination. It is small enough to always have in my backpack while going to lectures, and is invaluable for last minute reading before a patient course or an exam.

It is well presented and the tassels for bookmarks are handy. The plastic covering to the book prevents wear to the pages, so after nearly a year mine is still in great condition.

All I would say about this book is that there are a few (I've spotted 2-3 in all the hundreds of pages Ive used from it) grammatical problems, sentences that just don't make sense etc. However I found that online there is a way to report such errors, which shows that the publishers are willing to correct them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences, 2 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
I'm a final year student and have only just discovered the Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences. I wish I'd found it earlier as a student because it would have been perfect in third year to aid a transition from pre-clinical to clinical. It's very readable and explains everything from drug reactions to cellular structure. It's not a replacement for individual textbooks on the subjects it covers but it's size and content make it perfect for carrying around on the wards and clinics, using spare moments which would otherwise be wasted time. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for pre-clinical medical students, 22 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
I am a first year medical student and love the Oxford Handbooks! They are great for carrying around and this one in particular is great for all modules.

This book concentrates on the basic medical science, knowledge that any medical student should have in order to be able to have a greater understanding of the workings of the human body. It is laid out in a very user friendly way starting with the general principles of cells and metabolism followed by individual chapters for the each of the body systems. In each of these chapters it goes through the anatomy, the function and briefly some of the general clinical problems associated with that system.

The text in this book is easy to read, using bullet points and tables. This makes it a useful aid when trying to figure out and/or remember the key points. Despite the size of the book, I was pleasantly surprised at the number of topics covered in each chapter and the detail it goes into.

Overall this is a worthwhile purchase for all pre-clinical medical students. It will not be one of those textbooks that stay on your bookshelf and rarely get looked at, it will be a textbook that you will carry around with you and use daily in all the modules that you study whilst at medical school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool little handbook., 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
Literally has everything you'll cover during pre-clinical years in a much more condensed form. There is some extra contextual information but it's great to pull out on the bus and do a bit of revision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 25 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
I am a fourth year medical student. The new 2nd edition of the oxford handbook of medical science has some exciting new and engaging ways of learning those complicated physiological pathways and to get to grips with your basic anatomy. This book compacts fundamental scientific principles that underpin clinical medicine. With a useful cross-referencing with the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine, there is a clear focus of clinical relevance of specific issues.
Medicine and Society is the new chapter that features in this edition. This chapter covers measuring disease in society, assessing the effectiveness of treatment and the sociocultural context of medicine.

As a medical student, you have vast amounts of information to read and memorise. This book is perfect to cover the essentials that can be applied to clinical medicine. Its intuitive and reader friendly index and contents pages allows one to easily navigate through the book. Online access can be sought at a small price, but is very useful for when you are out and about and have forgotten your book!

The Oxford Handbook of Medical sciences is highly recommended as it contains the essential scientific background we need as medical students to survive through medical school and beyond as doctors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saving me constantly, 1 Mar. 2014
By 
A. C. Lee (Carnforth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
I'm a medical student who didn't do Biology A-Level or Chemistry, and as such I find the vast majority in my year a lot more apt at understanding how things fit together; there are basic biological things like ATP and so on that are assumed knowledge. This book is really helping me to get to grips with whatever I'm studying, every time I open the book. Every. Single. Time.

It's more detailed of course than A-Level standard, and I fully expect this book to go with me beyond Medical School since it offers such a brilliant overview of practically every major topic. It's a gem.

If Batman held me off the edge of a tall building and made me throw out every text book but one, this would be the one I would keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Use it everyday, 25 April 2012
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
I am a first year medical student (in a graduate entry course) and discovered this book serendipitously. It looked promising in the book shop but I am continually surprised at how useful it is. It covers quickly and concisely a remarkable range of topics.
The best thing about this book is its ability to clarify complex topics by clearly explaining the most important points. But I also use it constantly to clarify and revise things that I learnt in my undergraduate studies, as an aid in my anatomy study, for clarification of important points for subjects such as histology and pharmacology, and basically anything and everything that I can need to know about as a first year medical student (except a bit of clinical and pathology stuff). It is remarkable how closely the book follows the breadth and depth of the curriculum at my medical school. I also find it useful as an aid in PBL. The diagrams are great too. All in all I would recommend this text highly to anyone who wants to be able to find clear, reliable answers to their basic questions or gaps in their knowledge without having to sift through huge textbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Apparently she has found it useful. Note that as this is supposed to be ..., 3 Oct. 2014
By 
Pete H (Newcastle upont Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for a friend starting med school. Apparently she has found it useful. Note that as this is supposed to be a light, easy carry book, the paper used for the pages is quite thin and so you can to some extent see the text on the other side of the page through the paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too superficial for enthusiasts but may help for revision, 9 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
I was really looking forward to this second edition. However, its clearly impossible to cramm the scope of information suggested by its title into a few hundred small pages. Also its devoid of colour figures, pictures etc - these handbooks are therefore easy to churn out cheaply from the publishers point of view, trading on the brand name and can be a bit boring.

If i take for example the molecular chapter is far too superficial to be of use apart from as a list of topics for further study. If you already own anatomy, physiology, pharmacology and biomolecular texts then obviously this is completely redundant anyway.

In the end i sent it back to amazon for a refund as i felt i could get equivalent information with a quick google search for free.

I think it would be perfectly reasonable to have say an oxford handbook of physiology or an oxford handbook of anatomy, but they can't easily be compressed into one volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences (Oxford Medical Handbooks)
Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences (Oxford Medical Handbooks) by Robert Wilkins (Paperback - 22 Sept. 2011)
£24.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews