Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sand by Michael Welland
Anybody who believes that sand is composed of uniform, rounded
grains of quartz whose main use is to make cement and glass will not
have read Michael Welland's recent book, entitled simply, "Sand". In the
book Welland sets out to answer the questions: Sand? What is it?
What use is it? Where does it come from? How did it get there? He
answers...
Published on 5 Dec 2010 by Mick le géophysicien

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars heavy going
I found this book very heavy going and gave up before reaching the end.

Michael Welland clearly knows a lot about sand and the book covers, its development, its many forms, and the journeys that it makes. He also discusses the place of sand in our lives and culture. So far, so good.

The narrative is so weighed down with incidental detail and anecdote...
Published on 1 Nov 2011 by markholman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sand by Michael Welland, 5 Dec 2010
Anybody who believes that sand is composed of uniform, rounded
grains of quartz whose main use is to make cement and glass will not
have read Michael Welland's recent book, entitled simply, "Sand". In the
book Welland sets out to answer the questions: Sand? What is it?
What use is it? Where does it come from? How did it get there? He
answers these questions as perhaps only an ardent enthusiast can, and
along the way he answers a hundred other questions cataloguing the
properties, uses and beauties of this ubiquitous, essential, constituent
of our planet (and its immediate neighbours)

He describes the erosion of a grain of sand in the mountains and we
follow its progress to the sea along a river system, we track its path
from offshore sand bar to sand bank to beach until it is eventually
deposited in the ocean deep where it awaits its turn for eventual
relithification, uplift and cycle repeat. His description of onshore sand
dunes and sand seas is enhanced by personal observations from his
work with the British Geological Survey in Oman and his work in the
Sahara

With the help of "geological forensics" Welland explains that we can
unravel the history of sand assemblages stretching back over
numerous erosional/depositional cycles, while at the same time
admitting that that are still a few intriguing gaps in our knowledge that
remain to be solved

The style is modern-light, and the book is written with humour. It is
more Bill Bryson than university lecture and all the more enjoyable for
that. The extensive bibliography gives some idea of the research
involved, and judging by the interesting asides that remain, one can see
that one of Mike's main problems was deciding what to leave out of the
final manuscript rather than what to include. A book for the inquisitive
-minded amateur, it is obviously a labour of love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect book for the amateur geologist, 27 Aug 2011
By 
Barbara A. Baker (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A simply lovely read. Written with an enthusiasm and elegance that reminded me of Richard Fortey (and I can't say better than that!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating study, 24 Oct 2013
By 
Roger Lack - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sand: A journey through science and the imagination (Hardcover)
This book is very interesting and am I recommending it to family and friends. Having found it in my local library I have bought my own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars heavy going, 1 Nov 2011
I found this book very heavy going and gave up before reaching the end.

Michael Welland clearly knows a lot about sand and the book covers, its development, its many forms, and the journeys that it makes. He also discusses the place of sand in our lives and culture. So far, so good.

The narrative is so weighed down with incidental detail and anecdote however that it felt like hiking up a never ending sand dune, rather than the day on the beach I'd hoped for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a fab book, 12 Aug 2011
This is a fab book. It shows how alive the planet is - and how human culture is impacting on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sand: A journey through science and the imagination
Sand: A journey through science and the imagination by Michael Welland (Hardcover - 13 Aug 2009)
Used & New from: £2.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews