Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars28
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2010
Wow, this is the only MRCP text I've read which addresses the new station 5 properly.....which is a big thumbs up as its worth about 1/3 total marks (and the bit my friends seem to fail)!! Also provides lots of common sense non patronising advice re how to approach each station, including an explanation of the mark schemes.

The medicine is pitched at the right level.....a good balance between being easy to read and providing sufficient detail to be of value beyond just passing the exam.

The sample "examiners questions" are followed by statements which directly answer the questions....sounds obvious, but not true of all the PACES books on the market!

History stations also well covered.....ethics section starts with a summary of all the key concepts, followed by lots of case examples.

Like the other reviewer I was also skeptical....esp as I'd already borrowed a lot of the other PACES books from friends for free.....but def worth the money! Compliments CASES FOR PACES and easier to read than HALL. Its also the text I want to keep hold of for future reference after exam is over.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2010
By far the best PACES text according to me. Good representation of station 5 and clinical stations 1and3 are well explained as well.
Would definitely recommend.
Well worth the money. Said hard cover when I bought it through amazon but received paperback. Besides that great book.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2010
i was sceptical before ordering this book, but there were hardly any books that were out in the market that were current...ryder is too outdated now, it was written in 2003... when i recieved both the volumes of this book, i was enjoying reading the simple way each case in presented...

vol 1 is abt stations 1,3,5.. this is the only books in the market that gives a good presentation of station5 cases... numerous st5 cases.... plus the abdomen resp cvs and neuro are excellent..

volume 2 is abt station 2 and 4... the communication skills and ethical dilemmas are explained in a succint and easy to understand manner. for example the mental health capacity act 2005 etc.. legal jargon is simplified into medical jargon (often easier to understand)

all in all great book to start and excel in your paces exam... best of luck
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2011
I have purchased almost every book available to study for this blasted exam and I can easilly say that this is the best so far. The only book that properly covers station 5. well worth the money!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
This book (solely) got me through PACES. I bought about 7 different volumes of PACES revision texts (ACES for PACES, cases for PACES, MRCP revision etc) and looked through them all before selecting this one as the best laid out, containing the most information in the most easy to read and retain way.

It's hugely detailed and will take you a long while to work through but the way it is laid out is excellent, and unique amongst the revision books. It covers every probable type of case by each different station individually starting with a "real patient" mock-up description of examination findings just as you would announce after you had examined a patient in the exam. Following that are a series of explanations of what these findings are and important things to watch out for and mention, ways to score gold star points in the eyes of the examiners. Lastly it goes through multiple different possible follow up questions and answers, all of which are hugely educational and not just exam tips.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2010
Its much better than most of the PACES books I have come across, the station 5 stuff is a bonus too. The communication and ethics which can normally be quite long-winded, is very clear and comprehensive, and in gives you all information in bullet points. I really like this book as it teaches you to pick up on the important parts of the history and lists the likely questions might be that the examiners ask.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2011
This book review had been the best of the lot i had for the PACES examination.Well written,organised,specifically formulated to prepare you for paces,although it is more extensive and will help in overall medical and postgraduate students respectively.A much much better book than Ryder and Tim hall,and i might say best book review to prepare for paces.Only book to present station 5 scenarios seperately.
I recommend this series as a must read books for preparation of the PACES exam.........HIGHLY VALUABLE STUFF>>>>>
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
I read both these books and the gold/silver ones and although it's probably sacrilegious to write I thought they were better. The detail is almost identical but they are easier to digest and read. I used them almost exclusively towards the end - pretty much memorised word for word and then regurgitated them panic fashion in the exam- worked a treat!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Well written with good sections on further information and typical (and evil) examiner questions with textbook answers.

Comprehensive content including extensive opthalmology and musculoskeletal chapters. I found this book more helpful than Ryder though it does not cover ideal examination technique.

A worthy investment
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Very well written revision aid, covering hundreds of the most common presentations and then elaborating on complex key points. Very easy to use communication stations as well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)