Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Bridge between theory and practice
As the title suggests this book fills a void that has existed between the theory of what is learnt at university and what you actually get 'to do' when you are qualified and working in a histo-lab. I have to confess I haven't read all of it yet, but so far the information provided is spot on with regard to what happens in the lab (I work in one!) The layout is appealing...
Published on 2 April 2012 by D. Lane

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lack detail
Who would seriously read this book? This book lack serious detail!! It also lack proper and appropriate examples! NOT WORTH THE COST!!!
Published on 26 Dec. 2012 by Hamad Khan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Bridge between theory and practice, 2 April 2012
By 
D. Lane (Paignton, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Histopathology (Fundamentals of Biomedical Science) (Paperback)
As the title suggests this book fills a void that has existed between the theory of what is learnt at university and what you actually get 'to do' when you are qualified and working in a histo-lab. I have to confess I haven't read all of it yet, but so far the information provided is spot on with regard to what happens in the lab (I work in one!) The layout is appealing too, not too text heavy with nice illustrations together with photgraphs of actual pathology cases. The book uses case studies to explore fundamentals and looks at the basic principles that underpin the practice. Highly recommended for students and those already practicing!
Edit - there are a couple of mistakes that I have picked up, one is regarding the quenching of endogenous peroxidase for IHC methods - it mentions using methanol and hydrogen peroxidase, it should be hydrogen peroxide. The other is a very common error regarding Amyloid and the birefringent effects - there is no such thing as 'Apple-green birefringence' (despite what you've heard!) birefringence is a process and as such does not have colour in itself! See Alexander Howie's good work on Amyloid staining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lack detail, 26 Dec. 2012
By 
Hamad Khan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Who would seriously read this book? This book lack serious detail!! It also lack proper and appropriate examples! NOT WORTH THE COST!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Histopathology, 3 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Histopathology (Fundamentals of Biomedical Science) (Paperback)
I am in the last year of the Applied Biomedical Science degree, and work in the microbiology labs.
I found this book useful with it being a different department to the one I work in. It is from the IBMS, and I would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Updated and nice design, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Histopathology (Fundamentals of Biomedical Science) (Paperback)
This book is very updated, full of basic information and friendly designed. I appreciated the diagramming and the high quality microphotographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good for university students, 11 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Histopathology (Fundamentals of Biomedical Science) (Paperback)
Very basic information, good for university students. Not so good for professionals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Histopathology (Fundamentals of Biomedical Science) (Paperback)
Very useful for biomedical student
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Histopathology (Fundamentals of Biomedical Science) (Paperback)
Arrived on time would use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Histopathology (Fundamentals of Biomedical Science)
Histopathology (Fundamentals of Biomedical Science) by Guy Orchard (Paperback - 29 Sept. 2011)
£34.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews