Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish I had read it sooner!
I have just done my exam in this subject and only really started using the book a couple of weeks before and just wished I had opened it sooner!
CASES: There are loads of relevant cases in here. They contain sections of the speeches, commentary by the authors and also, something that is incredibly useful- if an important statute is mentioned in the case it gives you...
Published on 30 May 2003

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extemely difficult to read
This an an Open University set book. It is not the fault of the authors, but without good eye-sight the book is extremely difficult to read. Much of the book uses a tiny black font printed upon a blue background. I can read it in good light for a short spin, but it is too great a challenge when it comes to reading multiple pages.
Published on 2 Feb 2009 by Mr. Stephen Lewis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish I had read it sooner!, 30 May 2003
By A Customer
I have just done my exam in this subject and only really started using the book a couple of weeks before and just wished I had opened it sooner!
CASES: There are loads of relevant cases in here. They contain sections of the speeches, commentary by the authors and also, something that is incredibly useful- if an important statute is mentioned in the case it gives you that too! Instead of having to read all the case then try and find the statute then find the section of the statute relevant to the case! Obviously, the cases are not printed in full but the sections it gives you are the most relevant.
STATUTES etc: As said earlier, these sometimes appear with cases. What I wanted to point out here was that this book contains the Articles of the European Convention on Human Rights and the Human Rights Act, obviously very useful!
ARTICLES: These are great for getting that extra depth of understanding.
STRUCTURE: This book is presented in sections. In each section are the relevant cases, articles etc. This makes life a lot easier when preparing for tutorials or revising to have one topic completely presented to you.
Excellent book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clarity, 6 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good, in terms of writing style, and clarity. It was what I needed in term of cases. There's the benefit of some full judgements which is useful for analytical purposes.

Very contemperary, up-to-date, and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extemely difficult to read, 2 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Stephen Lewis (Coventry, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This an an Open University set book. It is not the fault of the authors, but without good eye-sight the book is extremely difficult to read. Much of the book uses a tiny black font printed upon a blue background. I can read it in good light for a short spin, but it is too great a challenge when it comes to reading multiple pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Constitutiona and Administrative Law, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cases and Materials on Constitutional and Administrative Law (Paperback)
Recommended book by the University. It's okay as I can find most cases which are being referred. The material i.e. notes can be a little more easy to understand. Would recommend it though as the cases are easily accessible and comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good condition on arrival, 9 Nov 2009
By 
Ms. A. Adebayo (the uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
arrived in good condition and on time and has been a good addition to my public law collection of textbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a book at all, 29 Oct 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To me a (academic) book is a collection of reasoning thoughts that helps the reader to understand the subject matter. This book is really just a collection of cases and quotes that are quite difficult to read. The authors, if you can call them that (because they simply quote others most of the time) really do very little writing at all. The is almost no analysis in this book. It is just a collection of other people's writings.

I wasted about 6 hours of my life trying to read this rubbish. This book was a required reading on my course, but I sent it back.

I can only assume this is a case of academics recommending other people's books. It get's 2 stars because it does contain a lot of cases on the subject... but you have to make your own analysis.

Simply rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cases and Materials on Constitutional and Administrative Law
Cases and Materials on Constitutional and Administrative Law by Brian Thompson (Paperback - 26 May 2011)
Used & New from: £4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews