Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Londoners
This is a brilliant book. You don't have to read dictionaries or have a fixation about why where you live is called what it is to enjoy this book, but simply by flicking through its absorbing pages the richness and diversity of the areas you travel to/through/under/round every day become infinitely more interesting. This does, of course, preclude those not resident in...
Published on 3 Mar 2001 by Steve Eyre

versus
5 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Heard it all before!
I didn't find anything new or startling that I hadn't read in other books on the etymology of the Capital and its surrounding counties before.
I was very disappointed as I had hoped it would have contained more up-to-date material; facts not found in other books of this kind.
I thought it sad that this should have been published by such a reputable company who...
Published on 8 Feb 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Londoners, 3 Mar 2001
By 
Steve Eyre (Twickenham, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a brilliant book. You don't have to read dictionaries or have a fixation about why where you live is called what it is to enjoy this book, but simply by flicking through its absorbing pages the richness and diversity of the areas you travel to/through/under/round every day become infinitely more interesting. This does, of course, preclude those not resident in London but you can visit - and you'll have heard of most entries. David Mills was interviewed on the radio recently and to add to the enjoyment his enthusiasm and passion for what is clearly a joy (even if it is his job) was extremely clear. The level of research seems almost absolute and there is very little of the usual place-naming resignation of 'named after a bloke called....' or 'another name for a river...' when you know the author has given up. You may get these reasons, but the difference is you believe Mr Mills. This is an excellent book and I defy anyone not to loose an hour on the tube with their head stuck in it then bursting to tell anyone who will listen that they really did used to sell cheese, and a lot of it, in Chiswick. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fascinating, wonderfully researched, 1 April 2010
By 
Bones (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Dictionary of London Place-Names (Paperback)
I have been fascinated by London's history for years, and saw this revised edition on the shelf of a large bookseller in London. After flicking through the pages for a matter of seconds, I took it straight to the counter for purchasing!

It's detailed, meticulously researched and every page will surprise you. In addition to the main part of the book covering the 1,700 place names selected for study, there is also a comprehensive introduction to etymology and more specifically the main phases and factors in relation to London's place-name development, which hugely compliments the rest of the book.

Don't listen to the 1-star reviewer. Whether you're just visiting or live in London, buy it. You'll not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful companion book, 7 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of London Place-Names (Paperback)
Bought this for my daughter who lives in London and for me as I visit the city a lot. This is a useful book to have to compliment history books about London, or to learn about places visited and how they got their names. Easy to use with the right amount of detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars london fans, 19 April 2012
This review is from: A Dictionary of London Place-Names (Paperback)
this book is full of interesting facts about london. A great read for those people who have a an interest in the history of london.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London place names ?, 30 Mar 2012
By 
J. Sanders - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of London Place-Names (Paperback)
If you love London ,you will love this book .If you have ever puzzled over the "story behind the name" ,this book is for you .Thanks again to Amazon for your prompt,efficient service .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dictionary of London Place Names, 20 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of London Place-Names (Paperback)
A fascinating insight into names that you see every day and never give a thought. Helps to make you more aware of what is around you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London's names contain a wealth of history, 20 April 2011
By 
sally tarbox (aylesbury bucks uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Unlike many towns where streets are re-named as they are developed, London seems to have retained many names that can date back hundreds of years. Thus Ludgate Hill can trace its name to 1170, meaning 'back gate' and relating to a western gateway to the City originally built in 200 AD by the Romans. Or Honey Lane (Cheapside) has maintained the same name from 1200' once where the beekeepers lived. The meaning's obvious but so fascinating to know that it's an ancient name rather than a recent one. Cannon St has nothing to do with weapons but was site of candlemakers back in 1100s. Great for browsing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Satified., 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of London Place-Names (Paperback)
A good read and reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Heard it all before!, 8 Feb 2002
By A Customer
I didn't find anything new or startling that I hadn't read in other books on the etymology of the Capital and its surrounding counties before.
I was very disappointed as I had hoped it would have contained more up-to-date material; facts not found in other books of this kind.
I thought it sad that this should have been published by such a reputable company who really should have asked for more original content from the author.
For me, a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Dictionary of London Place-Names
A Dictionary of London Place-Names by A. D. Mills (Paperback - 11 Mar 2010)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews