Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all fans
This collection of Jane Austens letters is a must for all fans who would like a peek inside the mind of the author. It is the most extensive collection to date and Le Faye has done quite a lot to make it as accessible as possible. It features all of the surviving letters from Jane Austen to her sister Cassandra plus some letters to some of her brothers, a niece, etc. It...
Published on 8 May 2002

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly written and dull letters
At last, the definitive collection of the badly written and dreary letters of Jane Austen, heavily criticised by intelligent critics when the majority of them were first published as being totally unworthy of the author. Critics of the time even compared the letters to the boring ramblings of Miss Bates in "Emma".

The letters have absolutely nothing to...
Published 13 days ago by Mr. N. Ennos


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all fans, 8 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Jane Austen's Letters (Paperback)
This collection of Jane Austens letters is a must for all fans who would like a peek inside the mind of the author. It is the most extensive collection to date and Le Faye has done quite a lot to make it as accessible as possible. It features all of the surviving letters from Jane Austen to her sister Cassandra plus some letters to some of her brothers, a niece, etc. It also includes three letters from Cassandra to various relatives from the time immediately after Jane Austens death and so also shows Jane Austen from another persons perspective. The only drawback of this book is that all the notes are in the back, arranged by the number of each letter, and so you find yourself flipping back and forth quite a lot but it is an annoyance well worth putting up with.
I have read quite a few bibliographies on Jane Austen but there is no competing with her own words. If you have any kind of interest in Jane Austen as a person then you should definitely get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fan., 16 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Jane Austen's Letters (Paperback)
This book gave me a better understanding of this extraordinary writer who I adore. Looking into Jane's letters gives a better picture of her humor, her love for her family, her wit and intelligence. I am happy I made this purchase and overcame my guilt of reading something so personal as her letters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AUSTEN'S ERA LEAPS OFF THE PAGE, 8 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen's Letters (Hardcover)
This new edition of Jane Austen's letters must surely take pride of place on the bookshelves of anyone who claims to love this extraordinary novelist.

The minutiae of her daily existence are meticulously recorded, and it is Austen's talent for expressing the seemingly mundane that brings the author and her letters so remarkably to life. Of the political history of all periods we have more than our fair share, subject as it is to the interpretation and opinion of various historians - popular or otherwise - and our understanding of an age changes every day, but it is only through contact with letters and journals such as these that we can stand face to face with the ordinary men and women that make up an era.

To quote from the product description above:
"This fourth edition incorporates the findings of new scholarship to enrich our understanding of Austen and give us the fullest and most revealing view yet of her life and family. There is a new preface, the biographical and topographical indexes have been amended and updated, a new subject index has been created, and the contents of the notes added to the general index."

Readers perhaps unfamiliar with Austen should not be put off by the parochial and intimate detail that fills her letters - it is precisely that detail and her powers of observation that make her novels as relevant today as they were when first published two centuries ago. To read her letters is to enter the same room as Miss Austen and her correspondents, to hear their laughter and tears, and to share in the daily life of this astonishing and unfortunately short-lived genius.

This fourth edition is elegantly produced in one volume - maybe a little tightly bound to be quite comfortable, and in a size of print that is not always easy on the eye - but minor quibbles aside, Austen devotees (hand in hand with those just beginning their acquaintance with her) can and should relish every lively word. It will be a long time before this edition is superseded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but..., 16 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen's Letters (Paperback)
rather heavy going. The letters themselves are fascinating insofar as they reveal the everyday workings of the mind that created well-loved literary masterpieces. The turns of phrase are easily recognizable as Austen and in some cases exquisitely ironic or extremely funny. Any admirer of Austen's writing will appreciate them.

On the downside, they are not, for the most part, about anything important. Most of them were written to her sister Cassandra, with whom Austen lived during the whole of her life; for the most important events in her life Austen actually was with her sister and had no need to write to her. She also had no need to expound at length on any general subject; she could talk about these with her sister in person with more convenience and at no expense. They were written when one or the other were away visiting friends and are the normal, gossipy letters anyone might write to their sister, while they were away on holiday. If you are expecting revelations about Austen's life or great insights in what she thought on life, you are going to be disappointed.

I enjoyed them, but I am a great fan; I would not recommend to someone who wasn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Badly written and dull letters, 17 May 2015
By 
Mr. N. Ennos - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jane Austen's Letters (Hardcover)
At last, the definitive collection of the badly written and dreary letters of Jane Austen, heavily criticised by intelligent critics when the majority of them were first published as being totally unworthy of the author. Critics of the time even compared the letters to the boring ramblings of Miss Bates in "Emma".

The letters have absolutely nothing to do with the true author of the novels who, as I show in my book "Jane Austen - a New Revelation" was Jane Austen's cousin and sister in law, Eliza de Feuillide. Eliza was unable to publish under her own name as she was the illegitimate daughter of Warren Hastings, the Governor General of India.

To facilitate this disguise, in the nineteenth century the Austen family destroyed all of Eliza's letters and all but 200 of the 3000 letters of Jane Austen. The letters in this book are the ones that were not censored. However, a few matters got missed during this censorship. In particular, a letter of Jane Austen of 29 January 1813 shows that all of the novels had been written by this date, a few months before Eliza's death. It even gives the prices that are to be charged for each of the novels. This shows that the official dates showing "Emma" and "Persuasion" as having been written after this date were falsified by the Austen family in the nineteenth century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable item for authors of Regency Romances, 4 Mar. 2012
By 
This review is from: Jane Austen's Letters (Hardcover)
Jane's wit and observations combined with gossipy prose affords wonderful insight to her era, its social values, and the cost of living. As the family suffers ups and downs in monetary terms we learn the price of goods and fare and how recycling old for new was not always a charitable endeavour but sometimes driven by necessity. Diedre has done a wonderful job with the presentation of this collection, and it's worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Jane Austen, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen's Letters (Hardcover)
which is why I purchased this book - also purchased another copy for a sister in America like me is an Austenite. We had both only heard and perhaps read of these letters so it was an absolute joy to read them in a hard backed book.
we have discussed these letters at great length and the fact that the wording is so fresh it could have been written today. I would recommend this book to any Jane Austen fans obviously but also to anyone who likes a nice gossipy read. they are stories in themselves - full of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An intimate record of Jane's Life, 25 May 2014
By 
D. J. Dillon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen's Letters (Hardcover)
This volume is an essential addition to the library of any lover of the works of Jane Austen. Biographies never get close to the real Jane, these letters are her! In them you will find much trivia but also they express the true, sharp and intense, mischievous and sometimes downright rude Jane. Anyone who wants not only to live in the world of her novels but to accompany the author in her daily joys, losses, excitements and disappointments, in fact her life, this is the book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive version of the letters., 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen's Letters (Paperback)
This updates the R.W Chapman version of the letters and includes 14 extra letters from Jane Austen. It also has Deirdre Le Faye's extensive notes which run to more than 200 pages and provide clarification on people and places and background historical information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Austen fans at a very reasonable price, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen's Letters (Paperback)
I already had a book of selected letters but wanted the complete collection.

This book was available at a very reasonable price and arrived promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jane Austen's Letters
Jane Austen's Letters by Deirdre Le Faye (Hardcover - 20 Oct. 2011)
£22.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews