Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science set in its social context
The author reminds us that the original meaning of `science' covered all knowledge, and the branch we now call science was previously called Natural Philosophy. The word `scientist' was coined only in 1833. How science in the modern sense came to separate itself from other kinds of knowledge is one of the themes of this survey which awesomely ranges over all the...
Published on 3 April 2010 by Ralph Blumenau

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining But Deeply Flawed
Given Patricia Fara's excellent credentials, one might be forgiven for expecting an impartial account of science's contribution to civilization over the last four millennia. Nonetheless, despite the book's ambitious scope and the title's bold promise, it seems that Fara is less interested in presenting a coherent historical narrative as she is in engaging in blatant...
Published on 19 Aug. 2010 by John Dexter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a very informative and interesting read. Patricia Fara had not so much an axe to grind as the wish to perhaps undo some of the previous grinding of axes that have sought to elevate "science" and its progress onto a pedestal.........and a pedestal that was thought and claimed to be very Eurocentric. Patricia obviously loves her subject, and often expresses her knowledge with a deft touch of humour as she brings it to our attention by little asides that just perhaps the female of the species has had, and does have, a brain. And one image that she conveyed at one point, of how light itself plays its necessary part as it passes through the more "didactic" stained glass imagery of Chartres Cathedral, has remained with me and continues to illuminate; in various contexts. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a real page turner, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science: A Four Thousand Year History (Paperback)
I found this book a real page turner. Each chapter related information in a clear and concise way, and the author assumes a little knowledge of science from the reader. What was significant was the fact that there is no single scientist who has made a single discovery without the help or the finding of another. Newton was right when he said that he stood on the shoulder of giants, although this might have been a swipe at another scientist at the time. The chapter on genes was the most interesting since in one paragraph and (I leave you to find that paragraph) the author disassembles Richard Dawkins argument about the selfish gene. A must read just for that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revealing, 13 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science: A Four Thousand Year History (Paperback)
This book gives to any non-scientist a glimpse of the marvels of creativity, endeavour and progress of the human race over the millennia. It is worth buying as a present, for young or old, who are interested to widen their horizon. I bought several copies to give as X-mas presents and all the recipients were thrilled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of the subject matter, 8 April 2009
By 
Patricia Fara has achieved an outstanding secondary reference to the history of science. The broad focus on the influences affecting the development of "human progress" leaves out much of the meat of the side subjects referred to. However this is not entirely a bad thing, as I now feel inspired to know more about these areas i.e. political, social, & industrial, and carry out further study into these influences.
The production of this book was clearly no mean feat. I'm sure the author required great discipline and focus in order to balance the essentials to be covered from the deep recesses that could draw the book down a metaphorical black hole of information overload.
I recommend this title very highly and look forward to reading this author's future works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent book, highly recommended, 9 Jan. 2010
The best comprehensive review on history of the science and development from the east to west and beyond
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent popular history of science, 1 Aug. 2009
By 
William Ernest Jackson (Jávea, Alicante, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent, easy to read, and concise history of science from Babylonian times until the present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book: A Four Thosand Year History, 4 April 2009
By 
I ordered the book as new and it arrived as new. It arrived within 3 days, well packaged and exactly what I ordered. I couldn't ask for more than that. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Science: A Four Thousand Year History
Science: A Four Thousand Year History by Patricia Fara (Paperback - 11 Feb. 2010)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews