Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the intro sociology books
This is probably the best and most comprehensive intro Sociology textbook available for students. I really like the style of the cover and the layout of the book. The web-site is a real help for young lecturers too. I can't think of anything that has been left out and the coverage is always clear and easy to understand for my students. The last edition was patchy, but...
Published on 8 April 2003

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair textbook
Fiar content with good teaching material which is good materical for your course in higher level institution either local or overseas.
Published 17 months ago by Anthony Chong


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the intro sociology books, 8 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
This is probably the best and most comprehensive intro Sociology textbook available for students. I really like the style of the cover and the layout of the book. The web-site is a real help for young lecturers too. I can't think of anything that has been left out and the coverage is always clear and easy to understand for my students. The last edition was patchy, but good. This one is close to exemplary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive easy to follow, 1 Dec. 2009
By 
Helga (Paphos, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
comprehensive and easy to follow with a lot of subjects. If you are a first year student and totally new to sociology, this book is a good add-on to explain subjects in detail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great comprehensive book, modern design, helpful activities, 29 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
I bought this book, again, because it was part of my essential reading list. I picked this one in particular from the three choices because it had been updated the most recently and I definitely don't regret it.

I love the format of the book and the clear way ideas, theories and information are presented. With each new theory and each part of explanation, there is a relevant day-to-day example of how what that particular sociologist thought applies. At the end of each chapter, there are activities that are fun and interesting to do.

I'd warmly recommend this book to everybody who is interested in Sociology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent source for studying, 21 July 2007
By 
R. M. A. Corcoran (Canterbury, Kent.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
This book proved to be very helpful when studying a sociology and criminology degree. There is information covering a wide range of topics, and because of the layout of the book, its easier to understand. I would recommend this book to any student studying a sociology degree as its very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive and intellectually stimulating guide to sociology., 12 Mar. 2012
By 
Jazzrook - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
This well-illustrated 879-page 4th edition(2011) of Sociology contains much new material including a 'concepts and theories' section in each chapter with more attention given to global perspectives.
The 19 chapters are divided into 5 parts: Theories and Methods; Social Identities; Culture, Knowledge and Belief; Social Organization and Control & Production, Inequalities and Social Divisions.
This intellectually stimulating, comprehensive and jargon-free guide to sociology is ideal for undergraduates and anyone wishing to make sense of our complex social world. There is also a very useful Online Resource Centre that accompanies the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sociology, 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
This revised text provides a firm foundation for A level and first degree students studying Sociology. The information and language is clear. I have used it with students in many countries and they find it accessable and have uintereting the material. I have used the text in its previous editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good condition, good book, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
I bought this second hand and the condition was really good.

It really helps me when I want to read deeply about a certain topic as it gives detailed definitions and goes into depth about everything it mentions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 5 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
the book was perfect, almost new. it took about 2 days longer to deliver than the estimated time. the book is really jsimple in te way its structured and it makes finding specific topics easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is highly useful for my course and is very detailed, 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
This book is highly useful for my course and is very detailed, yet so simple to read than other books. I highly reccommend this book if your studying sociology as it is extremely helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociology (Paperback)
This book is very useful for academic purposes or simply just to read and find a more in-depth knowledge about Sociology, a very good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sociology
Sociology by John Scott (Paperback - 17 Mar. 2011)
£29.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews