Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, but . . .
Probably the best produced book I've had in my hands for a long time - absolutely beautiful. Not one for reading in bed - it weighs a ton and hurts when you fall asleep and drop it on your face - but a solid, well researched account of the Pipers and their varying circle. The writing is clear and precise, although the tendency to deal with parts of the story just out of...
Published on 3 Jun. 2010 by John McCartney, Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well researched.
A 'wordy' book for those more interested in the lives of the painter and his wife rather than admiring full page images of his work. How much you like the book depends on what you want from it. Very informative with black and white pictures to support the facts.
Published 1 month ago by superscribe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, but . . ., 3 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably the best produced book I've had in my hands for a long time - absolutely beautiful. Not one for reading in bed - it weighs a ton and hurts when you fall asleep and drop it on your face - but a solid, well researched account of the Pipers and their varying circle. The writing is clear and precise, although the tendency to deal with parts of the story just out of the normal chronological order, especially in the 1935 - 1945 period, can be slightly confusing. Don't let this put you off, though: Ms Spalding will hold your interest.

But by the end you may have formed the same opinion as I did - the Pipers in later life, especially John, wouldn't have been much fun to be around. This seems odd because the testimony of their friends would suggest the opposite. But there's a puritanical earnestness about the lives and the work which I started to find wearying. They became members of "the great and the good" very readily, and seemed to relish it. By the end you wanted a bit of Van Gogh instability, or Dali-esque humour - anything to chip away at the po-faced quality of Piper's reverence for his own Art. This is probably grossly unfair, but I was left with confused feelings about the Pipers and their place in the story of English Art. There was a lot of other great stuff going on in the Art World while John Piper was painting his churches and stately homes, but it didn't seem to impinge much on him. I was left with the impression that I had been meandering down an interesting byway while the main traffic was thundering past just over the horizon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Magnificent Book, 29 Dec. 2009
By 
The 'Product Description' above says it all. Frances Spalding's book is, quite simply, superb. From start to finish.

To begin with, she writes brilliantly, with an excellent and lively style, and an obvious affection for her subject that keeps the reader turning the pages - keen to know what comes next.

And it's quite a story. The names and faces that weave in and out of the pages of this sumptuous volume are like a 'Who's Who' of the British Arts in all their shapes and sizes, and at their very best. John Piper's life was the broadest canvas, encompassing painting, pottery, architecture, sculpture, weaving, music, photography, stage design - and it's also one of the joys of this biography that his multi-talented wife, the "golden Myfanwy" of John Betjeman's poems, is given full acknowledgement as a creative artist in her own right. They were quite a couple.

To anyone even vaguely interested in Frances Spalding's subject, you cannot go wrong with this book - and for the price (as published, or the many variables on Amazon) it's a gift. Well worth having, and a fascinating and edifying read from cover to cover, with magnificent illustrations that do full justice to their originals.

We should be grateful to everyone who had a hand in its production. This is a worthy monument to both Pipers - a monument that's built to last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a definitive account, 27 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Piper, Myfanwy Piper: Lives in Art (Paperback)
This is a distinguished account of an interesting artistic partnership, well written and superbly illustrated, and surely definitive. John Piper, the artist, stage designer, writer, friend of John Betjeman among many others, produced an enormous body of work, which Frances Spalding describes without lingering. Piper's transformation from modernism to representational art in the late 1930s is brilliantly conveyed. I've always found his black skies a bit off-putting, and it would have been helpful to have a bit more on the reason for this predilection; but the versatile technique of the artist is very well described. The author does linger a bit over Myfanwy's work with Benjamin Britten, possibly because the sources are plentiful, but it is all interesting.

Lots of plaudits to the author. No plaudits to OUP, a publisher which would no doubt think it was in the top rank. The first word of Chapter 1 (Giacometti) is misspelt, and there are typos and small editorial points at five-page intervals. When the content is so good, it is such a pity that the basics of publishing have been so badly neglected. If I were the author I would feel very let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imagination, 20 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very scholarly account of the lives of two extraordinary people. Whilst much of the text refers to John and his amazingly varied and voluminous output across a very wide range of creative endeavours tne intellectual as well as the domestic support which Myfanwy supplies thoughout their long and productive lives is made very clear. The ambience, joy and richness of their life at Fawley Bottom, witnessed and enjoyed by so many people who were welcomed into this idyll is brought wonderfully to life, despite the early vicissitudes of a spartan existence. I admit that John Piper is my favourite artist and I have been quite moved by his/their dedication to his chosen life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lives in art, 26 Oct. 2009
By 
This glorious book achieves what the title says: these are lives in art in very great detail.
Unless you are an art scholar (and will no doubt find fault somewhere)the book is best approached first by reading the introduction and then browsing. The index is good for this as usual. The illustrations are superb, and the production as a whole excellent. Not for bedside reading though, but far from just a coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Piper, Myfanwy Piper: Lives in Art, 3 Oct. 2011
By 
This review is from: John Piper, Myfanwy Piper: Lives in Art (Paperback)
I have virtually no criticism of this book, which presents an excellent balance between the life and work of this couple. Colour illustrations - about 12 pages [I'm not at home to have a look] - are excellent. Myfanmy comes into her own in the discussion of her work on opera libretti with Benjamin Britten; very interesting for Britten fans, but illuminating in the broader sense of listening more critically. I went to the John Piper exhibition in Eastbourne shortly after reading this, and the book does illuminate the paintings. Only quibble is publishers' use of american Zs for S [civilization]: a practical point is that it a big fat book which needs a lectern or a cushion under it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful read, 4 Feb. 2012
By 
Raymond Ovens (Broadstairs Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Piper, Myfanwy Piper: Lives in Art (Paperback)
This is the best book I have ever read about artistic people. It gives all the facts in such a readable fashion. I unhesitatingly reccomend this to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, shame about the editing, 29 July 2014
This review is from: John Piper, Myfanwy Piper: Lives in Art (Paperback)
I agree that the book is lively and informative, and the author does a wonderful job in telling the story of two lives that involve a very large cast of characters. I came to Piper via a fairly good knowledge of his designs for Britten operas, and I was somewhat dismayed by the numerous small mistakes in the sections about John Piper's work with Britten. The opera synopses are full of inaccuracies, as are the sections about Britten and the Aldeburgh Festival. I began to wonder that if the parts of the book where I did know quite a bit about the subject were so carelessly written or edited, how accurate are the other sections? Also, one of the colour plates, a Piper abstract, is printed upside down in comparison with the b/w photograph in the text, and the dimensions given don't match the description, although it is clearly the same painting. It seems a shame that what is clearly a labour of love wasn't checked more carefully by the publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Piper, Myfanwy Piper; Lives in Art, 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Piper, Myfanwy Piper: Lives in Art (Paperback)
A really good and well illustrated account with informative detailed text. I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone interested in Piper. My only concern was that the book, delivered by Amazon's courier company of choice; was left out in the rain, instead of being left safely with my neighbour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Piper and Myfanwy Piper A Life in Art, 5 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Piper, Myfanwy Piper: Lives in Art (Paperback)
A wonderful biography of John Pipers life and Art and relationship with the wonderful Myfanwy and their circle of friends.Any body interested in Piper would not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Piper, Myfanwy Piper: Lives in Art
John Piper, Myfanwy Piper: Lives in Art by Frances Spalding (Paperback - 28 April 2011)
£14.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews