Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neutrinos Galore
Perhaps the most beautifully written as well as highly informative book on the particle that pervades every square of our Universe. Frank Close interweaves the chronological discovery and subsequent chase for the Neutrino, in a way that unfolds as a story whilst at the same time informing us all about this elusive particle. A real page turner, and exciting stuff.
Published on 14 Mar 2011 by Mr. Raymond L. Hall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better
I bought this at the same time as Antimatter. This is the better book, but still not great. You can probably get much of the info of wikipedia in a much shorter time.
Published 7 months ago by Captain Sensible


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars neutrino, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neutrino (Kindle Edition)
This is the story of discovery of neutrino and experiments to detect it. My only criticism is that at times the history is repetitive. But as it is one the few popular book on the subject, it is worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a penetrating introduction to neutrinos, 28 Nov 2011
By 
DEREK PHARE (CARDIGAN, PEMBS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neutrino (Hardcover)
I HAVE BEEN FASCINATED ABOUT NUCLEAR AND PARTICLE PHYSICS SINCE I WAS A KID (NOW AN 81 YO KID), WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO MAKE AN ATOMIC BOMB IN MY MUM'S KITCHEN. SHE CAUGHT ME IN THE PROCESS AND WHEN I EXPLAINED WHAT I WAS DOING, SHE SAID 'IF YOU WANT TO MAKE ATOMIC BOMBS, GO IN THE SHED AND DO IT, NOT IN MY KITCHEN'.THAT SHOWED THE EXTENT OF UNDERSTANDING AT THAT TIME OF BOTH MOTHER AND ME! MY MUM HAS SINCE GONE TO JOIN THE ATOMS AND MOLECULES ON A MORE FUNDAMENTAL BASIS, WHILE I, STILL A LAYMAN IN THE SUBJECTS, HAVE LEARNT A LOT MORE, ESPECIALLY WITH THE HELP OF SCIENTISTS LIKE POLKINGHORNE, HAWKING, PENROSE, DAWKINS AND ESPECIALLY FRANK CLOSE, WHO IN HIS SERIES OF BRILLIANT SHORT INTRODUCTIONS TO VARIOUS SUB ATOMIC PARTICLES, HAS MADE, IN A VERY READABLE, CLEAR AND ENJOYABLE STYLE, DIFFICULT SUBJECTS ENTERTAINING AND UNDERSTANDABLE. TRY WRITING LIKE THAT ABOUT 'NOTHING', AS HE DID AND SEE IT'S NOT AT ALL AN EASY SUBJECT, BUT HE MAKES IT SEEM SO! HE AND RICHARD DAWKINS PARTICULARLY, HAVE THAT WONDERFUL GIFT OF IMPARTING KNOWLEDGE ABOUT DIFFICULT SUBJECTS IN AN UNPRETENTIOUS BUT HIGHLY INFORMATIVE WAY THAT ANYONE, WITH A BIT OF EFFORT AND DESIRE, CAN GRASP AND ENJOY.
I RECOMMEND NOT JUST THIS BOOK,Neutrino BUT ALL HIS BOOKS AND HOPE I LIVE LONG ENOUGH TO READ HIS DESCRIPTION OF HOW THEY HAVE AT LAST FOUND THE HIGGS BOSON - OR NOT, AND WHAT THAT MEANS! FOR GOOD READING ON SCIENTIFIC MATTERS, NO ONE COMES CLOSE!(SORRY!). I WOULD JUST ADD THAT AMAZON IS AN EXCELLENT PLACE TO BUY THESE BOOKS, ACCESS TO REVIEWS, KEEN PRICES, FREE DELIVERY AND GOOD CUSTOMER SUPPORT. PRAISE WHERE IT IS DUE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic account of the discovery and properties of the neutrino, 23 April 2012
By 
J. Hallows (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neutrino (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful read, and a must read for anyone interested in particle physics. Very well written, and pitched perfectly for the intelligent public. I'm looking forward to re-reading this in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very readable account of a complex subject, 9 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neutrino (Hardcover)
I took this book on holiday to intermingle with some crime fiction and found it very informative. Frank Close has an easy style and introduced the various scientists steadily whilst moving the story along at a good pace.I had read 'Spaceship Neutrino' by Christine Sutton 2 or 3 years ago and both books cover the subject very well. At the end of this book I felt that I knew the people better but was still struggling to understand whether there was even a proposed mechanism for the way in which neutrinos change flavour and why they had to be created separately for conservation reasons but could then transform. It wasn't clear whether it's too complicated for this book or just has no current proposals.
Nevertheless, a very satisfying read and I will keep an eye out for future developments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neutrino, 9 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neutrino (Hardcover)
Typical Frank Close. Easy to read without having a mathematics degree. Very enlightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Might be a good book but the summary is terrible, 6 Mar 2012
This review is from: Neutrino (Hardcover)
I cant resist on commenting about some phrases in Product Description that do the book a disservice.
"formed in millions in the Sun" - the sun has produced alot more than a million neutrios, many many many more!
"passing as they do like ghosts they were not regarded as significant" - being weakly interacting does not make them insignificant. The weak interaction is and always was a major part of modern particle physics.

Maybe the description has done the book a disservice (always possible with over enthusiastic sales people) I have not read it but personally I would recommend "Neutrino Astrophysics" by John N. Bahcall. It is an old book but full of good information although it predates some important recent discoveries.

Got to give in a 1..5 star rating but I dont really want to, this is just a comment on the description. I will have to give it a 3/5 but ideally I would comment without a rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Neutrino
Neutrino by Frank Close (Hardcover - 14 Oct 2010)
£9.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews