Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from 2010 PACES candidate
Wow, this is the only MRCP text I've read which addresses the new station 5 properly.....which is a big thumbs up as its worth about 1/3 total marks (and the bit my friends seem to fail)!! Also provides lots of common sense non patronising advice re how to approach each station, including an explanation of the mark schemes.

The medicine is pitched at the right...
Published on 12 Sep 2010 by Dr Gordon

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content but very poor editing and presentation
The content of the two volumes is excellent. However there are a number of problems:

1. Both volumes are littered with typo's, partly because they are so text heavy

2. Vol 1 lacks a proper contents section, so it's not the easiest book to navigate. In volume 2, the contents page is located about 20 pages in for some reason, after the glossary and...
Published 21 months ago by Ethan Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from 2010 PACES candidate, 12 Sep 2010
This review is from: Clinical Medicine for the MRCP PACES Pack (Oxford Specialty Training: Revision Texts) (Paperback)
Wow, this is the only MRCP text I've read which addresses the new station 5 properly.....which is a big thumbs up as its worth about 1/3 total marks (and the bit my friends seem to fail)!! Also provides lots of common sense non patronising advice re how to approach each station, including an explanation of the mark schemes.

The medicine is pitched at the right level.....a good balance between being easy to read and providing sufficient detail to be of value beyond just passing the exam.

The sample "examiners questions" are followed by statements which directly answer the questions....sounds obvious, but not true of all the PACES books on the market!

History stations also well covered.....ethics section starts with a summary of all the key concepts, followed by lots of case examples.

Like the other reviewer I was also skeptical....esp as I'd already borrowed a lot of the other PACES books from friends for free.....but def worth the money! Compliments CASES FOR PACES and easier to read than HALL. Its also the text I want to keep hold of for future reference after exam is over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent, 30 Sep 2010
This review is from: Clinical Medicine for the MRCP PACES Pack (Oxford Specialty Training: Revision Texts) (Paperback)
By far the best PACES text according to me. Good representation of station 5 and clinical stations 1and3 are well explained as well.
Would definitely recommend.
Well worth the money. Said hard cover when I bought it through amazon but received paperback. Besides that great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miles better than Ryder....and covers station 5 too!!!!!, 21 Sep 2010
This review is from: Clinical Medicine for the MRCP PACES Pack (Oxford Specialty Training: Revision Texts) (Paperback)
Its much better than most of the PACES books I have come across, the station 5 stuff is a bonus too. The communication and ethics which can normally be quite long-winded, is very clear and comprehensive, and in gives you all information in bullet points. I really like this book as it teaches you to pick up on the important parts of the history and lists the likely questions might be that the examiners ask.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PACES preparation, 25 Mar 2011
This review is from: Clinical Medicine for the MRCP PACES Pack (Oxford Specialty Training: Revision Texts) (Paperback)
This book review had been the best of the lot i had for the PACES examination.Well written,organised,specifically formulated to prepare you for paces,although it is more extensive and will help in overall medical and postgraduate students respectively.A much much better book than Ryder and Tim hall,and i might say best book review to prepare for paces.Only book to present station 5 scenarios seperately.
I recommend this series as a must read books for preparation of the PACES exam.........HIGHLY VALUABLE STUFF>>>>>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best books out there, 13 Jun 2011
This review is from: Clinical Medicine for the MRCP PACES Pack (Oxford Specialty Training: Revision Texts) (Paperback)
I have purchased almost every book available to study for this blasted exam and I can easilly say that this is the best so far. The only book that properly covers station 5. well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this one beats ryder....., 3 Sep 2010
This review is from: Clinical Medicine for the MRCP PACES Pack (Oxford Specialty Training: Revision Texts) (Paperback)
i was sceptical before ordering this book, but there were hardly any books that were out in the market that were current...ryder is too outdated now, it was written in 2003... when i recieved both the volumes of this book, i was enjoying reading the simple way each case in presented...

vol 1 is abt stations 1,3,5.. this is the only books in the market that gives a good presentation of station5 cases... numerous st5 cases.... plus the abdomen resp cvs and neuro are excellent..

volume 2 is abt station 2 and 4... the communication skills and ethical dilemmas are explained in a succint and easy to understand manner. for example the mental health capacity act 2005 etc.. legal jargon is simplified into medical jargon (often easier to understand)

all in all great book to start and excel in your paces exam... best of luck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good revision aid, 3 Jan 2014
By 
M. Roycroft (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clinical Medicine for the MRCP PACES Pack (Oxford Specialty Training: Revision Texts) (Paperback)
Very well written revision aid, covering hundreds of the most common presentations and then elaborating on complex key points. Very easy to use communication stations as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Paces text, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clinical Medicine for the MRCP PACES Pack (Oxford Specialty Training: Revision Texts) (Paperback)
Well written with good sections on further information and typical (and evil) examiner questions with textbook answers.

Comprehensive content including extensive opthalmology and musculoskeletal chapters. I found this book more helpful than Ryder though it does not cover ideal examination technique.

A worthy investment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clinical Medicine for the MRCP PACES Pack (Oxford Specialty Training: Revision Texts) (Paperback)
I read both these books and the gold/silver ones and although it's probably sacrilegious to write I thought they were better. The detail is almost identical but they are easier to digest and read. I used them almost exclusively towards the end - pretty much memorised word for word and then regurgitated them panic fashion in the exam- worked a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book for PACES exam, 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clinical Medicine for the MRCP PACES Pack (Oxford Specialty Training: Revision Texts) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for PACES preparation. I thoroughly enjoyed reading, it helped me in day today ward and clinic stuffs too. Must read book for PACES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clinical Medicine for the MRCP PACES Pack (Oxford Specialty Training: Revision Texts)
£49.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews