Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best guide to research methods
This is the best, and most comprehensive guide to social science research methods currently available. It is extremely clear with plenty of examples and a user-friendly layout. It is very up-to-date and well written. The author is an established expert on methodology who has made important original contributions to the development of research methods. For most purposes,...
Published on 18 Dec 2003 by Martin Holborn

versus
13 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not too bad
Bryman is a perfect book for referal however it does assume prior sociologiacal knowledge and does tend to use specialised language with no explanation.
Apart from this the text is well organised with helpfull conclusions and help boxes to aid the reader.
Agood book to be used for looking up specific answers in detail.
Published on 12 Nov 2003 by steph


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best guide to research methods, 18 Dec 2003
By 
Martin Holborn (Preston, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the best, and most comprehensive guide to social science research methods currently available. It is extremely clear with plenty of examples and a user-friendly layout. It is very up-to-date and well written. The author is an established expert on methodology who has made important original contributions to the development of research methods. For most purposes, the only book you need on social research.
Martin Holborn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 13 Jun 2005
By 
mjpip91 (Nottingham, Nottinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I've almost read all the research texts so far, and this is the best book in the feild of social/business research, especially for postgraduate students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book on Social Methods, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
I bought the book to study for a social methods assessment day and although very long (700 plus pages) it really helped me to revise and to learn about new concepts and methods. I have only used a small number of research methods textbooks but I woud highly recommend this one especially for what you get as well as the case studies which are used throughout to illustrate concepts and research methods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have., 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
I bought this book in the hopes that it would help me with my degree (Currently a student in Criminology) and this book has been an absolute lifesaver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Social Research Methods, 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
This masterpiece by Alan Bryman is a must read for researchers in the social science domain. I needed a proper guide to understanding research parameters in the Social Sciences and this book has provided me a very easy-to-understand read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you study criminology, sociology or cultural studies, YOU NEED THIS BOOK, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
It was recommended reading, so I decided to buy it jointly with my boyfriend. It has been so useful, and thats without even using all the online resources it comes with! It's laid out very clearly, and has sections for both qualitative and quantitative research. Don't start a dissertation without one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any sociology student, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
This is the only social research methods book you need,
it gives you everything ....... easy to read and understand, with web-links and additional resources included :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 31 May 2013
By 
R. Jenkins (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book got me through my degree.

An excellent book to dip into for various research methods, with plenty of examples and further reading. I bought this book originally for a research methods module taken at university, but found it useful across many assignments and my dissertation. A must-have for students of the social sciences.

Although this edition has been superseded, I found no problems with out-of-date content. It was thorough, easy to use, and well-written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
I used this book when studying for a Masters in Education. I wouldn't have managed to do half of my literature review without it! It was very useful, good quality and seemed to have the answer to everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
The book was very useful, had all the information I needed to help me pass my exam, and will be useful for my future years in university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Social Research Methods
Social Research Methods by Alan Bryman (Paperback - 19 Jan 2012)
33.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews