Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent treatment of EC competition law
Probably the most comprehensive and in-depth treatment of EC competition law on the market. Very good mixture of text, case extracts (not too long) and journal articles. Unlike some casebooks which only quote paragraphs from the judgment without commentary - a summary of the facts and the judgment is also provided together with excellent critique and opinions from journal...
Published on 7 Mar 2009 by K Kwok

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars loads of unstructured information
The quality of the chapters is very uneven. The one on intellectual property rights is excellent; the rest of the book is confusing and contains loads of unstructured information.
This book is of no use for practitioners or students alike.
Published on 25 April 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent treatment of EC competition law, 7 Mar 2009
Probably the most comprehensive and in-depth treatment of EC competition law on the market. Very good mixture of text, case extracts (not too long) and journal articles. Unlike some casebooks which only quote paragraphs from the judgment without commentary - a summary of the facts and the judgment is also provided together with excellent critique and opinions from journal articles (so it's a true text and materials book).

Compared to Whish (a popular book on this subject), this book contains more detailed analysis of the caselaw (which undoubtely forms an important part of EC competition law). Also provides a better historical background and highlight of economic concepts underlying the legal principles. But given its depth, this book can be frustrating to read as a single chapter can span over a hundred pages. So not the book you would want if you just want a quick introduction to the subject or short summaries of EC case-law and guidelines/notices (Whish much better for these purposes). But this is the book to get if you really want a good understanding of EC competition law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive and the perfect companion, 10 Dec 2011
By 
Eitot (Edinburgh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: EU Competition Law: Text, Cases & Materials (Paperback)
The master course on competition law that is taught at my university relies primarily on the relevant legal sources (the Treaties, regulations, Commission guidelines, etc)--not literature. I felt that I needed a book that provides me with sufficient background information on any specific issue; the more comprehensive, the better. Jones and Sufrin satisfies this need.

The book is very comprehensive and covers not only competition law itself, but also the underlying political, social and, in particular, economic concepts and rationales. It relies heavily on case law and additional sources, but also takes legal practice into account, which makes it sometimes less academic (and perfect for my course). It is also one of the few of its kind that is up to date and `Lisbon proof'.

However, I should point out that the structure is sometimes indeed very confusing, as pointed out by another reviewer. For example, there are chapters that almost exclusively deal with the competition policy per branch (e.g. collusion and abuse of dominance), whereas others deal with the notion of cartels and oligopolies in general. In the end you might have to read multiple chapters in order to fully grasp a specific legal concept. Moreover, the chapters do not seem to be ordered in a logical manner, so you actually have to take a good look at the table of contents.

What disappointed me the most is that the book has no chapter on state aid. Instead, the chapter is provided electronically (PDF) via the Online Resource Centre. It took me a while to discover this. Frankly, I find this unacceptable. When I purchase a book, I expect it to comprise all the relevant chapters so that I do not have to rely on my computer or have to print it out myself. State aid is an essential part of competition law and should be in this book.

To conclude, I can definitely recommend this book if you are looking for a comprehensive, up-to-date book on EU competition law. I primarily used it to look up specific concepts but have not read entire chapters. For the confusing structure and the lack of an important chapter, I subtract one star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY USEFUL, 24 Mar 2008
By 
C. Donner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is an absolute beast and granted there is such an abundance of information it can be quite daunting and diffuclt to navigate however this is so comprehensive and in depth that it is ideal for any competition law student looking to write a good essay though granted it would be a great challenge to use it as a revision material. I used this book to help me in an essay and found it the best in the market and got a very good grade thanks to its guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a friendly giant, 15 Feb 2009
This isn't a book one turns to for entertainment or to get a quick overview of competition law - it is a book one uses in order to seriously get to grips with the subject. If the material seems confusing or unstructured, that is the fault of the Community Courts which can't seem to decide on whether they wish to pursue an outdated formulaic approach to Competition Law, or modernise and adopt an economic approach. While the authors could do more to summarise the law as it stands at the end of a particularly difficult issue, they really cannot be blamed for presenting a confused (and often arbitrary) area of law. Any book which purports to portray the law as straightforward is either overly simplistic or overly partisan. Unless one has the privilege of being taught by one of the authors, this giant of a book is best used in conjunction with a more general textbook such as the one by Professor Whish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SD, 27 Aug 2011
This review is from: EU Competition Law: Text, Cases & Materials (Paperback)
This book helped me a lot while studying for my exam! Theory is well structured and the cases are very well explained, this gives you a very good introduction to all you need to know about EU Competition law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect and upto Date, 9 May 2011
This review is from: EU Competition Law: Text, Cases & Materials (Paperback)
If you want learn about European competition law, this book probably is the best. The structure of the book includes discussion of the literature and review of the case law. Thus, you both learn the literature and case law. This 4th edition also takes into account latest changes brought about by the Treaty of Lisbon. So it is not also the best source but also upto date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No regret., 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EU Competition Law: Text, Cases & Materials (Paperback)
This book is clear, illustrated by numerous examples or cases extracts to help the reader to understand EU competition law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You can find almost everything about competition law!!!, 4 Jun 2010
By 
JOAO Lima Neto "Joao R." (BHZ, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very complete, if you work with competition law is a must have!!! It's Really BIG, a little bit difficult to move arround with it, but with a lot of good cases about the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars loads of unstructured information, 25 April 2003
By A Customer
The quality of the chapters is very uneven. The one on intellectual property rights is excellent; the rest of the book is confusing and contains loads of unstructured information.
This book is of no use for practitioners or students alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not too entertaining, 27 April 2001
By A Customer
Accurate and interesting. However, this "blue/green peril" is too long and does not completely convince me; there are some areas which are not well covered and some others, where the analysis is though too long, unfocused. The good textbook on EC competition law remains to be written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

EU Competition Law: Text, Cases & Materials
EU Competition Law: Text, Cases & Materials by Brenda Sufrin (Paperback - 14 Oct 2010)
Used & New from: £5.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews