Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable part of the wartime jigsaw
This book contains numerous articles written by some of those invisible people who actually took part in this top secret project. Some of the accounts are those of frustration, from people not allowed to get the recognition that they and their colleagues deserve. The level of detail and understanding shown makes this a very interesting and unique picture. I would...
Published on 31 May 2006 by PJC

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Colossus review
After a visit to Bletchley Park I was keen to delve further into the dark world of cryptography. As the title suggests this book concentrates on one of the final pieces of kit which speeded up no end the breaking and reading of German codes. I was with it all for the first two or three chapters but after that it was a struggle - a knowledge of advanced maths is a...
Published on 13 Dec 2010 by L. S. Connell


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable part of the wartime jigsaw, 31 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book contains numerous articles written by some of those invisible people who actually took part in this top secret project. Some of the accounts are those of frustration, from people not allowed to get the recognition that they and their colleagues deserve. The level of detail and understanding shown makes this a very interesting and unique picture. I would recommend it without hesitation. Their ability to inject humour in the most serious of stories gives you some idea of the luck and good fortune that resulted in the most important achievements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bletchley Park unveiled, 9 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This detailed account of the life and people who worked at Bletchley Park is a compelling read, whether or not you are interested in the hardware and technical explanations, of which there is an abundance, but for the personal accounts from those who were involved.

What comes across in these is the extraordinary loyalty and determination of individuals and teams, in spite of the poor living accommodation, welfare and working conditions afforded them in return for their genius and ingenuity.

However, these people fought with their brains. Driven by a collective resolve, winning was cracking a new cipher, which could save hundreds of lives by unveiling a single sentence.

The late Tommy Flowers' section on his work at the Post Office's Dollis Hill research centre using thermionic valves is a fascinating insight as to how it became possible to process data at speeds in powers of ten over mechanical systems, an overture to today's nano-transistor, gigahertz-clocked multi-core power processors.

Combined with the sheer intellectual capacity of the mathematicians working on the project to provide the basis of the programming, this was the key technology that made breaking deeply encrypted messages possible in useable timescales.

It also raises a poignant thought: the `Colossi' - there were quite few of them - seemed to become like trusted old friends, and their destruction after the end of hostilities was viewed by most working with them as a sad affair. Perhaps with 20-20 vision in hindsight, an over-zealous application of the Official Secrets Act, which held back the UK computer industry for decades?

Of interest to historians and the plain curious, this is a quality collection of information on the essence of what made Bletchley Park...and modern computing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 17 Jun 2010
This review is from: Colossus: The secrets of Bletchley Park's code-breaking computers (Paperback)
I am a volunteer at Bletchley Park and as such give talks and tours on Colossus, Heath Robinson, Tunny etc. This book is simply the best that I have ever read on the subject. It has allowed me to fill in all sorts of blanks and uncertainties.
It has so many reports from peoplem who actually worked at Bletchley Park, that is is undoubtedly a "bible" for those who need it. There are many worked examples on decrypting Tunny, describing the chi, psi and motor wheels.
By the way, if you visit Bletchley Park, also take a look at the National Museum of Computing too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colossus -, 20 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone with an interest in the mechanics of codes and ciphers, and also an interest in Bletchley, Enigma, Alan Turing, and chandestine/covert WWII subjects like the XX Committee, MI9, SOE and so on, this book didn't need to be sold to me.

It is easy to assume that Bletchley = Turing = Enigma, but what this book does spectacularly is to reveal, nay, stress, that there were many others (Max Newman and Tom Flowers are two, I haven't got room to name all the participants deserving of being named) without whom Bletchley would either not have existed or not been (as) successful.
There is a huge amount of mathematics in this book, and my (very old) A-level Mathematics came in very handy. However, those that are not mathematically inclined can skip over the detailed maths and continue reading the story and won't miss very much. The obscure material is substantial and detailed but it doesn't interfere with the narrative.

Apart from dispelling a few misapprehensions about the importance of Enigma encipherment and machines relative to Tunny and the Lorenz machines, the most fascinating part was the first person stories of the Bletchley people - or their surviving relatives, and that is this book's great strength or "USP" (unique selling point) in today's jargon.
Good to know how and why a 1940s Colossus was quicker at processing some jobs than my 2010 dual-core PC !

The sense of loss that these genius people and the many hundreds of men and women who executed their plans never received any recognition for their war work is palpable and the book treats that stain on Britain's record in a matter of fact way.
There is, after all, some Bletchley material that has not been declassified. Not yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bletchley Park books, 1 Sep 2007
By 
A. R. Bailey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very interesting book written by those who were involved. Much easier to read than Paul Gannon's book as it is personal rather than historical from documents. A very interesting book and I can thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Colossus review, 13 Dec 2010
By 
L. S. Connell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colossus: The secrets of Bletchley Park's code-breaking computers (Paperback)
After a visit to Bletchley Park I was keen to delve further into the dark world of cryptography. As the title suggests this book concentrates on one of the final pieces of kit which speeded up no end the breaking and reading of German codes. I was with it all for the first two or three chapters but after that it was a struggle - a knowledge of advanced maths is a positive advantage! The following chapters were mainly reminiscencies of senior staff including their particular theoretical or practical problems. There are appendices at the back with detailed tables etc. which provide or enlarge on the technical details mentioned within the body of the book.
This I think is a tome for the more advanced student of this fascinating subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good book, bad ebook, 8 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. C. M. J. Little (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The problems with ebooks are becoming apparent. All the photographs save one have been deleted. Most of the diagrams and tables, essential to a proper understanding of the text, are unreadably even when zoomed. I wish I had bought the print version

CMJ Little
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where are the photographs?, 5 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic resource for my next lecture course! Start with 5 stars. But a few serious defects. The contributions by the actual people who did the code breaking are fascinating, but some of them haven't got the gift of explaining things clearly (and why should they?), also this results in a lot of repetition. Better editing would have helped. Lose one star. BUT WHERE ARE THE PHOTOGRAPHS IN THE E-BOOK? When I return to the UK I intend to visit the local trading standards office... Lose another star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 26 April 2006
By 
J. Hazell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Couldn't put it down. You are lectured by some of the worlds greatest scientists, who undoubtably save the western world from the Nazis; it is written with humour and in excellent style. What fortune that the release of this classified information was just in time (but only just) to allow contributions from those who really 'won the war'. The repetition of how Colossus worked by its many contributors allows non-techies to really understand what it did, and how the first computer was British not American! Da Vinci code - eat your heart out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Badly edited, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A collection of items from different sources but badly edited because they often say the same thing. The detailed explanations could be difficult to follow for someone not fairly familiar with binary arithmetic and computer architecture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colossus: The secrets of Bletchley Park's code-breaking computers
Colossus: The secrets of Bletchley Park's code-breaking computers by B. Jack Copeland and others (Paperback - 18 Mar 2010)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews