Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PTSD The facts, 23 Sep 2010
This review is from: Post-traumatic Stress (The Facts) (Paperback)
This fantastic, highly portable gem of a book was easy to read and full of everything that I, as a newcomer to this particular area of work, needed to get me started. As a student I particularly appreciated the key points overview at the beginning of each chapter and found the contents of the "Cultural responses to trauma" chapter thought-provoking. The notes accompanying the "Some useful reading" list in Appendix 4 were also appreciated and helpful in signposting me to other reads. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Post-traumatic Stress: the facts, 15 July 2010
By 
Dave Hannigan (New Forest, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Post-traumatic Stress (The Facts) (Paperback)
Does what is says on the tin! A great little book, which I would encourage people to buy. In its little size it covers a lot - including the main questions people have regarding Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) as well as, common responses, concepts and theories, as well as assessment, formulation, and of course treatment. Included within the book are some very useful questionnaires as well details of websites related to the area of trauma and recommended reading -wow!! So much useful stuff in a book that will fit into the pocket of your jeans!

It is written by two authors who are experienced in the field, both in researching/teaching about the subject as well as actually sitting down in a clinic and working with people who have been involved in traumatic incidents. In other words they don't just write about this stuff they do it day in day out. Consequently the book is very reader friendly with a relaxed writing style.

I particularly liked chapter 4 entitled - 'intervention strategies: prevention' and provides the reader with a clear and concise overview of Psychological Debriefing and CISM.

I would recommend (and have!) this book to all people interested in finding out more about PTSD from those with little knowledge/experience in the area to people like myself who have been working with trauma for over 25 years! There is something useful to take from it for everyone.

Post-traumatic Stress (The Facts)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable little book!, 13 Mar 2012
This review is from: Post-traumatic Stress (The Facts) (Paperback)
I bought this book because PTSD is a topic for my Psychopathology module for Uni. Having quite a lot of personal experience with family members with PTSD i am already quite familiar with most of the theories/implications of having the disorder/therapies etc, but for the price i thought this book would be useful in having all the information in one place- and it certainly has been! It contains examples throughout which would be useful for anyone who is buying it to better understand a loved one, or the clinician using it in a clinical setting, or even a person with PTSD so they can know others have the same reations and emotions as themselves. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Two Essential Books To Get In This Field!, 14 May 2010
By 
Mark R. Woodland (NW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post-traumatic Stress (The Facts) (Paperback)
Yes, I know Steve Regel (author) and I have some of my own words printed on the back of this book... so I would say its great! However, it is. I work in this field and have learned to value the vital importance of keeping this kind of work 'simple and human'. This book does this supremely well. It provides great background and context and should be essential reading for all that work in this field and all those who's lives have been sadly touched by such trauma. Very reader-friendly and well laid-out. The other 'Essential' book is 'Psychological Debriefing' by Atle Dyregrov (and yes, I know him too!) ISBN: 1-883581-31-1. That book may be cheaper to obtain via Amazon USA, even with the shipping costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK ; ), 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post-traumatic Stress (The Facts) (Paperback)
THIS BOOK IS ALL AND MORE THAN I EXPECTED AND I AM FEELING A LOT LESS STRESSED ALREADY , THANK YOU VERY MUCH ; )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good overview, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and aimed at a wide audience this book is an easy read. The subject is covered well. I would say mainline rather that particularly controversial it is particularly focused at British practice and includes mention which therapies are recommended by the NICE guidelines. A useful knowledge base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, as a sufferer (combat related) I was astounded to that everything I had been feeling for more years than I care to remember was mentioned in this book, if you or someone you love is a sufferer then I hand on heart recommend you read it, you really have nothing to lose but all to gain from it........

A quite a bit of mine was covered in the first two chapters !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best books to read, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post-traumatic Stress (The Facts) (Paperback)
The Facts books are some of the best and easiest books to read. Full of information in an easy to read manner. I recommend these books to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars P.T.S. THE FACTS., 27 July 2010
By 
R. Freeman (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post-traumatic Stress (The Facts) (Paperback)
This book gave me background information about P.T.S. without a bias towards any type of "cure". Now I should read it again and highlight helpfull passages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Post-traumatic Stress (The Facts)
Post-traumatic Stress (The Facts) by Stephen Joseph (Paperback - 22 April 2010)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews