Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy but not comprehensive
This is a handy concise guide to some of the more common matters of grammar and punctuation (and some of the less common ones too). Being alphabetically arranged it's quite easy to navigate through this book.

It's very small, and so it doesn't cover things in great depth, rather it focuses on the more common points and deals with them in a superficial yet...
Published on 23 Jun 2012 by Shaz

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Opinion
This book is like a dictionary of grammar, it has limited examples of grammatical terms and although easy to use as a reference it is not great if you are trying to learn/re-learn grammar and need detail. Would recommend it for day to day use but look for something more detailed if you need as many explanations as possible, there are better books on the market for this...
Published on 7 Sep 2010 by cridon2010


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy but not comprehensive, 23 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford A-Z of Grammar and Punctuation (Paperback)
This is a handy concise guide to some of the more common matters of grammar and punctuation (and some of the less common ones too). Being alphabetically arranged it's quite easy to navigate through this book.

It's very small, and so it doesn't cover things in great depth, rather it focuses on the more common points and deals with them in a superficial yet informative and useful manner. In doing so it keeps things simple and accessible.

If you're looking for something comprehensive then this isn't for you at all. This is more for quick reference and checking things which come up regularly in speech and writing, and to gain a general understanding of the subject matter. I would say that this book is not ideal to learn or check finer points, and if you use this as I do then it'd meet many but not all of your requirements. For the price you can't complain though.

There were however one or two things which didn't sit right with me, for instance in the section on direct speech it states that "Each new piece of speech begins with a capital letter, even if it is not at the beginning of the sentence", however this isn't always true, for example:

"The shark," whispered the narrator, "is a deft hunter."

The book also claims that prepositions can be put at the end of sentences, and infinitives can be split. While I acknowledge that modern usage certainly conforms to these descriptions and they are much more acceptable than they used to be, there are other authorities which would still state the contrary, particularly with regards to formal writing.

A proper contents page and an index would also do no harm, and I feel it's a shame that they're missing. Even though the topics are arranged alphabetically, they'd still be useful.

In summary I'd say it's handy for most "every day" queries, but it lacks a lot of detail and doesn't go into many of the more technical aspects of grammar and punctuation. It really just depends on what you're looking for though, this book may well suit your needs. The number of pages and the dimensions of the book can perhaps be used as an indication of its level of detail. I'm guessing it would be ideal for GCSE students and younger (but if you're doing your GCSEs then best check with your teacher whether or not this book will be sufficient).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Opinion, 7 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford A-Z of Grammar and Punctuation (Paperback)
This book is like a dictionary of grammar, it has limited examples of grammatical terms and although easy to use as a reference it is not great if you are trying to learn/re-learn grammar and need detail. Would recommend it for day to day use but look for something more detailed if you need as many explanations as possible, there are better books on the market for this purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket sized education, 1 July 2011
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford A-Z of Grammar and Punctuation (Paperback)
I'm just useless at grammar and punctuation, if you read all of my reviews you'll see that, and I feel the same dread dealing with the mechanics of the English language as I do when I'm confronted with maths. Decided to pull my socks up and educate myself by buying this little pocket rocket and taking my time to study it. Very small book, much smaller than I anticipated, but very clearly set out in a format that's easy to understand, which is more than can be said for the contents. Nice sized print on quality paper and it's well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good little book, 1 Feb 2010
By 
FlowaPowa (Ormskirk, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford A-Z of Grammar and Punctuation (Paperback)
Don't know what a "past participle" is? Then buy this book - it gives good, short, easy to understand definitions for all kinds of grammatical terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is Oxford, in the USA, 24 July 2013
By 
Derek Willett (Hindhead, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford A-Z of Grammar and Punctuation (Paperback)
Interesting book, but it's an American publication and I lost faith in it when I started coming across American words and grammar. Now I don't know whether to believe it or not. It's not what I expected of the 'Oxford' brand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Size does matter?, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford A-Z of Grammar and Punctuation (Paperback)
Descriptions are very brief. Difficult to see who the book is aimed at. Failed to answer many of the questions I had on grammar. A lot more examples and counter-examples would have been useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real help for advanced learners, 4 Jan 2012
By 
anka (Bensheim, Hessen, Deutschland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oxford A-Z of Grammar and Punctuation (Paperback)
As a German I've learnt English as a foreign language at school. Not using the English language every day, a lot of grammar knowledge gets lost. Every time looking into a German standard English grammar? That might be too lavishly. But using the Oxford A-Z Grammar is an easy and successful way! Short answres sum up all you want to know. And coaching German pupils in English, I could quickly find answers to their questions.
This grammar does not substitute a complete grammar while learning English for the first time, but it is a very helpful little book for advanced learners - it will accompany me on my travels to the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Proofreader's best friend, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford A-Z of Grammar and Punctuation (Paperback)
Very user-friendly and, as with all Oxford publications, you can have complete confidence in following their advice! Great for answering kids' questions too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I use it everyday., 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford A-Z of Grammar and Punctuation (Paperback)
Well, I love grammar, and the book is about Grammar. I bought for my English Language Teaching course, but am still using this book and benefit from it a great deal. I recommend it, genuinely and sincerely, to anyone who is an English students, teacher, or interested in English. See you buy it soon!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford A-Z of Grammar and Punctuation (Paperback)
Just verifies any doubts I have with particular words and the types they are. I felt this was a very good buy especially when teaching Functional Skills English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford A-Z of Grammar and Punctuation
Oxford A-Z of Grammar and Punctuation by John Seely (Paperback - 27 Aug 2009)
Used & New from: 12.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews