Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars QUICK DELIEVERY AND GOOD QUALITY
WHEN I CHOSE TO BUY 4 BOOKS, I THOUGHT THESE BOOKS CAN BE USED IN NEXT LECTURE. BUT THE PARCEL HAS BEEN HERE WIHTIN TWO DAYS. THEY ARE TOTALLY NEW. AND I'M VERY SATISFIED WITH THE GOOD QUALITY.
Published 21 months ago by KEVIN

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a fair supplementary text
A very nicely produced book - but with some substantial flaws.

The text is often rather dull and plodding - description with too little evaluation, and there is too little connection of CG with the major trends and principles, after the summary of theory in Ch 2. Mallin seems to approve of CG in all its forms, too little criticism.

This is a fair...
Published on 7 Sep 2010 by Publicis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a fair supplementary text, 7 Sep 2010
This review is from: Corporate Governance (Paperback)
A very nicely produced book - but with some substantial flaws.

The text is often rather dull and plodding - description with too little evaluation, and there is too little connection of CG with the major trends and principles, after the summary of theory in Ch 2. Mallin seems to approve of CG in all its forms, too little criticism.

This is a fair attempt at description, but this should be more critical and more analytical. There is little attempt to compare or evaluate the international systems, for example. The USA is not covered separately, which is strange considering that it is the strongest current influence on the UK, but in some respects is quite different from the British tradition.

Again, lots of sources and codes are mentioned, but next to no evauation is made of them. Mallin seems to think that CG is pretty good and is steadlily getting better. A very optimistic view.

Also, a separate chapter on finanical instituitions might be wise, given that their regulation has become quite different. Also, including some of the thinking from managerial economics would be beneficial.

Mallin should probably take on a co-author for the 4th edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very academic, 29 Dec 2011
By 
CorpGov (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Corporate Governance (Paperback)
The book is very UK centric and not very academic. The author thinks that the UK perspective on corporate governance is the only way forward. The book ignores (most of) the existing academic literature in the area and virtually all of the references are codes of best practice and publications authored by practitioners. The book suffers from a lack of critical analysis of the existing regulation and approaches to corporate governance.

This would be an OK first introduction to corporate governance, but it would need to be supplemented by a more academic and more advanced text. However, there is the danger that using this text may give students the wrong impression that corporate governance is just limited to compliance and is a fairly tedious and dry subject area. Corporate governance is much more complex (and also much more exciting) than that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid but unimaginative, 5 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corporate Governance (Paperback)
A straight "up-and-down" and reasonably comprehensive account of most of the current major issues in coprorate governance.In particular, I find it very hard to understand how any discussion of corporate governance can neglect to discuss the company secretary's role or fail to include a reference to "company secretary" in the index! A passably good first introduction (good on international comparisons) but lacks discussion of some of the arguments that are developing -- and the writing is often very clunky -- so it requires supplementing with other texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars QUICK DELIEVERY AND GOOD QUALITY, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corporate Governance (Paperback)
WHEN I CHOSE TO BUY 4 BOOKS, I THOUGHT THESE BOOKS CAN BE USED IN NEXT LECTURE. BUT THE PARCEL HAS BEEN HERE WIHTIN TWO DAYS. THEY ARE TOTALLY NEW. AND I'M VERY SATISFIED WITH THE GOOD QUALITY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 1 Oct 2011
By 
Ms. Kanika Bawa "Kanika...." (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corporate Governance (Paperback)
This is a great read, and has great case studies to accompany.
The book can be given a quick read, and believe me, it is very interesting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book for an Excellent Author, 28 Feb 2010
By 
M. Sakr "Buji Falcon" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corporate Governance (Paperback)
I bought this book because it was the main text for my postgraduate course on corporate governance which is taught by professor Mallin herself. So, I liked the section of social responsible investments and the governance tools for institutional investors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Corporate Governance
Corporate Governance by Christine Mallin (Paperback - 10 Dec 2009)
34.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews