Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! Will be keeping for the rest of my marketing career
This book is broke down brilliantly into the main sections of marketing and is really helpful. Would recommend to anyone, the book is extremely detailed but is easy to read. Good use of modern day examples also helps to get your read around some of the points. Excellent
Published 22 months ago by George Sutton

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Feels like it's targeted towards middle schoolers
I'm taking marketing as one of my final year courses at university and I agree with people saying it's not really well written -- while it does indeed give a good overview and lots of case studies to provide links with the real world, it truly gives you an idea of how elementary you can push an "easy read" to feel. The sentences are oddly worded, there is often not enough...
Published on 16 Jan. 2013 by Elise


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Feels like it's targeted towards middle schoolers, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marketing (Paperback)
I'm taking marketing as one of my final year courses at university and I agree with people saying it's not really well written -- while it does indeed give a good overview and lots of case studies to provide links with the real world, it truly gives you an idea of how elementary you can push an "easy read" to feel. The sentences are oddly worded, there is often not enough reasoning and depth provided behind arguments, and many of the diagrams contribute next to nothing to the content and feel like just pretty pictures next to the text (a pie chart with 4 equal pieces titled product, place, price and promotion? srsly...?).

Not to nitpick, but personally I found the visual design of the book to be terrible. The reverse skeumorphism with the colorful scrollbars and overdone gradients made me cringe.

Having said all that, if you still just want a quick and basic reference or overview, the book will do just fine. If you're looking for an enjoyable read, stay away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good overview, 12 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Marketing (Paperback)
good solid book. but you will need to think of an update soon, almost 2 years is a long time now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Marketing book for you wherever you are..., 19 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Marketing (Paperback)
Whether you are new to Marketing or have tried other books then you will find this book a breath of realistic fresh air.

It is presented in an attractive manner that only highly professional Marketing academics could achieve and like all good Marketing it speaks to you and in your language.

Theory presented in an understandable way and backed up by interesting informative Case Studies and many other contributions to bring it to life. And it is honest and credible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is this a pneumatic drill or a book?, 26 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Marketing (Paperback)
How do you make an interesting subject tedious? How do you make a mysterious dark art of manipulation dull and safe? How do you innoculate yourself from criticism by surrounding yourself with bland and trite examples that no one cares about? Read this book? If you want to know what is drilled into the heads of the poor souls that study business. Like it, appreciate it? Nah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marketing (Paperback)
great book but dont buy from "Fatbrain"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 15 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Marketing (Paperback)
This is the worst textbook I have ever been unfortunate enough to read. The key points are lost in excessively long sentences; I can only assume that the authors were being paid by the word. It also contains some serious grammatical errors, quite frankly whoever proofread it should be sacked. Unfortunately as it is the core textbook for my course I have been forced to read it, but if you have any choice in the matter avoid it at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marketing (Paperback)
Used for MBA course - excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy!, 1 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Marketing (Paperback)
Very fast delivery. Very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marketing (Paperback)
A textbook of good quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Heavy, uninspiring, 20 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Marketing (Paperback)
I bought this as the required text for 2 university modules, it is terrible dull and taught me almost nothing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marketing
Marketing by Kelly Page (Paperback - 16 Dec. 2010)
Used & New from: £17.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews