Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, but . . .
Probably the best produced book I've had in my hands for a long time - absolutely beautiful. Not one for reading in bed - it weighs a ton and hurts when you fall asleep and drop it on your face - but a solid, well researched account of the Pipers and their varying circle. The writing is clear and precise, although the tendency to deal with parts of the story just out of...
Published on 3 Jun. 2010 by John McCartney, Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well researched.
A 'wordy' book for those more interested in the lives of the painter and his wife rather than admiring full page images of his work. How much you like the book depends on what you want from it. Very informative with black and white pictures to support the facts.
Published 2 months ago by superscribe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Well researched., 5 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Piper, Myfanwy Piper: Lives in Art (Paperback)
A 'wordy' book for those more interested in the lives of the painter and his wife rather than admiring full page images of his work. How much you like the book depends on what you want from it. Very informative with black and white pictures to support the facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite artist, 9 Dec. 2014
By 
Cass (North Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
During my fd in fine art I have an allowance for books and went crazy buying any art book that took my fancy. I really enjoyed reading this book and it'll alway have a spot on my shelf as he is one of my favourite artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like John Piper, you'll love this book, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Piper, Myfanwy Piper: Lives in Art (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to any art student. It is very informative and enlightening. It illustrates every nuance of the lives of John and Mfanwy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2 Pipers for one, 7 Jan. 2010
By 
M. Plaskow (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A well produced and comprehensive survey of the work of both John and Myfanwy Piper. A lovely book to have and reflect on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JOHN PIPER, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was purchased as a gift and the receiver was very happy with it was just what they wanted. We would recommend where appropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Piper, Myfanwy Piper: Lives in Art (Paperback)
She is a superb writer. I went to a talk given by her recently which confirmed the depth of her understanding of creative people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Piper, Myfanwy Piper: Lives in Art
John Piper, Myfanwy Piper: Lives in Art by Frances Spalding (Paperback - 28 April 2011)
£14.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews