Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than an intro. a great little book to carry around for reference., 4 May 2011
This review is from: Planets: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
This book covers more than just the Planets and describes the Solar System succinctly. Superb chapters on Europa and some of the other satellites.
A scientific book that is a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planets: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Lovely little book - great to accompany astronomy courses or just for a general knowledge - this is well written and easy to read .
a great coffee table book and a welcome addition to any book case
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compact but fascinating, 3 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planets: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
I thought I knew a lot about the solar system and planets in general but it turns out I'd barely scratched the surface and I was hanging onto many scientific assumptions that have been debunked or revised in the past ten years. The chapter on Exoplanets and the debate about Pluto's status are particular highlights, did you know the largest planet astronomers have thus far discovered is ten times the size of Jupiter? Filled with amazing facts such as these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Planets, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planets: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
A good introduction much in keeping with the series. I like this simple format as it is easy to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic run-down, 22 July 2013
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Planets: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
The Very Short Introduction series are written by professors of the subject and are aimed at provoking cross-discipline intrigue in the reader that may incite further investigation and reading - and boy are they good at achieving exactly that; often they leave more questions than answers.

Planets details the solar system in general, then spends the majority (41/125 pages) talking about planets like Earth (Rocky Planets) before detailing the gas giants, satellites, rings, asteroids and trans-Neptunian objects (TNOs) - the description of which are largely factual, with some postulation on the exact composition and formation that arise from each of the widely varied bodies.

I personally found the composition & formation of the gas giant's satellites the most interesting, referencing the missions that got us the data we have today, Europa, Io and Triton are intriguing places. It also deals with the whole Pluto classification furore. Rothery then finishes on the most intriguing thought of all; the question of life in the universe.

A deeply fascinating book, as well suited to the amateur astronomer as the professors as a quick reference book. Jam-packed with statistics and black & white photos of the planets/satellites/asteroids in question. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review of David Rothery: A Very Short Introduction Planets, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just had to get this after completing the MOOC course by Future Learn / O U and whilst it is slightly dated now it was an enjoyable refresher for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to planets., 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planets: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
a really short but excellent introduction to the planets. I bought this as a taster to an astonomy course i did, and found it very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planets: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Excellent book, contained much more information than I expected. Fantastically written, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy little book for big subject, 21 Feb 2011
This review is from: Planets: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
I have several books from this series and they are all written in an approachable manner. An excellent read for anyone who wants some introductory information on the planets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Planets: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions)
Planets: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) by David A. Rothery (Paperback - 25 Nov 2010)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews