Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent.
Unfortunately I do not have the appropriate knowledge or understanding to comment on the translation of the 114 surah. However, I found the English & Arabic to be laid out superbly. There is the nice feature of a bound bookmark for continued reading. It opens with an introductory and history of Islam and the Islamic founder and prophet, Muhammad.

The...
Published on 12 Feb. 2011 by Hillel ben Avraham

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good.
This review is merely for the book itself and not the translation - the English translation of the Qur'an is absolutely fine. However the purpose of this book for the reader to be able to read the English translation and also the Arabic text. I could not read the Arabic text personally as it was way too small therefore the book does not serve its purpose. The English text...
Published 23 months ago by Anonymous One


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good., 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Qur'an: English translation with parallel Arabic text (Hardcover)
This review is merely for the book itself and not the translation - the English translation of the Qur'an is absolutely fine. However the purpose of this book for the reader to be able to read the English translation and also the Arabic text. I could not read the Arabic text personally as it was way too small therefore the book does not serve its purpose. The English text was fine, however the Arabic text looked as if it was 8pt and as a result I had to return it and get the English only copy.

It's definitely a shame that they did not pay attention to the Arabic text as this would have been a great copy of the Qur'an. If you are looking to purchase this then make sure that you can read small Arabic writing - the phonetics (zabar, zer, pesh etc) are practically impossible to identify in this copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 12 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Qur'an: English translation with parallel Arabic text (Hardcover)
Unfortunately I do not have the appropriate knowledge or understanding to comment on the translation of the 114 surah. However, I found the English & Arabic to be laid out superbly. There is the nice feature of a bound bookmark for continued reading. It opens with an introductory and history of Islam and the Islamic founder and prophet, Muhammad.

The introduction not only gives a short history of Islam, but also covers the Qur'anic structure, a history of translation as well as problems in previous translations and explanations to the translation author's interpretations of certain passages. For those wishing to skip the longer history, it gives a shorter chronology of the Qur'an and a map of Arabia (612-32 CE).

For those scared of picking up a Qur'an in the fear that some terms may be lost on them, there is a useful index at the back, which I found extremely helpful.

= Further note: Added 11th November, 2013 ==

It should be noted that there is a small printing error in this edition. The error occurring on Page 112, under surah "The Feast", in which ayah 22 is given as 21, therefore causing two verses to be labelled as ayah 22. This is easily discernible however and does not compromise the quality of the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent translation, 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Qur'an: English translation with parallel Arabic text (Hardcover)
Excellent translation into English - I obviously am not able to read in its original format. I bought it to learn more about Islam for myself, through my general interest in world religions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from MAS Abdel Haleem, 16 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Qur'an: English translation with parallel Arabic text (Hardcover)
I bought 'The Quran' the one before this one which doesnt have the arabic next to it and it was great piece of work that MAS did on it. It flowed nicely and effectively and really helped me understand the quran like never before. Since then I have bought a few more books to help increase my knowledge in islam and when i saw this book had the arabic next to the english i thought it could be a good way to try and may be pick up some arabic at the same time and help me pick up on the language of arabic, as well as learning its contents.

The arabic is pretty small though. It would have been good if the arabic took up the whole page as this book is written with the standard size quran page at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must have, 19 May 2011
This review is from: The Qur'an: English translation with parallel Arabic text (Hardcover)
I have been searching for something like this for many years and it seems my prayers have finally been answered. If you are looking for an easier to read translation this Quran really hits the nail on the head. Not only is this a translation, the author has explained the reasons behind the verses, making the quran more digestable and also readable. Excellent version, would recommenend to muslims and non muslims alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 20 April 2010
By 
Moustajab A. Shah (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Qur'an: English translation with parallel Arabic text (Hardcover)
This is something I have been waiting for a long time. I had enjoyed reading the MAS Abdul Haleem translation without the arabic. It was very very good.

His paragraphing and punctuating the meanings for the Quran for me has made the book into a mini tafseer = commenttry of the Quran.

Very well done may God reward with him goodness.

But I feel it would have helped if the arabic text was spilt into paragraphs as the english does.

But at the end at least now the reader can see on the parallel the arabic text corresponding to the meanings to see from where and how they fit from the original arabic instead of opening up a separate arabic text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Year 3500, 9 Feb. 2015
By 
paul (Stansted, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Qur'an: English translation with parallel Arabic text (Hardcover)
Imagine being a human in year 3500. And you decided to study a “Revelation” that's been revealed in year 2000. “Revelation” recorded on human built computers connected to - this miraculous in its simplicity of idea - thing called “internet”. You already smile, but you carry on studying. “Revelation” is from God and it tells about God but not only. It also gives the idea of living in society without war between sexes (obvious absurd: imagine male and female dog fighting to death...). It mentions society culling itself by mutual agreement not by wars and diseases. It also mentions possibility of reaching distant galaxies without extending human life from laughable 80 years to 2 million (just for argument's sake). “Revelation” tells you many things humankind could not possibly know in year 2000 although they've become some sort of primary school knowledge in year 3350...

Reading Koran today is like event of reading “Revelation” mentioned above and reading it in year 3500. God decided that since year 610 we're still not in need of another “Revelation” so read one we've already been given and stop wasting your time on multiplying your prehistoric “opinions” about it. Amen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good translation, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Arabic print is very poor and difficult to read. But I had the hardcover book, in English, which is well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 7 July 2011
This review is from: The Qur'an: English translation with parallel Arabic text (Hardcover)
Its a must have book that should be available in every non-Arabic Muslim home ,and it should be in every room in every international Hotels that are owned by Muslims , the best gift to a non muslim person who seek to know about islam , as Abdulhalim did a great job in translating the Quran , and he included a very useful explanations that helps any non-Muslim to follow and understand the Quran, moreover; the design of the book are really beautiful, suited for a Holy book,and i like the fact that in each page, there is the original Arabic writing, and the English translation , Jazah Allaho 7'ayran, w inshallah fe Mezan 7asanatak ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reached my expectations!, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Qur'an: English translation with parallel Arabic text (Hardcover)
I decided to get this Qur'an translation by M.A.S Abdel Haleem because i saw very great reviews by some websites. I wanted to get it so i could understand the meaning of the Qur'an in not only Arabic, but also in English. That way i can build my relationship with Allah (SWT) and get closer to him. Buying this translation has helped me to understand my favorite Surahs and ponder over ayahs and the beautiful words. I can happily say that I've become a better Muslim than i originally was before. I've started to pray and what ultimately pushes me to pray are these revelations, because obviously i don't want to end up in Jahannam. (May Allah (SWT) save us from the fire of hell) and the translations of the Qur'an do justice because they create fear and also love for Allah. You won't be disappinted. Also, the cover is really sensitive so i take that out as i'm such a perfectionist i don't want to ruin it. Plus, it's what inside the counts not what outside. LOL! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Qur'an: English translation with parallel Arabic text
The Qur'an: English translation with parallel Arabic text by M.A.S. Abdel Haleem (Hardcover - 8 April 2010)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews