Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars German dictionary.
This dictionary is a handy accompaniment for any German student. Whilst it doesn't contain every word translation (as expected for a concise dictionary), it does have a comprehensive list of words. I use this dictionary to take to my German classes and use it alongside a larger, un-portable dictionary.
Published on 23 Oct 2011 by Stephen Bahooshy

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I bought this dictionary to replace my 1997 compact Oxford-Duden, which has come to pieces with use. I am translating a short story from German to English (not a particularly difficult story) and found that this dictionary is entirely useless for this kind of work. Its vocabulary is very limited and concentrated on immediately modern and day-to-day "useful" translations...
Published on 26 April 2012 by asd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 26 April 2012
This review is from: Oxford Essential German Dictionary (Paperback)
I bought this dictionary to replace my 1997 compact Oxford-Duden, which has come to pieces with use. I am translating a short story from German to English (not a particularly difficult story) and found that this dictionary is entirely useless for this kind of work. Its vocabulary is very limited and concentrated on immediately modern and day-to-day "useful" translations. It has virtually no synonyms. I found myself looking up words on line rather than in the dictionary. it isn't simply the fact of it being a pocket dictionary. The 1997 Oxford-Duden was perfectly adequate for reading Thomas Mann and Goethe in bed.This is really only for students learning German. There must be readers like me who have quite good German but need a portable dictionary from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars German dictionary., 23 Oct 2011
This review is from: Oxford Essential German Dictionary (Paperback)
This dictionary is a handy accompaniment for any German student. Whilst it doesn't contain every word translation (as expected for a concise dictionary), it does have a comprehensive list of words. I use this dictionary to take to my German classes and use it alongside a larger, un-portable dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not the best dictionary, 23 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Essential German Dictionary (Paperback)
I only needed a dictionary for basic information on the meaning of unknown German words and German phonetic pronunciation, for some reason this is given for English words but not how to pronounce the German words, there is a section on pronuncation at the start of the German/English translation but it is very complicated and not helpfull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars School German, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Tori (UK/Denmark) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Essential German Dictionary (Paperback)
I bought this for my son as he has started to learn German in school, its fairly strong and light book which means its not to bad to carry around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Essential German Dictionary (Paperback)
Bought for the homework and it serves it purpose. If you wanted to buy would recommend and it's a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Volume, 20 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Essential German Dictionary (Paperback)
Quick delivery, very well packaged, very professional seller and I am happy to have bought this. As it is for a present, not opened the book yet, but trust the OED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars german dictionary, 1 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. C. Stanton (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Essential German Dictionary (Paperback)
very good for the price and does the job fine. Obviously not as comprehensive as a major publishing but is enough for every day use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good source of reference, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Essential German Dictionary (Paperback)
Had German exchange student whose English was perfect of course, but my German's poor and this little dictionary saved me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic dictionary, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Essential German Dictionary (Paperback)
This is good for a beginner but unfortunately doesn't contain any grammar info, which was a bit of a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars school books, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Essential German Dictionary (Paperback)
needed this for my daughter as she is learning german at school and it gives you the german words and the english so it is very helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Essential German Dictionary
Oxford Essential German Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries (Paperback - 13 May 2010)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews